We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“9 perfect nights”
Outdoor dining and lounging deck on the surfside in your one bedroom beach house for 2 people!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor dining and lounging deck on the surfside in your one bedroom beach house for 2 people!
Your Private Romantic Bahama Beach House for 2 on the Atlantic Ocean in Governor's Harbour Eleuthera Your shaded beachfront oceanfront deck on your pink sand Atlantic Ocean Eleuthera Bahama beach house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Outdoor dining and lounging deck on the surfside in your one bedroom beach house for 2 people!
Your Private Romantic Bahama Beach House for 2 on the Atlantic Ocean in Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Your shaded beachfront oceanfront deck on your pink sand Atlantic Ocean Eleuthera Bahama beach house
Escape - but have HDTV w/Netflix/Cell phone/Wifi  in your tranquil beachfront ocean retreat for 2!
Living Room with comfy day beds for reading or  napping to the sounds of the surf outside your door!
Contemplate life over coffee in the morning looking out at the spectacular ocean/beach awaiting you!
Interior Dining Room and Kitchen with Cement Countertop & all Essentials for Island Beachfront Life!
Beachfront Kitchen/Indoor dining in your private pink sand beach one bedroom vacation rental for 2!
Guests at home in the kitchen in their oceanfront beachfront one bedroom beach house for 2 people!
Peaceful sleep to the sounds of the surf, awake in your king size pillow top egyptian cotton sheets!
Large surf view glass block/fish tiled shower/bath with on demand hot water in one bedroom for 2!
Your Bahamas Beachfront House on Pink Sand on the Atlantic Ocean Eleuthera Island Governor's Harbour
Swim at your beach, relax in your pulapa, watch for dolphins, turtles, ospreys and enjoy Eleuthera!
Barefoot destination beach wedding at tranquil Cayo Loco beach with sun, pink sand, sea, champagne!
A floral heart from the garden for our honeymooners!
Fishing for dinner at Cayo Loco on your pink sand private Atlantic ocean beach house......mmmm good!
Unsurpassed endless natural beauty abounds on the Island of Eleuthera which means freedom in greek!
Starfish just relaxing at the bottom of the sea on the beautiful Island of Eleuthera in the Bahamas!
A rainbow at the end of your tranquil beach at Cayo Loco vacation rental one bedroom for two people!
Guest in beach pulapa at oceanfront beachfront one bedroom vacation rental beach house for 2 people!
Rainbow over the beachfront in oceanfront beachfront one bedroom beach vacation house for 2 people!
Flowers from the garden for our honeymoon couples!
Guest enjoying cocktails on day bed beachfront one bedroom vacation rental beach house for 2 people!
Paddle Board on the beach at Cayo Loco. Paddle Boards, surf boards and kayaks included in your stay!
Grouper caught on your beach Cayo Loco One bedroom oceanfront vacation rental house for two people!
The 'Conch Salad Man' will make you, fresh as you wait, conch salad at Governor's Harbour Fish Fry!
Upper surf shack at Surfer's Beach, world class surf spot, in Gregory Town, Eleuthera Island Bahamas
Pig Roast in March is sure to please everyone as all the locals and  tourists enjoy the beach feast!
Morning sunrise from your balcony on your private pink sand Atlantic Ocean island beach house for 2!
Junior Junkanoo horn players show off their brightly colored hand made costumes in the competition!
Heating up the steel drums around the fire in preparation for Junkanoo, yearly cultural competition!
Many excellent scuba diving spots on Eleuthera explored & experienced with Ocean Fox Cotton Bay!
This grouper followed us around while we were scuba diving with Oceanfox Cotton Bay - just great!
Enjoy open mic/jam/music & dancing available on the island close to Cayo Loco Beach House Eleuthera!
Pineapple Festival in June and Tripoli's famous daquiris, leaded or unleaded, are not to be missed!
Steel drummers at Junior Junkanoo, an event not to be missed with great music, food and lots of fun!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lonz55
Indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“9 perfect nights”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My wife & I vacationed this year at Cayo Loco on Eleuthera. We have been to many Islands, and normally stay in an upscale resort. This year my wife ran across Cayo Loco while searching the web for a spot to visit. The photos and description pull you in, and the reviews were generally awesome. To us, the description, photos and reviews were understated. We had hoped for a very laid back, private beach front vacation... Cayo Loco exceeded our expectations. The little house was very cool, very clean, and very private. Everything was in great shape an well thought out. The views are beautiful, and there was all of the pink sand beach you could want, and without people around. We were able to completely relax & unwind. Alan & Maureen (the owners) were very cool & laid back. They provided a binder filled with great Island information, showed us how things worked, and allowed us our privacy.
We spent a lot of time enjoying the water, walking the beach, and just "being". We visited the Sky Club for lunch a few times, and visited the ruins, of Club Med, had a great afternoon at the Beach club,and spent some time at Twin Coves with a fly rod. We did visit Harbor Island and while nice, it was more typically tourist. ( We just wanted to get back to Cayo Loco to chill.)
Alan & Maureen gave us the names of Jeremy and Anna. They are a delightful local couple tha came to our place and prepared a "typical Eleutheran Sunday dinner" The food was fresh ( Lobster, Grouper, Conch fritters and more) and GREAT. They were a lot of fun, and cleaned up before they left. We had lots of left-overs. It was well worth the price, which was more than reasonable.
One word about the beaches... These beaches are natural. As you leave the Cayo Loco property you will encounter items that have floated up on the beach during high tides. There was a great deal of plastic & lots of items thrown from ships. Don't let that bother you. After a walk or two you can find some interesting items, and some "beach sculpture" opportunities. These beaches are still beautiful, with clear blue water and pink sand.
If you are looking to reduce blood pressure, take off your watch, shut off your cell phone and email and exchange your normal world for a relaxing Island paradise, then this is for you. As fo ranyone that may have anything negative to say about Eleuthera, or Cayo Loco all I can say is... Some people shouldn't travel! We will return for a longer stay next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling it produced.
Liked least: That I had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2013
What a lovely review and as I recall you both became "human beings" meaning you got to 'just be'! So great to have you both and Sue the Penzeys Spices are absolutely superb. How thoughtful of you! Alan is hooked on the cinnamon. The beach awaits your return as do we! Hope the grandkids left you some peace after their visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldTrav...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what we expected...................”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
10
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Cayo Loco for 14 days in mid-March 2013 and the reason we chose this house rental was because of its isolated beautiful location and the photos that showed good accommodation with no houses or neighbours nearby. We will try to give a fair and balanced review of our experience at Cayo Loco as follows but we have also uploaded two videos online which you can also review if you don’t want to read this fairly detailed review.

The Good

The view from the cottage is unbelievably beautiful and makes it all worthwhile. Maureen who is one of the owners is a lovely lady, very professional, kind and easy to talk to. The bathroom in the house is very nicely done and is well supplied with soap, shampoo, suntan lotion etc. Eleuthera is a wonderful place to visit that is unique in being unspoilt by the cruise-ship industry and relatively undeveloped – probably unchanged for the last 20 to 30 years. Wonderful people and a great nature experience.

The Bad

The House

Upon our arrival we were shocked to discover that there is a second Cayo Loco house less than 100 ft from our house. At no time during our booking process were we told that there were two cottages right next to each other and there were certainly no photos on the web showing two houses when we booked in early 2012. As our videos show, you have to walk right past the front deck of the other house to get to the beach and you have to say hello to the neighbours every day.

During our stay we discovered that the owners Alan and Maureen had started a new website mentioning “houses” but the photos and information on Tripadvisor and Flipkey were the same and they made no mention of a second house and their close proximity to each other. Despite querying with Maureen, that she still showed our house available for rent during the period we had already booked, she still did not tell us about the additional house right next door and we found this to be very deceptive of her. They have since changed some of their listings from “house” to “houses” but make no mention of the other house in their text – again, very deceptive.

The owners’ photos of Cayo Loco are professionally taken with an ultra-wide angle lens to make the interior look very big and were taken when the house was first built. They are very misleading. The French doors are actually very narrow at 4ft wide and we could not open one half of the door during our entire stay. We therefore only had a 2ft wide French door to walk through and let the breeze in. We asked Alan, Maureen’s husband, on our second day of fourteen to take a look at it and open the other door. He said it had been broken like that for a year, no-one had complained and that it wouldn't be fixed during our visit because someone from Nassau had to come over to fix it. My husband said that this was very disappointing and Alan's immediate response was "Why don't you find a better place to stay!" (Actual quote). We were quite shocked at his unexpected, aggressive response as we had basically only just arrived for our vacation and we decided after that comment, to have nothing more to do with him. We would recommend that Alan take over the back-office duties such as cleaning etc. and only let Maureen handle the customers in future. (Our videos clearly show that you have to walk sideways through the door if you are carrying a drink in each hand…….which of course should be a common occurrence when you are on vacation !)
.,
The house furniture is uncomfortable with hard day beds instead of a comfortable couch or chairs and after a few days we had back ache from the hard bed in the bedroom. The extensive pantry as advertised was also misleading with almost-finished spice bottles and a bottle of olive oil with about an inch left at the bottom. There was no cooking foil and we had to go to the grocery store to buy everything we needed including the salt which was finished and which should be a basic in any pantry. While we are on the topic of meals, our favourite restaurants on Eleuthera were the Rainbow Inn, The Buccaneer Club, Pammi's Place and The Laughing Lizard.

We had stomach problems the whole time we were there but we thought that this was due to the local cuisine. We only discovered at the end of our stay – have a look at the photos/video - that the water filter on the water line supplying the house probably hasn’t been changed in a number of years. Water filters should be changed regularly and should never reach the dark, green muddy state that you can see in the photos/video. We can only assume that this was the cause of the stomach problems during our stay.

Service
Our flight to Eleuthera was delayed for a few hours and after three flights and connections from Canada we were exhausted when we finally arrived. Alan arranged to meet us at the gate and upon arrival at Cayo Loco, his first words when greeting us were not it is nice to meet you, but "What took you so long ! " and he appeared to be irritated. In spite of us being tired he then insisted upon running through the rules and regulations of the house for 20 minutes although they were written down in a folder on the coffee table. We also did not need to receive instructions on how to use a TV remote control.

The house was cleaned after the first week of our stay and Maureen did an excellent job. Our only complaint is that not once during our 14 day stay were the windows ever cleaned. We have our own ocean-front property and with the daily wind and ocean spray, we know that the windows need cleaning every 3-4 days and we were disappointed that they weren’t cleaned once during the 14 days. We did not contact them about this as we wanted nothing further to do with Alan because of his attitude.

Eleuthera

We have only great things to say about both Eleuthera and its people. This is not the place to go for bright lights and a fantastic night-club scene but if you are into the beauty of nature and the ocean scenery, then this is the place for you. A warning however concerning sharks – No-one including the owners Maureen and Alan or the Locals wanted to talk about it but there are a LOT of sharks around here. While we were there, we saw sharks from our deck on 4 occasions, 3 were in the 3-4 foot range and one was about 6 feet passing right through the swimming area in front of the house about 4 feet from the sand. Other visitors we spoke to on the beach also had shark sightings in the same area. So be very careful when swimming and take the warnings/advice in the house rules manual concerning sharks, very seriously. On one occasion we saw a shark about 15 minutes after we got out of the water in exactly the same spot we were swimming, in the middle of the day. You can swim – Just be careful!

Final Thoughts

Alan’s comments to “Find a better place to stay!” prompted us to do some research about other rentals while we were there and we discovered other similar but better rentals on exactly the same beach at similar rates. This forum’s guidelines do not allow us to advertise these rentals by name but we suggest you do the same research online.

We would not rent at Cayo Loco again. Although the problems with the door and the water are a major concern, we feel the false advertising and basic dishonesty to be the major issue with this rental.

Please have a look at our videos and photos online and form your own opinions.

By the way, we found it very strange that every review posted was so positive about Cayo Loco and did not mention any of the problems that we found. We had a look at many previous reviews and we found it amazing that many previous renters took the time and effort to post the exact same very positive reviews on multiple travel forums.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Closeness to neighbours and poor maintenance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITCHELLK...
HUDSON, Oh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking Views & Relaxing Accommodations”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We LOVED everything about it! The description and photos were true. The SHOCKING BLUE water views from every window are utterly stunning! It's on the Atlantic Side which makes it great for sleeping. My husband & I even slept on the front porch one night which was DREAMY. The beach is beautiful and truly remote, as Maureen said. We also went to the Caribbean side many times. There are many beaches just minutes away. Cocodimama was our favorite - 5 minute drive. The house is up on stilts so you get great views. The accommodations are very comfortable and modern. Overall the vacation exceeded our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the house
Liked least: Lack of sofa in living area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2013
It was such a pleasure sharing our home with you both and found your love of our beaches' natural beauty inspiring. Hope to see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hondrogen
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the Atlantic side”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

There are actually two cottages very close to each other and there are shutters which obscure a lot of the westerly view. The living room could be more comfortable if set up with chairs and/or love seat rather than two narrow day beds. All that being said, it is a very relaxing place, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The beaches of Eleuthera, on the Atlantic side have an incredible amount of plastic littering them. You can not walk ten feet without seeing plastic bottles, flip flops, buoys, etc. However, you can walk for miles on the beach without seeing another person. In January the water isn't as warm as I like it, but it is definitely swimable! The color of the water is gorgeous and varies throughout the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close proximity to the sea and the breeze which kept the noseee-ems away
Liked least: That it was depicted as one cottage when, there are two very close to each other.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2013
So glad that you chose to travel to Eleuthera over St. John this year and experienced all that our island has to offer. We were so pleased with your total enjoyment of Cayo Loco and your exuberance when we came to check you out after your stay with us. Thank you for your positive review and hope to see you again at our island paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueWrait...
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent our 5th anniversary at Cayo Loco. It was the best vacation we've ever had. It wasn't the kind of vacation where you order room service and go out for entertainment at any hour. Instead, it was relaxing in paradise. Examples: napping on the front porch to the sound of the ocean; swimming in water so calm and clear, that pictures make it look like there's no water at all (Ten Bay); the adventure of trying to find things on the island (also Ten Bay); learning about the unique culture of the island. I could go on.

The first couple of days, we did little more than stare at the sky and the ocean. There was a beautiful full moon over the ocean at night. We saw sunrise and moonrise from the front porch. Eventually, the moon waned enough to where we could see a myriad of stars. The sights and sounds were mesmerizing.

Each day we at least walked along the beach. About every other day, we went swimming. Cayo's beach is a great Atlantic-side beach. After we visited Ten Bay, we discovered that the calm Carribean side was our preference. Unfortunately though, Ten Bay was a bit more popular (6-8 other people on the beach, instead of 0-4 at Cayo).

There are some great restaurants on the island. We tried several, including: Rainbow Inn with Spider and the Boys playing, Sky Beach, Cocodimama's, and Aqua Pazza (on Harbour Island). We also grabbed a pizza to take home from Mate and Jenny's. Sky Beach was our favorite, very chill, and right down the beach. The best value of the places we ate was Mate and Jenny's, and the pizza was great.

We visited Harbour Island, but it was not to our liking. Much busier and somewhat commercialized. For example, chairs for rent on the main beach. We had breakfast at Arthur's Bakery, toured around on a golf cart, and ate lunch at Aqua Pazza before grabbing a ferry back to 'Lutra proper. There was a lot on the 'Briland we missed seeing, but we were ready to get back to the serenity of our home away from home.

The fish fry was another event we attended, but we left before it got going in full force. There were probably a hundred people there, too many for my liking. ;) We did watch them make conch salad right there on the beach. Just don't get too close or the conch man will chase you around with conch nethers and try to get you to eat it, haha. The fish was good, even though it was still staring at me as it was being eaten.

Driving on the island is an experience all to itself. The proper lane to driving in is the left lane. In practice, however, it was more like the middle lane was the proper lane, and everyone was in agreement to swerve left when met with other cars. Embellishments aside, people did tend to drive pretty fast down the main road. Going "10-over", I was passed pretty often.

Overall, I would recommend Cayo Loco whole-heartedly for a relaxing get-away. Maureen and Allen were wonderful hosts. I'll be honest: when I first got the information packet with detailed house rules, I was afraid that they would be looking over our shoulder while we were there. Once we got there, I quickly came to realize that the guidelines were actually to help us adapt to the house and make our stay more enjoyable. We were left completely to ourselves, but they were still available to answer our questions. Like I said, wonderful hosts! The house itself is very thoughtfully appointed. From scissors to an iPod dock, we didn't find ourselves lacking anything we came to need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The front porch (sights, sounds, lounging, eating)
Liked least: The hot water was a bit tempermental
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
You captured the true experience of Cayo Loco and shared it wonderfully in your review so that future guests can appreciate the uniqueness of our island paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing