We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
108
108
53
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
108
53
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room whale watching tour brier island nova scotia seal cove see whales second floor great view get away digby neck lobster bed was comfortable second to none stayed one night stayed longer memorable stay jacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Briar Island is quite literally at the 'end of the world' for Nova Scotia anyway.

Drive to Digby, drive south, take a ferry, drive south again, take another ferry. Sounds hard work. No, It's a lovely drive and the ferries are short trips and efficient.

Once you drive off the Grand Passage ferry on to Briar Island, just turn right and follow the signs.

On top of a hill overlooking Westport you will find Briar Island Lodge. The view is sensational.

The hosts are friendly. The check in is quick. There's a short hike right from the parking lot that takes you to a lighthouse.

The Lodge grows its own vegetables. That fresh food, combined with a chef who knows how to handle great local seafood results in wonderful dining in a restaurant that overlooks Westport. Dining is casual, staff are friendly.

Briar is a small island. The distance to good walking trails, great birdwatching, sandy beaches is 15 minutes or less. The air is clean, the water is clear, there are no lineups.

This is a terrific destination for anybody who enjoys walking or birding with great food as an added bonus.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Judi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We came to Brier island to whale watch and picked this hotel only because we didn’t want to drive back and are we ever glad we stayed. The food was AMAZING. Our server at dinner, Cindi, was a delight as well! Breakfast was also quite delicious! The owner of the facility is quite knowledgeable about the island and is great to talk too!

The room was serviceable: very clean and comfortable but also on the plain side. Which is quite fine. The view more than makes up for it.

We will definitely be coming back to do some hiking and when we do we’ll be staying here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trachalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

had an amazing whale watching tour via Brier Island whale watching tours, then checked in Brier Island Lodge. Rooms were nice, clean and. comfortable. had dinner and breakfast in their dinning room. the food and service were outstanding. excellent place. would highly recommand this place.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Trail213402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We arrived at the Brier Island Lodge for our one night stay around 9 PM after going the wrong way getting off the ferry. Go right not left! We were greeted by Balin, nephew of the owners, and a great person to chat with about all that Brier Island has to offer. He was super friendly and very interesting to talk to. As we stayed in the off season, we had our choice of rooms and ended up in room 20 - second floor of the second building - so that we would have a good view in the morning. The room and its bathroom were very clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept really well until the clock radio went off at 7AM (our fault that we didn't check that the alarm had been set by the previous occupant). Breakfast is served between 8-10AM, and we had a very good homemade breakfast. Pam, our server, was also very interesting to talk with and gave us lots of information about the island and Digby Neck in general. We had a truly enjoyable experience but I want to let others know that the accommodations aren't luxury, nor are they advertised as such. Be prepared for clean and simple and to enjoy the lovely people that run the lodge. We will come back.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebraDISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We engaged the Airbnb room as there were no other spaces available. It has a jacuzzi but other than that is your typical motel room with dated decor. Comfortable bed. We run an Airbnb so were surprised that breakfast was not included. Isn't that what the second "b" is about. To make matters worse the in room coffee pot did not work. We did have breakfast in the dining room at our expense and it was fine. The staff are all pleasant and it is a friendly place. However, they need a staff meeting so all give the same answer to questions and their on-line material needs to be upgraded so it is correct. This room is not worth the extra cost and shouldn't even be on Airbnb.

Room tip: Don't do the Airbnb Room.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews