We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable all round”

The Salty Dog Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere, especially enjoy sundays. Food is reasonable value for money, we can take the dog, lovely spot, friendly staff.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank hobartgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We dropped in here for an evening meal. The atmosphere was friendly and cheerful. There was a wedding party in the front rooms so we had a great meal in the garden at the back.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TJandTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

If you are dining here and a fan of lamb do not pass up the opportunity to have the lamb plate for two. This was an absolutely delicious meal, both my husband and I agreed one of the best meals we have ever had. The staff were friendly and the service was good. The view looking out of at the water as the sun went down was beautiful. Absolutely recommend.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Group meet here for lunch and drinks. Nice, sunny day so took advantage of the beer garden tables. The pleasant start was interrupted by a kids party with chasing games around our table. One child wore only a t shirt and no pants which we thought inappropriate in a public eating place. There is a huge beach across the road providing endless fun for young children to play. A pub/beer garden is not a place for young kids. If you want to let your children run around naked take them to the beach or better still keep them in your own garden. I would not recommend this place for an adult group. It is more of a kids playground.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank SophieBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We went here on a Friday evening and the atmosphere was amazing. The place was busy with a relaxed vibe. We had something to eat and the food was amazing. We also sat overlooking the beach (just over the road) and it is a great selling point. The place has been tastefully decorated and the area in general was great. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank josephbP1598DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salty Dog Hotel also viewed

Kingston, Kingborough
Blackmans Bay, Tasmania
 
Kingston Beach, Kingborough
Kingston, Kingborough
 
Kingston, Kingborough
Blackmans Bay, Tasmania
 

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing