We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried a Trust Hotel in Wexford Ireland”
Review of Ferrycarrig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I'v been here on four our five occassions and keep going back. Very unusual layout, you enter on the 3rd floor with two levels below and one above. Full leaisure facilities. See photos for beautiful situation directly on the water. The bar is a great place to eat, in a marine conservatory style it leads onto a decked area with seating. Very family friendly but there is a separate area off the bar for adults only. Breakfast dining room is bright and cheery and food exellent. I hav'nt eaten in the restaurant in a long time, prefering the bar. The food was really high standard on our recent visit. Not the cheapest place to stay but worth the money.

Room Tip: The rooms with double doors onto a patio overlooking the river are worth paying a little extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank declan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,763 - 1,767 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

First impressions might be dented by the car park which is sloped steeply in front of the hotel entrance. Reception was friendly and efficient - never saw anybody waiting too long for reception during the stay. The hotel was spotless throughout. Our 2 children were delighted with the bunk beds in the large family room (room 220) . Every room has a view of the picturesque river / estuary. The bar was very nice with attentive service. We ate in the bar the first night and food was lovely. The second nite we dined in the restaurant which again could not be faulted. All staff encountered were helpful and friendly. Again the girls loved the balloons tied to the door handle on departure day. Very nice grounds and a playground for the children.

What's nice about this hotel is it is very family friendly but not over-run by children. There is "child-free" area in the bar called the snug - there were plenty of couples staying without kids and I would have no hesitation to come here for a night without the kids.

Only (very minor) problem was the noise from next doors bathroom plumbing when they flushed the toilet.

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a room with bunkbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pittland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We recently stayed in the Ferrycarrig Hotel the night before our friends wedding and the night after, so we had two different rooms. I have broken the review into different categories so you can pick and choose what you like;

Rooms: Our first room was nice but, and yes I am being picky here, the décor was cheaply done. The pillows and the headboard were silver plastic. Honestly the only way I can describe them. The bathroom had seen better days and was in need of an update. I did say I was being picky, for a giggle I have included pictures of the first room and the plastic pillows. Our second room was a lot nicer and more traditionally decorated. The rooms were both very clean and comfy.

Service: The service was amazing. On the night before the wedding we requested a dinner table at 9.20 for 10 people without a booking. The staff informed me the restaurant was closed and the chef was already cleaning the kitchen. Despite this they still accommodated all 10 of us and the waiters didn’t make us feel rushed or unwelcome which is what you would expect of any staff if you are, excuse the pun, eating into their Thursday night.

Weddings: Be prepared for lots of weddings I think there was four in row when we stayed there and the staff said this was pretty normal. However while the wedding guests were in the main residence bar the staff always ensure the residence were catered for first and we were never kept waiting long.

Transport: You will need a car to get to and from. Some of the over seas guest thought they could rely on a mixture of taxi’s and public transport. Since the hotel situated on a main road you will not get many buses without a hike and getting lots of taxi’s will prove more costly then hiring a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the far end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Spent 3 nights with 2 young adults. Disappointed with lack of ground around hotel big hotel on a small site. Car parks a bit to far away from door in wet weather. Good views out to water. A lot of young families noisy babies and young children. Food was good and restaurant menu was reasonably priced, service here good. Rooms could have been cleaner I mentioned this to management who appreciated comments. Disappointing episode on our first night in hotel with regard to bar dining, I inquired at 6 o'clock about reserving a table in the bar for eight. I was told this was not possible, as Wexford had played in Croke Park that day and local trade would be big. I was very disappointed when I went to the bar at eight to see reservation signs on a number of well located tables and random people arriving and sitting at them. This put me off, I did inquire from management later and was given an unsatisfactory reply.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have water view, go for upper floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESSCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent last weekend in the Ferrycarrig on a two night B+B family package. From check-in to checkout nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable with a large bathroom.

Buffet breakfast also included some extras cooked fresh (poached egg, kippers, etc) and was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have tasted. We had our dinner in the restaurant on one evening and again it was of a very high Standard and only 20 euro for three courses.

The leisure centre as like the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean. We had a seven year old with us and he had a great time in the pool.

All in all a great place to stay and we will definitley be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrycarrig
3.4 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.9 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,714 reviews
3.6 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,598 reviews
16.5 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrycarrig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrycarrig Hotel

Address: Ferrycarrig Bridge, Ferrycarrig, Wexford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford > Ferrycarrig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrycarrig
Price Range: $91 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferrycarrig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star Hotel located 4 kilometers outside Wexford Town on N11. 102 stylish & spacious bedrooms & suites - all with views of the river Slaney. Award winning waterfront Dry Dock Bar. Reeds at Ferrycarrig waterfront restaurant - 2 AA Rosette Award Winner, 5-star Active Health & Fitness club with 20m pool, Olympic standard gym, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. Supervised children's play programs, Baby Clubbers (0 - 4 yrs) and Crazy Clubbers (4 yrs - 12 yrs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ferrycarrig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wexford
Wexford Hotel Ferrycarrig
Ferrycarrig Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing