We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Black Gold Motel(Wallerawang)
USD 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bushman's Motor Inn(Wallerawang)
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zig Zag Motel(Lithgow)(Great Value!)
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lithgow Workies Club Motel(Lithgow)(Great Value!)
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bowen Inn Motel(Lithgow)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Motor Inn(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges(Blackheath)(Great Value!)
USD 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
957
111
42
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
957
111
42
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingmountain bikesrocking chairsprivate poolcountry kitchenthe general managerfood and winedegustation menuaustralian experiencemain buildingwalk in wardrobefront gatemini barmoment you arrivedressing roomleave your caraustralian bush
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Our mum took us away for a 3 night stay and we did not want to leave. Excellent staff, cuisine and decor.The Conservation Activity with Jack was really good and we felt good about playing a role in improving the environment.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HOX62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWolganvalley, General Manager at Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear HOX62,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our expanse of wilderness. We take conservation seriously, as it is important to us that the Wolgan Valley be preserved for future generations, so it was our pleasure to show you how to best protect the environment that surrounds all of us. We will be sure to pass your words on to Jack, who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed his expertise. Should you find yourself looking for another escape to nature, we would love to have you again!

Warm Regards,

James Wyndham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

The Emirates lodge clearly focuses on a complete, all inclusive luxury experience. The service, accommodation, food, scenery and activities are all outstanding in my opinion. Each of the cabins is spacious, well appointed, reasonably private, includes mountain bikes and has its own small pool. The food is fine dining standard with good variety each day. The wine list is split into inclusive and additional cost however I found the inclusive wines to be excellent. There are a variety of activities including guided walks, archery and horse riding many of which are included in the nightly price. We found grabbing the map, picking a trail we hadn't yet tried and walking out after breakfast to be the best way to start the day.
The lodge also plays the "environmentally concerned and nature conservative" card which we put to the test! We noticed a young wombat with mange near our cabin and reported it to Roger, one of the field guides. Roger and the field team went to the effort of finding a Wombat carer to treat the wombat then capturing it for transport. Excellent work!
The price tag is high but when you consider the inclusions and the quality of the experience I consider the Emirates lodge to be good value.

Room Tip: All one bedroom cabins are the same :-)
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrettOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWolganvalley, General Manager at Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear BrettOnTheRoad,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share this lovely review. We are happy to hear that you found everything, from your private villa to the dining options, to be to your taste. We do take our commitment to maintaining our grounds seriously, so thank you for pointing out the wildlife in need. We will pass on your kind words to Roger and his team, who will be delighted to hear that a guest recognized their dedication to keeping our slice of paradise pristine for future generations. We hope that we can host you again—we could use your keen eye to find more wildlife to assist!

Warm Regards,

James Wyndham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We spent three days her and it was an amazing experience! If you want an Australian outdoor experience with your family this is the place. It is very very remote but well worth the long long drive! There is so much to say about this place so Im going to break it down a bit. If you read nothing else know to get a two bedroom bungalow suite, ride bikes everyday, i liked the ride left facing away from the hotel best. Being lots of water and make sure you ride about 1hr before dust at least once...you will see 30-40 Walabys and Kangaroos.

Environment - It is roughly 2-3 hours drive from the airport. When you arrive you see red cliffs surrounding the entire property. Mountain bike trains are everywhere. Wildlife is in abundance however you really only see animals in the AM and around dusk probably due to the hot sun.

Rooms - We had a two bedroom bungalow suite and move to a single bungalow room the next night. The bigger room was like a small house and pretty amazing! The smaller room as still super cool just, well, smaller. All bungalows have a small private pool, looks like an atrium. You can open up the windows so you have a 240 degree outdoor pool area...we spent a lot of time in the pool...very hot sun!

Activities - Bike a lot. Really simple. Or hike. You may want a driven tour but I say bike. When we were biking we would see tour vans/srucks and wonder why not just bike. Main diff would be someone telling you what you are looking at...so yeah, take your pick. Anyhow, like I said, bike around dusk. Ride out and to the left, left side trails, about 1-1.5 hrs before dusk and when you ride back you will see many many kangaroos and wallabies in small groups (also amazing sun hitting the red cliffs and lush green trees...amazing!). The roos and walabys get spooked and run with you a bit as you ride...very cool. There are also a ton of birds that make some crazy sounds..nothing you see in the US.

We did do a night tour to see the nocturnal animals, it was fun considering I'm not going to hike or bike at night. We also did a star gazing night...since there is very little noise pollution you can see a gazillion stars! And being down under the starts are all in different places from where we usually would see things here in Cali.

Food - The food is very very good. Top notch. Breakfast was my fav. It was a good buffet with a lot of choices. Really good cappuccinos as well. Also a great local wine selection.

Cons - 1- Its remote so the drive is a bit much...but really really worth it. 2- The sun is intense, very very strong, live in a layer of sunscreen...its a must. 3- Insects. They do a great job of fighting off the insects here, I'm sure its constant. But there are a lot, specially these little biting flys. I also came across some pretty good sizes spiders (dead), but it wasn't common to see anything living and large.

Bottom line is if you want to experience Australia outback kind of an environment with your family in a "plush-ish" kind of way this is the perfect place. It is very very nice and its very very exciting. Not a dull moment here...unless you want it to be.

Room Tip: Australia outback in a "plush-ish" kind of way
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GorjesFamTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWolganvalley, General Manager at Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear GorjesFamTrav,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that the wallabies and kangaroos decided to join you on your early morning bike rides—it sounds like the wildlife of the Wolgan Valley gave you the full show! You are correct in saying that the sun in our corner of paradise is quite strong, so quality sunscreen is a must. Even though the Wolgan Valley might seem like a long drive from Sydney, staying off the beaten path is what keeps our grounds so pristine and untouched. We are grateful for your kind words, and would be honoured to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

James Wyndham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This was a return visit by my wife daughter and I - and we will be back again!

Stunning scenery with amazing sandstone cliffs. Very large villas with lovely views. High quality facilities.This is a large property and we especially enjoyed early morning bike rides with numerous kangaroos and wallabies. Service generally could not be faulted

There was a 'but' though. Food was good without being outstanding, however the restaurant service was average at best. At breakfasts we stood around waiting to be shown to our table and twice gave up and found our own. At dinners, the staff were friendly enough but forgot orders and the service was slow

I would rate as 4.5 stars if that was allowed

Room Tip: All good with nice views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank TonyaTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWolganvalley, General Manager at Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear TonyaTA,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you made the most of your time on our grounds by exploring the property—biking among the wallabies sounds like the best way to spend a crisp Wolgan Valley morning! We appreciate your feedback regarding your experiences with our dining services. We will make note of any peculiarity in service that might have occurred and will take steps to ensure that your next visit will be flawless. We look forward to having your family again—the kangaroos will be waiting!

Warm Regards,

James Wyndham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The most amazing resort I have ever visited. The attention to detail, the quality of service by the staff and their personalised touches to everything made our stay much more than we could have ever hoped for.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonigreenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWolganvalley, General Manager at Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Toni,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. It means a great deal to us that you enjoyed every moment of your stay, and found joy in the details. It would be our honour to serve you again next time you are considering a relaxing escape to the countryside.

Warm Regards,
James Wyndham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews