We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch as Skillogalee on a warm day”

Skillogalee Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Sevenhill
Price range: AU$20 - AU$60
Description: Skillogalee Estate is set amongst native bushland in the picturesque heart of the world-renowned Clare Valley, one of South Australia’s oldest and most respected wine regions. Overlooking vineyards and picturesque rolling hills of the Clare Valley, is Skillogalee's charming historic restaurant and cellar door. Located in the old stone settlers’ cottage built in 1851, the historic cottage restaurant and cellar door offers guests a chance to sample Skillogalee wines in the way they were intended to be enjoyed – with food in the heart of the beautiful Clare Valley. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon sampling some of the best food and wine in the region.
Restaurant details
Description: Skillogalee Estate is set amongst native bushland in the picturesque heart of the world-renowned Clare Valley, one of South Australia’s oldest and most respected wine regions. Overlooking vineyards and picturesque rolling hills of the Clare Valley, is Skillogalee's charming historic restaurant and cellar door. Located in the old stone settlers’ cottage built in 1851, the historic cottage restaurant and cellar door offers guests a chance to sample Skillogalee wines in the way they were intended to be enjoyed – with food in the heart of the beautiful Clare Valley. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon sampling some of the best food and wine in the region.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

We had heard good reviews about Skillogalee, and booked for lunch. Being a hod day around 35c we booked inside but were offered a choice of that or the veranda, which we chose. While the air was warm, it was fully shaded and the atmosphere was really nice, looking out on some gardens and the vines in the distance.
We had a very nice meal of mullet, cooked to perfection, accompanied by some nice Skillogalee wine, an dwith excellent service.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

The food, wine & service was amazing. One of the best restaurants we have eaten at in a long time.
We unfortunately don’t live in Clare but I recommend to people visiting the area to eat there.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Chrisitne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skillogalee Estate, Owner at Skillogalee Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Thank you for your lovely review! We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Skillogalee. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the food, wine, and service during your visit. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again someday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Beautiful outdoor lunch ,under the olive tree, overlooking vineyards and hills.
Friendly, informative staff who really know their food and wines.
Excellent presentation of food- pistachio risotto and black pasta with crab for entrees and mullet and lamb shoulder main meals- all delicious.
Only negative were the little wasps who were attracted to the meals- fans and spinning gadgets helped a bit😁

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jokim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skillogalee Estate, Owner at Skillogalee Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thank you for your lovely review! We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed the presentation and taste of your lunch, and we appreciate your understanding and efforts to deal with the little wasp visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful dining experience with picturesque views of the vineyards and hills of the Clare Valley! 😊🍽️🍷

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2024

We had a lovely long lunch on the verandah looking over the beautiful garden. Great food and friendly service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skillogalee Estate, Owner at Skillogalee Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely long lunch with great food and friendly service while enjoying our beautiful garden view. Your recommendation means the world to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

The food was quite good and the wine and ambiance on a sunny afternoon was very excellent. The one thing that left us with a bad taste was their creative use of the words ‘garden salad’. Maybe they just have a boring garden and don’t grow things like tomatoes, onions or cucumber but whatever the reason they should correctly rename the dish as a ‘lettuce salad’ because that’s all it was with a few pansy flowers thrown in to pretty it up with a bit of radish and dill. The ‘simple dressing’ was so simple you couldn’t taste it! This may not matter to some dinners but to us a side dish should complement the main course rather than just being some add-on to increase revenue. We mentioned our concerns to the waiter who passed it onto the chef but doubt it will make any difference. We dine out a fair bit and have noticed this trend in several restaurants & cafes lately where the title of the dish does not accurately reflect what is served up.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skillogalee Estate, Owner at Skillogalee Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Skillogalee.

We appreciate your compliments on the food, wine, and ambiance. However, we apologise for any disappointment you experienced with our 'garden salad.' We take pride in using fresh, seasonal, hyper-local produce picked from our own kitchen garden on the estate, located 200m from the restaurant. While our garden provides us with an array of amazing fresh ingredients, it's true that certain items like tomatoes, onions, and cucumbers may not always be available due to seasonality. We understand your perspective, and apologise for any disappointment.

Your input is valuable to us, as we strive to continually improve our offerings and meet our guests' expectations. We hope you'll consider dining with us again in the future, and we'll do our best to provide you with a more satisfying experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skillogalee Restaurant also viewed

 
Clare, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 

Been to Skillogalee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.