We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I️ are very busy in everyday life and hunger for opportunities to get away from every part of our everyday life. This was a first visit to the lodge for 5 days and it one of the best experiences we have had in all of our traveling experiences. Since it is remote, the lodge provides all the meals along with your accommodations. We expected this experience to be very rustic but we were blown away with the high end accommodations and unbelievable fabulous meals with outstanding service. We were treated as royalty from the moment we arrived.

The opportunities to experience all the wildlife in their natural surroundings within a real rain forest was breath taking. The grounds and trails are kept clear and better than any national park we have ever experienced. There are activities for each and every age to enjoy and participate. This is a life time legacy from the owners (Phil & Kim Spier) that have created an unbelievable experience for us all to enjoy. Their lifetime commitment and effort for conservation is a legacy to be appreciated and enjoyed by all from around the world.

Come be a part of the few from around the world and perhaps all of mankind who have had the privilege and opportunity to enjoy the experience of one of the few remaining rain forests still in existence.

Thank you Phil and Kim for sharing this experience with us!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TexasFoodieExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Rooms are charming with a wonderful hammock for relaxing; Shower in your bougainvillea draped shower, walk in the forest or on the beautiful beach. Great food, great guides available, The staff is awesome

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Bosque del Cabo is stunningly beautiful and our entire experience was nothing short of amazing. From staying in the rainforest and being surrounded by nature to the exceptional staff, this trip couldn't have been any better. We took advantage of many of the offered activities from waterfall rappelling to kayaking, surfing and boogie boarding. And then there were the beautiful daily hikes, several of them guided by the lodge's resident botanist who is a wealth of knowledge. Having delicious meals prepared for us every day meant that we had more time to enjoy ourselves and the super helpful and friendly staff was the icing on the cake, We tried to get to know them a little and learned that every one of them loves working at Bosque - and it shows! Thank you all for a truly special experience.

Room Tip: We stayed at Casa Miramar - a full house .7 mile away from the lodge. Well situated in the rainfores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IrisKrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Our family of four (two kids ages 9 & 7) went there for 3 days and just had a wonderful time. The activities are accessible for all ages, educational and fun, while the food is delicious. The service is personal, excellent and we were impressed with how eco-friendly it was. In asking our kids what their favorite part was, it was going to the Pacific side to play in the tide pools with their friends. The hiking trails and the views are absolutely breathtaking, and that being said from people who live in Costa Rica year round. Definitely a must see for any Costa Rican vacation. We definitely plan on going back.

Room Tip: Trust the owners, they will give you the best place that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sariakd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This September my wife and I, along with two our two adult sons, spent ten days at Bosque del Cabo. Simply stated, we each had a wonderful time. The lodge is located at the tip of the Osa Peninsula above both Golfo Dulce and the Pacific Ocean, set within the lush rainforest. It is one of the most beautiful settings one can imagine.
The cabinas in which we stayed (Pixote and El Sol) were clean, very comfortable and quite well maintained. They have nice porches where we spent a fair amount of time relaxing, hanging out together and taking in the great views of the Pacific Ocean. As the lodge is nestled within the rainforest, animals abound. Just from our porch, on countless occasions, we saw monkeys, toucans, macaws and lapas. Once we left the cabinas, on a consistent basis, we also saw other animals, including a wild boar. And that’s beside the abundant wildlife we had a chance to see on our numerous hikes on Bosque’s number of well-maintained trails located on the property. The amount of wildlife we saw during our stay exceeded our expectations. So, if that’s one of the things that you want to experience on a visit to the rainforest in Costa Rica Bosque will certainly not disappoint.
The grounds on the property are well maintained, adding to the nice, laid-back, relaxing atmosphere of the lodge. A shout out to the Bosque team responsible for that.
The food was great. The kitchen staff consistently turned out fresh, well-prepared, well-presented meals that we really enjoyed. They went above and beyond and prepared some Costa Rican dishes for us as well. That was one of the many highlights of our stay at Bosque. Throughout our time there the wait staff provided a high level of service that was thoughtful, warm, courteous and efficient. Not only did they have a smile on their face, they had a smile in their voice.
Actually, that applies to all the staff we interacted with at Bosque. They seem very dedicated to ensuring that all their guests have a good stay and enjoy themselves. It’s a team effort and it’s evident that they all do their part. When we arrived, the person who met us spent a while introducing us to Bosque, informing us of the many activities that were available to us. Whenever we wanted to arrange an activity, he was there to help, as was the lodge’s owner, Phil Spier, who along with his wife Kim, take a very active role at the lodge interacting with both guests and the lodges staff. They have assembled a solid and dedicated team and together they to make their guests’ stay a pleasant and memorable one.
Lastly, as other lodges on the Osa Peninsula, Bosque del Cabo dedicates itself to practicing sustainable tourism and to protecting its biodiversity. That is important to our family as well and is one of the reasons we chose to come to Bosque. We certainly had an enjoyable, relaxing, exciting, educational and memorable time while we were there. We highly recommend Bosque del Cabo and certainly hope we have the opportunity to return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
2.7 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.9 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
640 reviews
15.1 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
173 reviews
18.2 km away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
561 reviews
20.8 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: $516 - $905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing