We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
41
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones the main house the barn hill overlooking jam and cream surrounding hills anzac biscuits perfect hosts breakfast hamper wonderful country one night beautiful property comfortable beds relaxing weekend stayed longer little extras settlers cottage
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The minute you arrive Doug and Liz and there to greet you.We stayed in the Serenity Room and it was beautiful with breathtaking scenery. You feel welcomed and at home talking to the hosts Doug and Liz

Room Tip: All rooms had a good view, and all rooms are differently themed.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaylene50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary. The serenity room is popular. Enjoy life and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

R on the Downs is our place of choice for a quiet weekend getaway. We have stayed here on a number of occasions now. The rooms are perfect, with very large comfortable beds and spa with a great view. Sitting on the verandah, looking out over the valley is amazing. Liz and Doug are wonderful hosts, and would do anything to help make the stay perfect. A delicious breakfast is supplied and they often supply a few other little surprises. We already have plans to return again very soon.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Squasheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Always a pleasure to have guests return. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed in the Egyptian room, which has wonderful views of the valley in two directions. It is a perfect place to relax and unwind. Liz and Doug are very friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome. Fabulous property and cannot wait to return - looking forward to trying one of the cottages next time, as they look amazing.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room has great views in two directions.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hi, thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed the Egyptian room and views to the Lost Pyramid. Hope to see you in the future, the spa and views will await (cottage or rooms).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

What an amazing place, so restful and comfortable. Owners Doug & Liz made us feel really at home. Doug & Liz have added so many luxurious touches - bath gowns, good quality toiletries, comfortable beds, all rooms have an amazing view. The two cabins are perfect for privacy, with a choice of breakfast in the dining room or else in the cabin (with breakfast things left in the frig). Doug & Liz are amazing cooks, and dinner at night is a special time. Starting off from virgin land 10 years ago, their landscaping is awesome, fitting in with the climatic conditions and the aspect of the property. We can hardly wait to get back.

Room Tip: We loved the cabins, the Egyptian room was also lovely. (All rooms are lovely)
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisbanelizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We enjoy cooking (with as many local ingredients as possible); thanks for all your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Top class facilities, friendly helpful hosts, such beautiful scenery, themed rooms with all the touches of luxury in the main house plus separate amazing "cabins". Definitely a great choice for an R&R get-away!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ilona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug P, Owner at R on the Downs Rural Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Rest, relaxation, romance, r......... our aim at R on the Downs. Thanks for staying with us and Liz and I look forward to your next R&R visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews