We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
City View Motel Warwick(Warwick)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Rose Motel(Warwick)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 106
USD 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centre Point Mid City Motor Inn(Warwick)(Great Value!)
USD 98
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
USD 93
USD 86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Vines Motel(Warwick)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
40
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseegyptian roomtree houseperfect hostssettlers cottagebeautiful propertyrelaxing weekendbreakfast hamperjam and creamcomfortable bedsthe cottagestreehousewarwickwallabiesspafurnishingsaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Doug & Liz are lovely people, very obliging nothing was to much trouble.The views from the home are amazing. Breakfast was yummy, would stay there again without any hesitation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shiela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
(p.s. we're adding to the breakfast menu... more yummy delights)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

My husband and I spent our 30th Wedding Anniversary weekend in the Settlers Cottage and it was lovely. Blissful peace and quiet and relaxing in this quaint little cottage. Doug and Liz are wonderful hosts and lovely people. Nothing is too much trouble. Liz's fresh scones, jam and cream are ready for you for afternoon tea when you arrive. Just a little touch that makes you feel very welcome. Along with a few other hidden treats you will find in your accommodation are a lovely touch. It was very dry when we were there but the gardens and the view of the valley were still breathtaking. If your looking for a quiet place to unwind and relax this is it, no traffic just pure nature. We would definitely go back and would like to stay in the tree house next time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holtsjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi, Congratulations again on celebrating your 30th wedding anniversary. Thanks for choosing R on the Downs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stayed in the main house in the serenity Room. We understand the Cottage and Tree House provide self contained accommodation that would be more private (the Tree house more so). The main house is a 'traditional' b&b, meaning you are guests of the owners who also live there, and you interact with them and others staying in house. The owners Doug and Liz have done their homework to make it a good experience,have purpose built the house to suit their idea of an ideal b&b, and have their roles as hosts down pat, with the result that everything works seamlessly and the standard of accommodation is high. Liz's scones are a perfect accompaniment to a cup of tea when you arrive. The view is magnificent. If you want social interaction stay in the main house, but if you want to be more alone the cottage and tree-house would be better. We're not sure why the shower had to be so small in a very large bathroom, and the lighting in the rooms is not adequate if you are searching for something in a black bag, but overall the standards are excellent and we have no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi, thanks for staying with us and your comments are mush appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

My fiancé and I stayed here over the Warwick Jumpers and Jazz weekend in the Treehouse. We didn't quite know what to expect but were so impressed with Doug and Liz's hospitality and beautiful property. The treehouse was spectacular, luxurious and homely all in one. We didn't want to go out and do the things that we had planned once we saw the amazing spa bath with views of the valley and the cosy wood fire place to cuddle up to. Luckily we had time to enjoy all of the activities we had planned as well as the Treehouse. Doug and Liz left so many little surprising touches for us to find and the breakfast hamper tasted delicious cooked on the deck's BBQ. The bed was sooo comfortable and it was all so relaxing listening to the birds and nothing else, you don't know quiet until you really hear quiet.
Thank you so much Doug and Liz, we look forward to our next trip out to Yangan and staying at R on the Downs!

Room Tip: The treehouse is lovely and private with stunning views!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ltraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi, Liz and I are glad you have a most enjoyable time. Enjoy life and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My wife and I were in need of a break. We weren't keen on a "b n b" where we would have to interact with others. The thought of a secluded, peaceful cottage met the criteria. We spent two nights in the early settler's cottage. It was modern, very clean, well- furnished and had a picturesque outlook across the farmland valley. The view changed throughout the day but was always interesting. The fireplace and air-conditioning kept the winter chills at bay, as did the cosy, comfy bed. The breakfast provisions were more than adequate and the various treats were appreciated. Dennis and Liz were great hosts and their hospitality is more of a passion than a job.

Room Tip: The cottages are great if you are all peopled out.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We're very happy that you enjoyed rest & relaxation, and an opportunity to enjoy our views. Hope to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews