We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backroads trip”
Review of Merecumbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merecumbe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buritaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

The Merecumbe hotel was extremely accommodating, the food was amazing, the kitchen was open at all times of the day for drinks. The staff was friendly and enjoyable to be around. Even when my mom wanted a spider removed from the room it happened.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

As many others have cited, the setting is lush and beautiful and peaceful. Water is unswimmable, which was a bummer but not deal breaker. Chairs could definitely use cushions.
The food was good. Our room was lovely. Loved the outdoor shower, etc.
My main "beef" was with the service in general and difficulty in ordering meals. Don't really get the whole order way in advance when there are only a handful of people staying at hotel. It was the most stressful part of our stay. Granted, my Spanish sucks, but the servers didn't even try to communicate with me and would run away to get someone each time. Our orders never came out right, either, after all that forced preplanning and writing it down. Best of all, the night of my birthday I ordered a piece of chocolate cake for dessert, and not 1 minute after the adorable server brought me my dessert, she returned with 2 MORE pieces of cake, one with a candle in one. It was a real headscratcher and complete waste of food. It felt like a really disorganized hotel and I felt like they had impatience for people not fluent in Spanish. But I will say that I would definitely recommend to my less high maintenance friends who can go with the flow. And strongly encourage bug repellent.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pinkwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

The facilities are simple yet luxurious. This is the place to enjoy the perfect getaway. You can connect with nature and yourself, and allow to your body and mind to relax.
It is a quite place in the middle of nature. The food was great, all natural,healthy and perfectly prepared.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I stayed here recently while hiking in nearby Tayrona National Park. The cabanas are nicer than the photos and the food was good. The setting is peaceful and the staff is friendly.

Cons: they need coffee service early in the a.m. At 7 am we had to go into the kitchen and ask for coffee. The food was good but we they need to work on coordination, often one person would get their food and the others had to wait
quite a while.

The beach is beautiful to look at but don't expect to swim, the waves and undercurrent are dangerous. The beach is partially black sand and worst of all, the chairs at the beach are really uncomfortable! Whoever designed this hotel was interested in design and chose the beach furniture for reasons other than comfort.

Staff was friendly , especially Alfredo but the woman manager, name starts with a V I think, was dour and never smiled.

The dining/lounge area is very inviting and a lovely place to relax in, lots of reading material, a large map of the area and an area to socialize adjacent to the dining tables.

Had a massage from Daniel and I'm sorry to say this but it was bad. He worked way too fast, almost a frantic pace AND took a phone call on his cell during the massage!

This is a nice property to go to for a relaxing stay and to visit the nearby national park.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank littlegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The Merecumbe Hotel is pretty freaking awesome!

Traveling from NYC, this was just what we needed, pure relaxation, gorgeous setting, beautiful rooms, spectacular food!

This spot is really worth it, it can be a bit tricky to get to so avoid arriving at night cause its hard to find. Once you are there, you don't need anything else (maybe bug spray).

We stayed 3 nights, all meals are included, lunch and dinner are excellent. Elaborate meals and large portions. You will absolutely not go hungry! We spent 3 days taking long walks on the beach, kayaking, eating and drinking mojitos.

The outdoor bathroom is really nice, but a bit of a pain because of the bugs. The hotel should have those plug-ins or candles that repel mosquitos so you can brush your teeth at night without having to be jumping up and down so they don't get you.

We were there for new years eve and were actually quite disappointed that the hotel didn't organize anything at all - like most hotels in Colombia do for these festivities (band, music, alcohol). They actually shut down completely - there wasn't even the option to buy beer or wine past 8 or 9pm. So that was a huge disappointment for all the guests who were left on NYE without music or drinks standing around. So beware for the holidays this is not the best spot.

The other thing was that we killed two baby looking tarantulas in our room, on two separate nights. This place is really nice, but it's in the wild, which is awesome but you might have some unwelcome friends.


Overall if you want a place to relax this place is wonderful. Coming from NYC this was exactly what we needed. Plus the Buritaca area is just stunning!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PearlsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buritaca
11.2 km away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
25.1 km away
Aite Eco Hotel
Aite Eco Hotel
#1 of 4 in Palomino
324 reviews
0.4 km away
Playa Koralia
Playa Koralia
#2 of 2 in Buritaca
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
29 reviews
7.2 km away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#1 of 1 in Guachaca
130 reviews
25.4 km away
Hotel Hukumeizi
Hotel Hukumeizi
#4 of 4 in Palomino
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merecumbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merecumbe Hotel

Address: I-90 | Km 48, via Santa Marta - Riohacha, Buritaca 470009, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Buritaca
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buritaca
Price Range: $104 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merecumbe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who want quiet vacations in the beach ::: Merecumbe is a magical and green place to "unplug" yourself from daily life.Located in the lonely beaches of the Sierra Nevada in Santa Marta, there's an amazing landscape and lots of places to visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your Merecumbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing