We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
53
116
61
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
116
61
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching road house overnight stop powered site southern right whales ablution block caravan park great stop remote location minute shower rooms are basic long drive motel accommodation double room friendly service gravel sites bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

I'm the middle of nowhere in the middle of Australia lies an oasis called the Nullarbor Roadhouse. We used it as a stopover when crossing the Nullarbor. It is very dated but serves its purpose well providing rest and food for weary travellers. The fuel cost is understandably high and bar prices also a little steep but this was a welcome stop and an icon in the crossing of the Nullarbor.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GumnutMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Expensive. Everything is expensive. Walked into the bar and everyone had the look on their face like they wished they didn't have to stop there either. I couldn't make my scheduled stop further on as there wasnt enough hours in the day. And the stupid foreign twits I had to repeat myself every time I asked about anything.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Had an overnight stop after a 900klm travel day..Rooms are basic and clean. Shower was fantastic. Had a wonderful meal in the restaurant. Staff were very pleasant. You will hear road noise but that's unavoidable. Would highly recommend a stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jojomill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Many thanks for your feedback! We are so pleased you had a chance to unwind with a hot shower and a meal after such a long drive! All the best for the rest of your travels, we hope to welcome you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Friendly place for an overnight stop. Showers are clean with plenty of hot water. One dollar for four minutes. The camp kitchen is very basic with only a BBQ for cooking (very clean). A licensed restaurant is onsite.

Room tip: Pick a camp spot well in the back. Refrigerated trucks pull in for the night and the refrigerators are very noisy.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank madfish2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stop at Nullarbor Roadhouse (and a hot shower!) ! All the best for the rest of your travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Like all the roadhouses on the Nullarbor, isolation and distance allows monopoly pricing with average and tired facilities. Nevertheless, Nullarbor Roadhouse is still a welcome oasis as the sun sets irrespective of the price as it offers a choice of fully functional caravan sites, cabins and motel rooms. Although 'tired', the motel rooms are quality built (not transportable like a number of roadhouses out here), self contained, spacious (double plus 2 singles), clean and secure. These features, given the location and the fact most travellers are simply overnighting, provide all that is required. A big plus for us is they are pet friendly with no objection when mentioned our border collie ... of course he sleeps in the car and doesn't go inside anyway. The service here is very good and friendly across all facilities whether staying overnight, having a meal in their restaurant, enjoying the bar or simply refuelling. And the dinner menu is surprisingly broad, the serves are sizeable and the food is well prepared if not leaning to the gourmet (I can recommend the Snapper Fillets with roast veggies!)... A bonus for some is the fact there are aircraft tours over the Great Australian Bight ... which must be particularly popular during the whale season. In summary, if you find yourself transiting across the Bight, 'Nullarbor Roadhouse' is a welcome stop well worth planning into your itinerary.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roadhouse M, Manager at Nullarbor Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We are so pleased to hear you found everything you needed during your visit and you enjoyed the snapper! We are absolutely pet friendly, and though the costs of operating in such a remote location are significantly higher than metro areas, we do our best to offer a fair price. We really appreciate your feedback and have shared with our team! All the best for the rest of your trip :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews