We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
316
299
246
115
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
316
299
246
115
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea wintergarden restaurant history tour valley view room art deco blue mountains heritage room pork belly iconic hotel cats alley special occasion winter garden boiler house course dinner fine dining buffet breakfast our wedding anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

It is with sadness that I give my review of the High Tea experience at The Hydro Majestic Medlow Bath. Renovations and Service high quality but some of the High Tea food was poor Scones ? home baked or from a Factory, small Sandwiches excellent, Petie Four's Caramel Slice yum, Meringue stuck to Serviette on plate the other Cake things just awful wrap with Alfalfa awful and not fitting for an expensive High Tea. Menu review needed here My Plate was chipped, Sugar bowl dirty marks. Coffee great, keep the Coffee person, Have a look what Aussie's like in the way of small cake. Menu at local café looks, tastes better and more appropriate

Room tip: Newly renovated so should be in top condition
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We have been driving pass this hotel for many times. Last month finally we went there for our anniversary.
On arrival there was a personalised welcome note and gift there in our room. We are really appreciated!
I had historical tour with tour guide Jim. Although I was the only one on the tour he was still enthusiastic and explained all the details. If more people had gone on this tour, they would appreciate more about this hotel, also know where the deco style come from of each area. The rooms here are smaller than similar standard hotel as it’s a heritage old building but has to equip modern fercility ensuite, which was part of the original room. I learned this through the tour, and also admired original beautiful hand drew plans framed hanging on the wall. If the hotel put this info to the introduction, people might not complain so much about the room size.
We also had dinner there. The food was beautiful and service was good.
There are certain things they can improve. They should have proper reception area instead of being with bar together.
This is a historic hotel, we came here to admire the building and enjoy its rich history! We had fantastic experience!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ruthdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The rooms are quite small and very ordinary - to be honest, quite overpriced for what it is.

Some of the decor in the hotel is quite nice but anyone can come visit and go for a walk around to have a look - you don't need to spend a night here since you're not missing out on anything.

Do yourself a favour and stay in a cheap motel somewhere close by, the experience would be the same!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank paulhQ4371VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

For all the publicity about the renovations, and the astronomical cost, they were appalling and well disappointing. There is a beautiful landscape outside with fantastic views and essentially very little outside seating and no access. The rooms were small and like a fish tank – everything designed to keep you away. Instead of having appropriate open porches to appreciate the view you felt like you were in a small bathroom. Nothing was designed with the natural world outside in mind – horrifically isolated and detached renovations. There was nothing to do there at all other than hang around the dark bar areas – no outdoor decks other than a small balcony at one point. Absolutely unbelievable. The renovations were largely tacky oriental flavour in nature, much like the type I see in mainland non-western Chinese hotels where there is no nature to commune with. The choice of black everywhere made the place feel like a dark pub or casino – no prizes for guessing this was not designed for local but for Chinese tourists. For most of the time there all the serving staff we came across were of Asian origin, most not born locally either judging by the accents. At first we thought it was operational cost saving but on the last day we had some other nationalities and the cleaners were surprisingly caucasian. What a bizarre situation! But even the Chinese weren’t buying it so the class of tourist was generally either trying it out (as we were) or just lacking class altogether. In one of the general bars we had some appalling cocktails that were like sugar syrup and the corn dish were like fried corn chips from a cheap milk bar – it was like being in an rsl. There are much better places in the blue mountains to stay for much less so it was extremely disappointing. The restaurant was not bad but again well overpriced and poor use of the views is made. The best experience I had was when I jumped the fence that said no access to walk around outside and came across a kangaroo grazing not far from the balcony – clearly no human ever wandered there for some time so it was quite calm and watched m approach. Overall the place is a real disappointment and a disgrace not reflective of the natural environment and could have been in central Beijing than in the blue mountains that’s how disconnected it was with no sense of Australian identity anywhere.

Room tip: If you're nuts and want to stay here, then go top floor just to avoid the creaking floo0rbaords and showers you hear below.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 366travis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had wanted to stay at this iconic hotel for sometime (ever since it had been refurbished and reopened) and so we decided to spend the Easter weekend there. Whilst the hotel has undergone extensive renovation and the Wintergarden restaurant is simply stunning, the rest of the hotel was underwhelming. At this level and for this price point, we expected more. Here are a few things we found:
1. if you book a room with a valley view, be sure to check the fine print and ask for a view that is not overlooking or obstructed by a big dirty iron roof. We asked to be moved when this was the case at check in, and the staff were able to accommodate us. The room itself was nothing amazing, the pics online do them far more justice than reality
2. due to there being no lifts in the hotel, there is no room service. we didn't realise this, so ideas of Easter Sunday breakfast in bed went quickly out the window
3. the wintergreen is stunning for dinner and high tea, although the high tea (eastern option) was very disappointing. we did have dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night o of our stay and the food and service were excellent. however the Wintergarden does not serve breakfast, breakfast is taken in the reception/lobby area of the hotel which was a little odd. at $35 per head it was also just ok.
4. what was missing overall is any sense of experience at the hotel. its big and brash and with the oriental theme flowing through just doesn't quite seem to know what it is, how it should run and who it should serve. The gardens were mediocre, there is no reserved parking just for guests and all of the hotel is accessible by anyone. As such, you don't feel like you are part of something unique or special.

We think that overall, for such an icon, it is left wanting and we probably would not return to stay there again. The staff and service however, were excellent.

Room tip: rooms 200 and above to get the better view, no room service at all
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BradDeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews