We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Little Bit of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This has been our tenth straight year staying at Lemontree. A major factor that keeps us coming back is that we love the “feel” of the sea. It is only ten feet away and we can hear it, see it and sense the breeze from it every minute of every day. As Lemontree faces south, we love the sunrise and the sunset and the glimmer of the sea while watching the pelicans diving for fish. Our windows are always open. A unique feature that makes Lemontree work is ‘The Wall’. {An explanation: Years ago Puerto Rico was a sugar island. In order to export the sugar the farmers built a train track which circumnavigated the island so the sugar could be rolled down from the hills and on to the trains which took it to port. There were places where the hills came so close to the sea that there was a need to build a platform for the tracks. The platform was a ten foot high, thirty foot deep ‘wall’. Lemontree sits on such a wall, hence its close proximity to the sea which, when it is high, rolls to the wall creating a unique experience for lucky us.} For sure our space is great and the features and amenities are as well. We enjoy using the outdoor grill. Bella Jane has the management end down cold. These folks know what they are doing and how to help everyone feel welcome. We are happy to help spread the word.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 128dave698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    44
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
110
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Comfortable and well-equipped, this inn is in serious need of an artistic hand. Dark wood ceilings and cabinets and brown upholstery result a gloomy environment, and the 1950s lighting fixtures do nothing to dispel the gloom. The view of the water from each room's deck is pleasant, but there is basically no beach; at high tide, the water covers the sand. The buildings (there are 2, each containing several units) are ~5' from a narrow but very busy and noisy road. The inn itself is not within walking distance of anything else, unlike inns at the northern end of Rincon, in the Sandy Beach area. However, beautification of the rooms would go a long way toward mitigating the drawbacks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdwgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LemonTree, Owner at LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
This review reminds us of the adage, “…you can’t please all of the people all of the time...” Hand hewed cabinetry and vaulted, gleaming wooden ceilings say, “tropical” to some and yet “gloomy” to others. Art glass lighting fixtures, remind some of the 1950’s and yet others see them as contributing to a fun island vibe. Upholstery in golds and rusts and muted rainbow curtains is tropical to some and simply brown to others. Being directly on the ocean and waking to the sound of the waves brings a smile glee to the faces of some and yet to others this is merely ‘pleasant.’

The beaches in Rincon are “natural” beaches. When you live by the sea you come to accept the beach that nature presents to you each day. To this reviewer, our Puerto Rican natural beach did not meet expectations in terms of quantity of sand or lack of coconuts and driftwood and yet, to others this stretch of coastline is a gift to be enjoyed and savored. Walking along the water’s edge and collecting sea glass, shells and watching the pelicans dive for fish can be a lifetime memory in the making. Despite the perceived lack of sand, some or all of this party of guests were down on the beach everyday they were here at the Lemontree.

These guests were here during the Christmas, New Years and Three Kings holiday time. During that period, local politicians (2012 is an election year) and families, sponsor holiday parades. We had no less than six holiday parades and several family parandas (musical parades with traditional Puerto Rican Christmas music, sort of like caroling). These highs spirited events do create “noise” and yet if one looks at them as a celebration of cultural and religious beliefs, they are joyful and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Your satisfaction here will depend on a few things: If you're ok with being 15 minutes from the action in Rincon you're fine. If you're ok with a noisy neighbor up early yelling next to her husband two feet away you're fine. If you're ok that Puerto Ricans love to blast their music for the world to hear and the cottages are right next to the road your fine.. It only gets better from there... the cottage we had was awesome... spacious with a huge terrace sprawling over the ocean with the soothing sound of waves rolling onto the beach. It's also not pricey and Bella Jane is extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WiseTraveler1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LemonTree, Owner at LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Rincon has eight miles of beautiful beaches, each section with its own charm and distinction. We are located along a peaceful and quiet stretch of beach in southern Rincon. It is true that the heavy bar and nightlife scene is about 10-15 minutes from us, although we have some very good restaurants with excellent bartenders in “our neighborhood.” As Rincon is a small town, nothing is really very far away.

These guests were here during the Christmas, New Years and Three Kings holiday time. During that time, local politicians (2012 is an election year and we take our politics seriously here on the island) and families, sponsor holiday parades. We had at least six Santa Claus and Three Kings parades and several family parandas (musical parades playing traditional Puerto Rican Christmas music, sort of like caroling). These joyous festivities created “noise” and traffic during the late afternoon and early evening hours.

We are delighted Wisetraveler1974 thought the cottage was “awesome” and enjoyed the huge sprawling terrace. This is one of the fabulous features of all the Lemontree suites. Guests are able to really enjoy the indoor-outdoor lifestyle of Puerto Rico. Lemontree is an affordable opportunity to live by the sea with the knowledge that we are here for advice and daily housekeeping. We encourage all of our guests to take advantage of the reviews on Trip Advisor because we have found that guests that are familiar with Trip Advisor and read the reviews tend to be guests who appreciate what the Lemontree has to offer. A good match of guests’ expectations with what our property has to offer means satisfied guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This guesthouse was awesome! It was the perfect getaway. We spent 3 nights here while we did some surfing along the northwest coast of Puerto Rico. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen100111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluff City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

What a wonderful experience!! If you are looking for a place to relax and experience tropical life then I would recommend Lemon Tree. Everything is beautiful and well maintained and you can enjoy your own little paradise! My husband and I enjoyed waking up everymorning looking out at the ocean from our ocean front bedroom and then spending the day on the beautiful porch!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtaylor911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
5.6 km away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
8.0 km away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
4.8 km away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
32.1 km away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
35.6 km away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages

Property: LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages
Address: Carr 429 Km 4 1 | PO Box 200, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Price range (per night): $187 - $341
Hotel Class:3 star — LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and directly on the beach, our eight oceanfront suites build vacation memories that stay with you for a lifetime. You will live by the sea, in tune with the natural rhythm of the sea and sky without time and pressure. Our beach is tranquil and our lifestyle is relaxed. This place is that "low door in the wall" which opens a space for grownups looking to reawaken their spirits. The beach here at the LemonTree is calm, swimmable and walkable. Private terraces and kitchens make the suites economical and fun. Each suite has its own charm and amenities so be sure to check out each one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemontree Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Rincon
Lemontree Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Lemontree Waterfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing