We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our perfect holiday getaway”

Review of Casa Barbara

The village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The village
View of our street Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The village
View of our street
Entrance
Roof terrace
Village outskirts
Lots to read!
Another view of the lounge
Kitchen
Double bedroom
View of the two connecting bedrooms
Local walk in spring
Typical villager
Local artists
local mineral water spring
Walk to the spring
Village from a local path
Threshing ground in autumn
Village in moody weather
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Taha, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RuthSteph...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our perfect holiday getaway”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second visit to Barbara's house in the Alpujarra region of Andalucia, and once again we were transported into a totally unique and gloriously relaxing experience. This traditional Arabic house set in the tiny "pueblos blancos" of Ferreirola could not be more inviting; with its pretty balcony surrounded by honeysuckle and vines, a breathtaking view of the nearby mountains, well equipped kitchen and roof top terrace (watch out for the low beam as you come down the steps), there is nothing that I don't like. The peace and tranquility have given me some of the best nights' sleep I've ever had, there are plenty of opportunities to walk locally, or if you have hired a car, explore the other villages a little further afield. Ferreirola is a simple place with no bars, shops or restaurants, but a short walk down to Mecina provides a very friendly and colourful local bar that serves unpretentious and reasonably priced food. Each time we visit I find it increasingly hard leaving this idyllic place, we'll definitely be going back for more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
steve-mea...
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Does it get any better than this?”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We are serious walkers and Ferriorola is hiking paradise, a slice of heaven dropped into southern Spain. We stayed for three weeks and found plenty of walks with lots of variety. You are within striking distance of both the high Sierra and delightful village paths. Without doubt you need a car are shops are a couple of kilometers away. The accomodation is traditional, low ceilings, small windows and a bit basic - but is spacious and has a smashing roof terrace from which to watch the sunset. This isn't a luxury appartment but we found it comfortable and practical. An added bonus was a well informed but unobtrusive landlady who helped us arrange overnight stays at the nearby high altitude mountain refuge. We had a cracking holiday and if you have a love of nature and enjoy walking I would recommend you book some time at Casa Barbara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geowitch
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely authentic house in a wonderful village”
Reviewed 4 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

We have stayed in Casa Barbara for the last three years for a week in October and will definitely be returning in 2012.We love the peace and tranquillity, the beautiful mountain scenery and the opportunity to stay in an authentic Alpujarran house. The mountain walking is wonderful and there is a comprehensive network of GR trails and mule paths which take you around the valley and beyond. We love collecting our drinking water from the village fuente and walking up to Pitres to buy our groceries. There is are bars within walking distance all with free wifi so it is easy to stay in touch. Barbara is a great landlady, perfectly unobtrusive but amazingly helpful. We cannot wait for our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views from the balcony
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing