We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch with a view”

Skillogalee Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Sevenhill
Price range: AU$20 - AU$60
Description: Skillogalee Estate is set amongst native bushland in the picturesque heart of the world-renowned Clare Valley, one of South Australia’s oldest and most respected wine regions. Overlooking vineyards and picturesque rolling hills of the Clare Valley, is Skillogalee's charming historic restaurant and cellar door. Located in the old stone settlers’ cottage built in 1851, the historic cottage restaurant and cellar door offers guests a chance to sample Skillogalee wines in the way they were intended to be enjoyed – with food in the heart of the beautiful Clare Valley. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon sampling some of the best food and wine in the region.
Restaurant details
Description: Skillogalee Estate is set amongst native bushland in the picturesque heart of the world-renowned Clare Valley, one of South Australia’s oldest and most respected wine regions. Overlooking vineyards and picturesque rolling hills of the Clare Valley, is Skillogalee's charming historic restaurant and cellar door. Located in the old stone settlers’ cottage built in 1851, the historic cottage restaurant and cellar door offers guests a chance to sample Skillogalee wines in the way they were intended to be enjoyed – with food in the heart of the beautiful Clare Valley. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon sampling some of the best food and wine in the region.
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

Went here for lunch on a Thursday after lots of recommendations from friends. We weren't disappointed. The menu had a bit of something for everyone and it took a while to decide! The food was delicious. We were seated outdoors on the verandah with a nice view of the vineyards, happy to still be protected from the weather. A nice e-bike ride from Clare along the Reisling trail, too.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank elizabethheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

We could only get a booking at 3pm which is probably why the duck and fish dishes were overcooked, the staff undertrained, old and tired surroundings

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank waynef570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

We’d been wanting to visit this restaurant for ages, mostly due to the recommendations of others. The reality was a little disappointing. The food was good, but not great, and quite expensive (which I’d expected). The setting is lovely. We opted for a table under the trees, but it looked as though they’d given up on the garden - tired, dry and brown. Anyway, I’ve done it now, with no need to return!

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

We had a gorgeous table for 2 under the olive tree .... so picturesque!
All courses were amazing.
The wine was beautiful.
The staff were so welcoming and attentive.
And the atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2021

Wines, atmosphere, and service were all up to scratch, but our main meals failed to reach the standard we normally experience at Skilly.
Both my wife's 'Pan Seared Ocean Trout', and my 'Vine-Pruner's Lunch' were lacking in taste and presentation, based on our past visits.
In addition my wife's frozen 'Coffee Icecream Cup' lacked true coffee flavour.
Even the outlook from the verandah was disappointing.
Over the last 20 years, we have come up to Skilly 1-2 times a year for special occasions. This visit was on our 58th Wedding Anniversary.
Normally we would have rated the experience 5 stars, but on this visit 3 1/2 stars.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Darrell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Skillogalee Restaurant also viewed

 
Clare, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 

Been to Skillogalee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.