We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not just a meal - an experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puerta Grande Ronda

Puerta Grande Ronda
Ranked #6 of 261 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Ronda, Spain.
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not just a meal - an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recommended by the hotel we were staying in. The best meal we had during two weeks of touring Andalusia (where we had several very good meals). Friendly, efficient service. Very good choice on the menu. Food perfectly cooked and very large portions. Pouring out wine was turned into a "performance" by the use of a fancy device to aereate the wine. Likewise, the very nice Spanish brandy I had to finish was made special by the waiter bringing a jug of hot water to warm the glass, then drying it with a flourish before skilfully pouring a very large measure then covering it for a minute to let the aromas develop. A nice bit of "theatre" and a superb brandy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JMMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    181
    42
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Worthy of its # 1 status”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Dined here after reading the trip advisor reviews. It was a freezing cold Sunday night and it was close to our hotel so the decision was easily made.
We were the first diners in the restaurant at 7:30 PM but it soon filled.
Staff attentive and very friendly, helping us with our spanglish. Their english was much better than our Spanish.
Food is fantastic. Presentation was excellent also. I had the sucking pig and it was the best I have ever had. My husband had the pork fillet and both meals just melted in our mouths. Prices were really good I thought, 2 mains, drinks and entrees for around 56 euro.
Go, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

very tasty food and a great service team.
the music and paintings of torerors as well as the pictures with hemmingway and orson wells and other stars created a very charming and cosy atmosphere.
we had tomato soup, goat cheese salad, garlic bread, lasagne and (I had) 'el rabo del toro' (bull's tail). all was very good, though the goat salad didn't come with any lettuce and hence had a pretty heavy taste, so would only recommend for those who really love goat cheese.
the rabo del toro is a speciality in Ronda, so I wanted to try it..not for everyone I have to say (very soft meat)...but when you visit one of the oldest torero/bull fighting places in Spain it's really hard to resist...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstNameSurname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service. Terrific atmosphere. Vegetarian-friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great service. Terrific atmosphere. Vegetarian-friendly. The owner, Carlos, made us feel like welcome family. He helped guide us through the English-Spanish translation. My wife and I had a terrific dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

A restaurant to recommend for the good food and the excellent service

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobVn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerta Grande Ronda also viewed

 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Puerta Grande Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing