We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mi Familias Pizzeria
Ranked #12 of 115 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just returned from a week in Rincon.

Towards the end of the week, we wanted to eat more budget friendly than we had been during our two week vacation. Also, we wanted something a little more familiar than the bland Puerto Rican and Caribbean themed food we'd been eating.

We found this place through TripAdvisor. Although, literally finding the place was a bit of a challege.

For starters, addresses here are the PR road number followed by the Km marker point of the destination on the said road. It's not a set building number on xxx Street. We couldn't figure out how to type the address in so that the GPS could find it? When searching for nearby restaurants, the place wouldn't show up, either.

We reverted to a tourist's attraction map and Google maps that went off and on as we lost cell reception driving on the windy roads. The first time we tried to find it, we drove right past it. Twice! The second time, we missed it again, even though at one point we were pulled over right in front of it and still didn't know we were there! think we were expecting an obvious restaurant visible from the road?

Finally, a local yelled off a balcony and asked us if we were trying to find something? We told him we were looking for Mi Familias.

We were in the right place. It was part of the Inn, but kind of hidden and tucked in out back halfway down a steep and unlit driveway. No sign indicating anything there. But sure enough, there it was. (There is a very small sign we missed and an arrow leading the way by the front of the Inn, but you don't notice it driving past. Just pull in when you see the Lazy Parrot Inn? You're there.

As you entered, there's a small poolside bar and a few tables for dine-in around the Inn's small pool.

A DJ was playing 1980's New Wave music and the atmosphere was casual and relaxed. Seemed most of the customers were ex-Pats from the mainland U.S.A?

Bar tender was friendly and took our order for two of their specialty pizzas. A large was $17 for a huge 16" pie. $9 for a small 10". ($1 off all pizzas on Thursday nights) Thin crust style like you'd find in Europe. Very good. We also ordered a large order of fries for $6 and got a whopping plate that must have weighed 3 lbs? We couldn't finish it between us.

There's also a decent selection of local and imported bottled beers. As well as a full bar.

We left stuffed, for only $35 including the tip. We came back again the next night as well!

I would highly recommend for casual pizza, beer, and bar food!

2  Thank Adam81980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRAEVT, Owner at Mi Familias Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Adam - Thanks for the great review! The addressing is very tough here as you may have seen and we do have our business listed on Google Maps as of the last month so that should make it much easier for us to find! We are thrilled you found us and that you really enjoyed your Pizzas. We have a very diverse following of both locals and tourists throughout the year which we are very proud of! Thank you for such a comprehensive review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Rincon!

Mi Familias Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We went here for an earlier dinner. It's very relaxing sitting around the pool. Our kids (10 and under) swam while we waited for our food.

Beer and cocktails are great.

Pizzas are very good. The burger, calamari and fries and average I would say and too big portions.

I would go again to relax and for the pool, drinks and pizzas.

1  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRAEVT, Owner at Mi Familias Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Emma - Thanks for the honest feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Mi Familias! We do receive feedback at times on the portions being larger than expected for the Fries and Calamari -- We are looking into this however as you can imagine we do have a lot of families come in and they usually appreciate a bit extra! We hope to see you again on your return to Rincon!!

Mi Familias Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4 took a surf lesson in the morning and our instructor recommended this place for lunch. It is a pool-side restaurant and bar at a small hotel. You are invited to use the pool while you're there for lunch which our kids enjoyed. Our waitress was very nice, polite, and conversational. We got the Tres Carnes and Emmy's White and both were delicious! They also had the best beers on tap we could find of any restaurant we went to the whole week of our vacation. Highly recommend!

1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRAEVT, Owner at Mi Familias Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Mary C - Thanks so much for the very nice review! We are glad the recommendation from your instructor paid off! We do strive for friendly and fast service so are thrilled for the feedback n your server! The beer feedback is particularly nice to hear as we try to mix it up and have something new as often as we can. We hope to see you again on your return to Rincon!

Mi Familias Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We dined at Mi Familias twice during our vacation. Both times were great!

We love how it is tucked inside the Lazy Parrot, by the pool overlooking the hills. We came with friends both times so we had a large party of 8. The staff was gracious and helpful. I am sorry, I forgot the name of our server the first night, but last night it was Patricia. Both were excellent. Attentive, helpful with suggestions and just generally nice.
They have a nice selection of beers and wines along with the normal cocktails. We ordered Caesar salad and it could have used more romaine hearts instead of the green leafs but it was fine. Last night we tried the pesto pizza and added prosciutto at Patricia's suggestion...fantastic! We also ordered a mushroom pizza...excellent! We finished it off with the desert pizza, made with Nutella and bananas...it was surprisingly good.
If you like a good, thin crust pizza, you should checkout Mi Familias Pizzeria.

Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We ate here twice in a week. The pizza is out of the world good! Lots of variety. We chose to order a bunch of small pizzas and eat them family style. We were disappointed with the calamari the first time, so didn't order again. This restaurant also offers local beers which are really, really good!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irishgal125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Familias Pizzeria also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Mi Familias Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing