We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
78
131
66
26
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
131
66
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road house whale watching powered site friendly service overnight stay rooms are clean bed was comfortable road trip stayed one night steak the pub fuel perth whales accommodation toilets amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

On our road trip from Melbourne to Perth and back again we stopped at the Nullarbor Roadhouse..... on the way to re-fuel and the way home for hotel accommodation. Be ready for crazy inflated prices. I do not recommend staying in these rooms, they are dirty and very overpriced. We had our Great Dane with us and dogs were allowed to stay for an extra cost to an already over priced stay. Plan your trip to refuel but by pass accommodation here. As we were outside in the evening with the dog she started barking and we couldn't stop her..... a dingo ran past us... apparently this is the norm but we weren't told when booking in.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank leeesa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear you weren’t pleased on your recent stay. We go to great lengths on site to share with our guests what sits behind our pricing whether that be the tyranny of distance or our self-management of power and water and many others, too numerous to mention. Your other concerns have been passed on to our team and we certainly apologise if you weren’t happy with your room.

In relation to the Nullarbor, it is a land inhabited by a vast range of species of Australian wildlife, of which, the dingo is certainly considered the most prominent. Our Site Manager and team endeavour to advise our guests of the presence of dingoes, both around our Site and indeed across the Nullarbor. Whilst we have never had a reported incident, we do understand your concerns for your family pet. Thanks again for your feedback, we very much appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

flat caravan park at side of road house, $30 for two and four minute shower for $1. Clean amenities. We had a lovely roast lamb and vegies in the dining room and it was reasonably priced considering where we were. Staff were friendly and helpful

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks so much for your review! All the best for the remainder of your trip across the Nullarbor :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We arrived around 4pm & the staff were flat out but very friendly & obliging. The amenities block was spotless & looked fresh. Sure the van sites are gravel & there are no trees but what else would you expect in the "Nullabor"

Had dinner later at the restaurant, the place was almost packed out but the waiters & chef did a fantastic job keeping the meals & drinks coming out. My Nullabor burger was very tasty as were my wife's soup & garlic bread.

Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyZ_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Many thanks for your feedback and review! It is great for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we love that you enjoyed your meals! We hope to welcome you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We were concerned with booking this property as we had heard a lot of negatives, however I was so pleasantly surprised! Once you get over the cost of fuel (understandable given the location!!) the accommodation is large, comfortable and very clean. The staff are so helpful and lovely and the food is AMAZING! Extremely large portions (exactly what we needed after a full day of driving!) and only 20 minutes from the whale sanctuary! Definitely give these guys a go!

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank tkvnoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review and sharing your feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal, and hope you had an amazing time at the Head of the Bight! All the best for the rest of your travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We are in the middle of the nullarbor so let's not expect the impossible. We stopped for one night on a powered site. The site is just gravel and tree less, but this is expected. The showers and toilets were very clean and good although have to pay $1 per 3mn of shower.
Petrol is horribly expensive. BBQ is good but there is no light in the seating area, that should be rectified if the owners read this review. The highlight is watching the whales at the Head of Bight which is a few km from the roadhouse. A must !! On the very bad side, the traffic is very close and noisy the all night, these road trains don't seem to stop....

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlainrlgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thanks so much for your review and sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased you had a good time overall and enjoyed the opportunity for some whale watching. We also appreciate your suggestion for our BBQ area which is under consideration. All the best for the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews