We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay here”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We stayed in the Ferrycarrig last weekend, it is a beautiful hotel with amazing views. We booked through the super valu breaks which meant we got a great deal. Last week my boyfriend received a letter asking if he wanted to upgrade the room for €10 pp, he decided to call and accept.. we were glad in the end, we had a beautiful balcony overlooking the river (its a pity it rained all weekend!!) The only thing we didnt like too much was the food in the restaurant, the food itself is very very fancy and as a picky eater i struggled to find anything 'plain'!! Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it for a cosy get away.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCandSC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,937 - 1,941 of 1,994 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2008

we have just returned from a lovely relaxing break at the ferrycarrig hotel near wexford. I was a little uneasy booking this hotel after reading previous reviews, but we got a brilliant deal through supervalu for 3 nights b/b plus dinner, so decided to book. I found the staff very friendly and helpful at reception and in the bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The view from our window overlooking the river was incredible, worth getting up for. Breakfast was perfect, and we enjoyed our meals in the bar and the restaurant. The hotel has a leisure centre and gym and a very cosy private residents sitting room. Ferrycarrig hotel is situated a couple of miles from wexford town, and the wexford hertitage park. Myself and my husband enjoyed our stay, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We stayed in the ferrycarraig last weekend for three nights and while the hotel itself and surroundings are beautiful the staff and management leave a lot to be desired. The pillows in our room were terrible and the cheapest quality, it was impossible to sleep and my neck was in agony the next morning. The service in reeds restaurant was terrible. We asked what the side orders were and the waitress had to go ask and came back and informed us what they were and we would have to pay extra, we questioned this and she came back to us only to tell us it was included, we were appalled- to think this hotel rates itself as a 4* with that kind of service is a disgrace. The second day we had lunch in the bar and asked to get soup and sandwiches ordered simultaneously. The soup came out straight away and the sandwiches much later which were stale. We brought our complaints to the hotel and the manager was possibly the most inefficient i have ever seen, when i was giving him feedback he was so flippant and had an attitude. I then said to him do you expect us to pay for stale sandwiches and he said well you should have complained on the day which to be fair was true but we had such an unfriendly waitress we just decided to take it up with management. I asked him to check our bill and he discovered we were overcharged for 3 soups and left it at that. In all there is nothing worse than a hotel who do not aim to look after their customers if they have a complaint. I felt that i was doin the right thing by complaining as it's better to leave with giving feedback than not but unfortunately due to terrible management in the ferrycarraig it really would not be a place i would recommend to anyone. The only positives are the beautiful surroundings and the breakfast but the staff let everything down.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank allywal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Lovely Hotel rooms great staff great leisure centre great but but Food BAD !!! And would recommened eating out Breaky is ok but dinner was dreadful ! Worst meal ever !
Stay here as rooms are really nice try and get a balcony i.e. a delux or superior room and go to la dolce vita in Wexford town Yummy.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel last week as it was voted Family Hotel 2008 by Georgina Campbell(Never listening to her again)we have a four month old baby and it was our first family holiday.We were dissapointed from start to finish.Costing just short of 2000 euro,we could have gone anywhere and besides the location everything else certainly doesnt rate.(4star...no way)We booked a deluxe room,no minibar,no pay per view tv,tiny kettle for making bottles,asked for fridge one was delivered and just left by the wall,not plugged in,a balcony with two miserable chairs,babys blanket worn to a thread,the "baby room" a converted en suite in front of a bedroom which is the human resource office..paper never delivered except when we phoned on two occasions, everything served with chips,food bland except for breakfast, which was good ,RTE channels off all week,no explanation, we had to endure BBC3 or ITV2 or of course the lovely wedding music on the three nights...Not worth the money. Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
3.4 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.9 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,716 reviews
3.6 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,599 reviews
16.5 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range: AU$111 - AU$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing