We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home in a tropical paradise”
Review of Merecumbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merecumbe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buritaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I got married at Merecumbe early September 2011 and I couldn't be happier with the hotel's preparation, organization, and execution of the event. We had about 50 guests and had the hotel to ourselves for the weekend. We were looking for beautiful beaches, zero tourists, and a more personalized touch than your standard brand name hotel where your just another guest. After looking at several options ranging from renting a private cabin, to Decameron, Santorini, Koralia etc) we chose Merecumbe and couldn't have been happier.

Merecumbe is a family owned business, where each member's love is poured into their area of expertise.

- Edgar, the father, is the architect that designed the beautiful cabins that simultaneously fit into the natural environment and have just the right touch of simple luxury. Edgar designed special pieces for the wedding, including unique center pieces for the dinner tables and some nifty torches for the aisle.

- Cami, the daughter, is the Chef that prepares the hotel's delicious meals - including fabulous vegetarian options!

- Andrea, the mother, is the administrator that made sure all the pieces came together perfectly.

We couldn't have been happier with the service and by the end of the weekend we all felt like family. They made every effort imaginable to accommodate our needs and surpass our expectations.

The enormous beach is spattered with palm trees and kiosks with hammocks so one can choose amongst a couple settings to relax on while enjoying the sand. The hotel also has a building by the ocean where they offer massages. The sand does get surprisingly hot though, so be sure to bring sandals to walk to the ocean. On a similar note, don't forget insect repellant and don't leave the cabin doors open - Merecumbe is nested into nature and so has hidden netting built into the cabin to keep insects out, but not if you leave the door open!

The highlight of the cabins without a doubt are the open air showers. There's a ~6ft wall for privacy and a roof to keep the rain out, but the otherwise open shower allows one to feel close to nature while having the comforts you'd expect from a hotel.

Merecumbe is a good hour from Santa Marta airport, and just 10 minutes from Tayrona National Park. It is far away from the common tourist path which means that you can relax with gorgeous views of the ocean on one side and mountains on the other without having hordes of tourists or vendors along the beach harassing you. In fact, if there isn't anyone else at the hotel, I doubt you'll see any. The only other people we saw the whole weekend were a couple artesian fisherman with nets.

I highly recommend Merecumbe to anyone who wants to get away from things, likes nature and outdoors but wants the comforts of a hotel. Although I think Merecumbe offers the option for people to bring tents and camp which would be an interesting thing to try out too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Misoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was the 1 of 4 hotels I stayed at during my 2 week trip in Colombia. This is only the 2nd one that I really liked. Merecumbe Hotel is truly a getaway spot. The beautiful eco-cabanas with hardwood decks in front are truly amazing little slices of heaven. They even have these open air, walled showers that allow you to bathe outside yet with privacy. Loved that!! Be forewarned the cabanas are not air conditioned, and even with the ceiling fan can get a little stuffy on a hot day. But honestly it is not too much of a problem, just lounge outside on the deck or head down to the beach front area. Everything usually cooled down at night so no worries about sweaty sleeping.

The area around Merecumbe is pretty amazing as well. Mountains to the back and a long stretch of semi-private beach front. The beach isn't exactly pristine (it can be very rocky on the bottom and there is debris for forest around) and has a very large sandbar. But this is situation doesn't distract from its overall beauty and after the first couple of yards in the water, the ocean opens out nicely.The area around the cabanas are well landscaped with a plethora of local flowers and fauna bursting out everywhere. To call it green and lush wouldn't even do it justice. What I thought was super cool was the hotel had set up these little lounge areas near the beach with tables and chairs. They even have hammocks lined up along the beach so you can gently swing and stare out at the ocean. Again, loved that! And even better, one of the open air huts that houses the hammocks has like a little treehouse deal up top where you can just sit, chill, and enjoy the view. The only thing I would caution people on is that due to its remote location, its hard to get a cell signal in the area. You have to go almost to the edge of the sandbar to get anything and there is no internet at the hotel. So anticipate communication being a bit of a challenge.

As far as the staff, I thought they were warm, friendly, and very charming. I will never forget how the owner (??) saw me off the morning of my departure--despite that departure being in the neighborhood of 6:30am. The food was very tasty (the cazuela (Colombian fish stew) was simply exquisite and by far my favorite.) The only thing I wasn't particularly fond of was having to pay for bottled water, since the water in this area is not exactly drinkable for foreigners. Granted the price wasn't expensive by any stretch, but I definitely would have liked if they bottled or purified water dispensers on the grounds.

Honestly the only thing that would have made this hotel better would have been if I brought my yoga mat. I could totally see myself doing sun salutations on the beach. Some might be annoyed at its remote location, but this is a great place to go if you just need to check out of life for a few days and have some serious downtime--no noise, no annoyances--just utter peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nikki_The_Travelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have traveled the world and stayed at many nice resorts, but Merecumbe has a special charm. Its beautiful, the staff treat you like family, the beach is stunning, the food is fabulous.... Just try it out! and the prices are a steal.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Travelerplus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I've never seen a more beautiful place in my whole life. The view in one direction is a perfect (and absolutely empty) tropical beach. Then you turn around and see lush rain forest covered hills. The biggest problem was deciding where to look.

Also very close to (and a cheap ride from) Tayrona, a natural park in the same landscape with great hiking trails.

The food was also excellent and the service friendly. The place is new and small, and the family that owns it is always around, so there's no industrial feel.

And if you swim at night, there are phosphorescent algae that light up. Crazy.

As with the rest of the region, bring your bug spray and sun block. (and maybe light long pants and shirts)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Absolutely lovely cabanas, friendly staff, beautiful views. The most gorgeous sunset I have ever seen. And the food was delicious!! Every meal was different and all exceptional. After lounging in the beachside hammocks, strolling through the paths that lead to your cabana, and hanging out with the architect who designed it all, you may never want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank silvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buritaca
0.4 km away
Playa Koralia
Playa Koralia
#2 of 2 in Buritaca
312 reviews
11.2 km away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
604 reviews
25.1 km away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
24 reviews
7.2 km away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
123 reviews
10.4 km away
Mendihuaca Caribbean Resort
Mendihuaca Caribbean Resort
#1 of 1 in Mata de Platano
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merecumbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merecumbe Hotel

Address: | Km 48, via Santa Marta - Riohacha, Buritaca 470009, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Buritaca
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buritaca
Price Range: $123 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merecumbe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who want quiet vacations in the beach ::: Merecumbe is a magical and green place to "unplug" yourself from daily life.Located in the lonely beaches of the Sierra Nevada in Santa Marta, there's an amazing landscape and lots of places to visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Merecumbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing