We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, and the ugly...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Horned Dorset Primavera
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

THE GOOD: the hotel is charming, spacious, pretty clean and has beautiful views. The restaurant serves a wonderful guava soufflé and a good carrot soup. The service is good and the staff is mostly nice. THE BAD: the gardens are completely neglected and although they were working on the lawn, it needs improvement. I had the worst hamburger I have ever eaten in my life. The bread was stale and too small for the pattie, I asked for medium-well, and it was dry and more than well done. The gnocchi was bland, completely tasteless. The entree portions are ridiculously microscopic even for an upscale restaurant. The roasted chicken was quail-size with less than a tablespoon of pure (mashed potatoes)!! THE UGLY: particularly at night, the strong sewage stench is unbearable! The dogs roaming around the property, altough well-behaved, are not a pleasant sight either.
I had a wonderful time, but the property needs some TLC and PLEASE take care of the sewage problem. I really wish them success so it can go back to its former glory. I would go back again and give it another shot.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sheilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your expierence on your recent stay with us. We are located on the beautiful West Coast of Puerto Rico and your term, "the good, bad and ugly" is taken from a Wild West movie not quite becoming to our tropical paradise.

I do appreciate your comments and have shared them with our staff as we are getting ready for the high season.

This summer we had special offers for local residences and we got wonderful feed back but it seems we did not live up to your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you decide to visit us again.

Sincerley,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at the villas for 3 week days and it was outstanding. The facilities are impressive and top maintained, people are very nice and service is excellent. It was a surprise birthday celebration stay which was very relaxing and comfortable. This is one of the most beautiful places, well decorated villas in PR for sure. I believe not many people know it, therefore very private place. It is not a typical hotel with TV, etc., it is for relaxing and romantic moments. The pool in your own backyard terrace, the view and landscape are a plus. I certainly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Pancho628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your expierence of your recent stay with us and it was great having you here and we are looking forward seeing you back again.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The beauty of this place is awesome. Its rooms, surroundings, food, service, people, made ​​our stay an unforgettable experience. We definitely want to return soon. We recommend this place as one for the most relaxing vacation you can have.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated and will share it with all our staff.

We are looking forward seeing you back again.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My boyfriend (now husband) at the time invited me to spend the weekend at this lovely hotel. We arrived late Friday Night. Saturday morning we ordered room service for breakfast which was great and sat down at the balcony for a nice romantic breakfast right in front of the ocean. Right after breakfast an airplane passed right in front of our villa with a Banner asking if I would marry him!!!!! Everything had been planned weeks before and I had no clue. My husband and the hotel's administration worked together to make this the perfect proposal and afterwards the best honeymoon. They were even at the next door villa taking pictures for us.

We have been around but never been in a Hotel that has all the good things in the same place. The food was great, service was excellent and the accommodations and ambiance of the hotel make you feel royal. You do not need to leave your room for anything so is perfect for honeymooners or romantic escapades with that perfect someone.

After our great weekend I wanted to surprise my husband with something special from our engagement weekend and since he fell in love with the bathrobes included in each room I asked Wilhelm (hotel administrator) to buy him one. Wilhelm sent a private chofeur from Rincon to San Juan to give me not one but two bathrobes as a wedding gift from the hotel. We now remember each day our special weekend at the Horned Dorset. We will definitely be coming back each year for our anniversary thanks to the great staff and accommodations provided we have a special place away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceniamercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your special weekend expierence at the hotel and all our best wishes and congratulations for your "new life" and we are looking forward seeing you back again.

We will never forget the plane flying along the shoreline in front of the hotel with the banner " .... Casa conmigo"

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

This definitely has been one of the best, if not the best resort we have stated in. Friendly & speedy check in. Now the room, wow! No need to even point out how clean it was. Marble floors, great furniture, awesome bed! The private plunge pool was a great feature!

Only issue we had was the door that was not locking properly. In less than 10 minutes it was resolved.

They have two pools but the infinity edge pool had a million dollar view! Definitely recommended & can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Horned Dorset Primavera and I will pass on your comments to all the staff.

We are looking forward seeing you back again and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance for any future vist.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
4.1 km away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
3.9 km away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
805 reviews
5.2 km away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
432 reviews
32.8 km away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
35.8 km away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horned Dorset Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horned Dorset Primavera

Address: Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677-1132, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range: $594 - $1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horned Dorset Primavera 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horned Dorset Primavera is a small luxury hotel located in northwestern Puerto Rico, two miles from the town of Rincon. It is set among rolling hills at the edge of the beautiful Caribbean Sea and is known for reserved European service executed in an atmosphere unique in Puerto Rico and the award-winning Restaurant Romantic escape with each suite having its own private plunge pool peaceful and quite , a world apart from the crowds and beautiful . The suites ( one of few all suites hotels in the Caribbean) are all decorated in Moroccan style. two bathrooms,bedroom , living room and terrace , ocean view/front or or garden view. Most European Service of any hotel here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horned Dorset Primavera Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing