We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy but felt rushed”

The Hatter And The Hare
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bayswater
Price range: AU$20 - AU$35
Description: The Hatter & the Hare is a food emporium like no other. Situated in the midst of Bayswater’s industrial strip on Scoresby Road, it is a café, patisserie and event venue, offering a variety of gastronomic experiences that inspire patrons to unleash their wild imaginations.
Restaurant details
Description: The Hatter & the Hare is a food emporium like no other. Situated in the midst of Bayswater’s industrial strip on Scoresby Road, it is a café, patisserie and event venue, offering a variety of gastronomic experiences that inspire patrons to unleash their wild imaginations.
Reviewed 2 July 2023

Food and most of the service was lovely however they took my wife’s coffee while still half full and they were keen to get us out the door.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2023

I went in to buy quite a number of cakes etc and guess what on a weekend is a 10% surcharge. So why would we want to buy from somewhere where you get a surcharge to spend money at the shop. The prices should be altered to the amount including the so called surcharge. I would want people to buy from me all the time and be busy as if i am quite or busy i have to pay the same wages.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank Andrew David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2023

We went for mums day, great place a bit different from the norm, has a Alice in Wonderland theme. The service was very good and the food quality was also very good probably costa little more than what I would have normally paid but nothing frightening.

I would definitely go again & again

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S4913TKpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camille Bautista, Marketing at The Hatter And The Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Hi Alice, thank you for visiting coming to THATH. We appreciate that you liked the food. We hope to see you again at the cafe soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2023

Yummy cute food in an adorable setting. Yum Mocktails, delicious brunch & we took home sweet goodies which were a highlight of the girls at home. Not very good parking, allow extra time for parking etc.

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trail606530
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camille Bautista, Other at The Hatter And The Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2023

Thank you for sharing your cafe experience and we are happy you had a good one and enjoyed the food and drinks. We would love to have you back anytime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2023 via mobile

Great lunch with nice food. Large portions that where a struggle to get through but very enjoyable. Really liked the burgers. Quite pricey but ok for occasional treat. 4 mains, 4 deserts with 4 drinks cost $208.

Date of visit: March 2023
1  Thank gregfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camille Bautista, Other at The Hatter And The Hare, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Hi Greg, it was nice to have you for lunch at the cafe. It's good to know that you enjoyed your orders. Regarding pricing, we do update our menu seasonally and our chef and managers go through each line item to make sure we price them fairly based on multiple factors. We hope to see you come back again and have another great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hatter And The Hare also viewed

 
Ringwood, Maroondah
Ferntree Gully, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to The Hatter And The Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.