We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
108
107
53
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
107
53
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room whale watching tour brier island nova scotia see whales seal cove second floor great view enjoyed our stay get away digby neck lobster stayed one night second to none long time coffee maker beautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We went to Brier Island to go whale watching but the trip was cancelled due to the weather - we were offered another time to go but it didn’t work with our schedule, so we missed seeing the whales. We arrived in heavy fog, and when we got to our room, it was like an oasis after a long day of driving. The room wasn’t fancy but it was so comfortable! The beds were comfortable with nice sheets, pillows, blankets. Everything was clean. We had two chairs and a table by the window so we could play cards or use our computers on a good surface. The room had a refrigerator and a coffee maker.
Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were both wonderful and more than we could eat. The service was friendly and efficient and we could not have been more pleased with our visit.

Room Tip: If you choose a second floor room, you have a better chance of a view of the water, but you have to climb a set of outside steps.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank happyfeet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed our overnight stay. There have been a few changes since we last stayed and our room was definitely more updated than before. The Jacuzzi was lovely to warm up in after a whale watching trip. My only fault is that there is no TV in the room, only in the lounge. For someone with insomnia it makes for a long night. However there is free WiFi so that can be used to watch something on your own device.

Room Tip: Ocean views, Jacuzzi is the most relaxing
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Brier Island Lodge was an excellent place to stay at. We sat out on the deck. The lodge has chairs out in the back of our room so you can set out and enjoy the view and watch the sun go down we also noticed a fire pit there for guests to use. The rooms are very clean and the staff were excellent.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We were staying at a local B&B but wanted a nice dinner option so we decided to check out this place. Man, am I glad we did!

We started with a glass of the best tasting tap water I’ve had in a long time. And it just kept getting better. We ordered the smoked haddock gratin and the halibut cheeks dinners. Bother came with a half of a plate full of cooked vegetables. But, not just regular cooked vegetables. These were sublime. Steamed broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, zucchini. Baked stuffed tomato, mashed potatoes, pickled cabbage. And the most delicious sweet butternut squash slice!

The gratin was sublime. Smoked haddock, sautéed leeks, boiled potatoes in a light cream sauce with Parmesan on top. Made the perfect pairing with the cooked veggies.

Hubby had the halibut in curry sauce. Again, an excellent pairing.

For dessert we splurged. I had the chocolate orange cheesecake and he had the cranberry/blueberry grunt with ice cream. Oh, my! As delightful to the palate as the eye.

Would highly recommend this place even if it’s the only thing you do in the island! But, that would be a shame since there’s so many other wonderful things here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bittersweet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Just wonderful, except that there was no TV . We did not know this until we got there or we would have made different bookings !!! The rooms were great and the restaurant serves wonderful meals. The Lambs roaming thre property were awesome . They do have some fabulous walking trials.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews