We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The resort is picturesque.Though it is small compared to goa and coorg it is well planned.The backwaters and sea combination we havenot seen anywhere.The houseboat ride for 2 hours in the back waters with the entertaining boatman venu will be evergreen in our memories.Kayaking in the backwaters is enjoyable.The food with some kerala dishes is very tasty. The salad presentation is very good.Everyone in the resort from the security to the manager all are very courteous and helpful.The swimmingpool is clean.Though we went in rainy season nature helped us to enjoy the resort.Rain played hide and seek and didnot play hindrance to our prog.Kerala you have to enjoy with rains-not heavy rains.

We went from bangalore by train.The resort is just 25 kms from aluva station.You can get taxi in the station itself.The resort pathway should be improved.We feel club mahindras food price is a bit more.For that price they should have some live counters.

We had a nice walk in the beach in the morning and evening.The beach is just across the road. We have to mention nithin from reception, boatman venu,chef aji and activities manager Kiran.they were very helpful and courteous.Overall we felt refreshed after the holiday

Room Tip: Rooms beside backwaters are good. the upstairs hotelunit is also good with the scenic view of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ushadhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi Usha,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff especially Mr, Nithin, Mr. AJi, Mr. Venu and Mr. Kiran will be extremely delighted with your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 449 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

I spent 3 nights at this wonderful resort located at Cherai beach. The biggest advantage of this resort is its proximity to the airport, most of the other Club Mahindra properties require fair bit of travelling from the nearest airports. That makes this a great weekend resort.

The resort is well maintained, though smaller compared to other Club Mahindra Resorts.
We stayed in a studio room and had a great view of the sea. The other rooms have backwaters view. The night view of the resort as one approaches it from the airport end is stunning.

The food was ok. The main restaurant has basic ambience and the buffet spread is limited. We skipped that and chose to eat at their new Malabar restaurant which specialized in sea food. The food was better here though service time on first day was atrocious, however on complaining they were prompt and more careful on the other days. Food is a bit pricey but thats true for all Club Mahindra properties. Also they dont have a liquor permit yet so no drinks, that was a let down.

You dont have much to do at this resort besides some kayaking and boat ride. But since we planned to just relax it was ok.

An important advice - dont take the in-house car hire service as they are expensive and add a whopping 25% tax on the bill. Its better to book directly from outside. However the drop and the pickup from the airport is without this tax. Wonder why?

The gym here is really tiny with no instructors, so that can be improved. I must mention that the staff was really courteous. The chef spoke with everybody and took their feedback. The resort manager was also taking feedback from the guest. And Jenson from the restaurant team took super care of us. So service overall was great.

All in all a nice weekend destination. Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view, some have backwaters view and some no view! Its difficult to know in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank histeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Cherai. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It was my first resort experience with club mahindra. Had a warm welcome from courteous staff, check in was easy, room was well prepared neat spacious, but a bit disappointed as I could not get a room with the scenic view of backwaters. Resort was well maintained nice pool to relax. Activity center was buzzing, beach is at a walk away distance, but it was the dirtiest beach!!!!!!!!. Food in restaurant was good, needs improvement.Overall an excellent resort for holidaying and relaxing

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalyan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were there for 4 nights. The best part? A room with a view (of the backwaters) with a personal pool/jacuzzi !!! Make sure that you find out the way to turn on the jacuzzi otherwise you will have the pool and unable to use it.

Unfortunately - it ends there. There is nothing else to do in the resort especially in the monsoons. However, for us this was exactly what we wanted to do or rather not do . DO NOTHING. Just eat, sleep and relax.

Eating - this is the place that Club Mahindra needs to improve and improve drastically. Food is the anchor of most CM resorts but is the weak point here. There is just one restaurant which has the standard CM packages - but the quality sucks big time. Food on buffet is lukewarm and even items like Soups/Dal/Hot beverages are not piping hot.

There are no other options for a guest. The nearest restaurant is at least 500 m away. I gave a pageful of feedback when I checked out and I hope they are being taken in the right spirit. The Staff (Shenoy/Nitin/Joby etc) seem willing to help but looks like their hands are tied in terms of corporate driven rules/mandates.

I was not spared during the billing as well. Incorrect details entered in the system had to be pointed out. I would assume brand name resorts/hotels should not have this problem - else what is the difference between them and a boarding lodge??

Other points to note:
No liquor is served/available inside the resort.
Latest Flat screen TVs are installed which play flash drives so get your collection of digital movies to watch in the night!
Get your books to read, there is not a good collection available
No grocery store in resort.
Good cell phone and wi-fi connectivity.

Room Tip: Choose backwater view over the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xylorider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation, however, having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My family was happy that we opted for this resort for our holiday as it was surrendered by water on both sides. We went there on the beginning of the monsoon. Hence the climate was very good with few downpours. The climate was entirely cool. The Resort was very neat and tidy and the staff service was very good. Even though the food was average the way the restaurant staff attended us made us enjoy the food. The pool was small but neat and sufficient enough for kids.

Room Tip: Choose room facing backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakshmanan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Lakshmanan,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
2.4 km away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
477 reviews
0.5 km away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
453 reviews
1.1 km away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
#4 of 8 in Cherai Beach
126 reviews
20.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,099 reviews
16.1 km away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#2 of 10 in Vypin Island
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Cherai Beach

Address: MLA Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Indriya Beach Resorts and Spa)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range: $115 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Cherai Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indriya Beach Resort and Spa consists of secluded luxury cottages, sumptuously appointed executive suites, banquet areas and a state of the art spa set on an elegant landscape dotted with palms and tropical plants. Nestled between the Cherai beach and lagoon, serenity is the order of the day. Lulled by the hush of the lagoon, the calls of tropical birds, canoes sending soft ripples through the water, the muttered voices of fishermen and in the background the muted growl of the sea, the hiss of waves descending on the beach - you are in the realm of forces primal and sensual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing