We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alice no wonderland ”

Groombridge Place Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Groombridge Place has lovely walled gardens overlooking a 17th century moated manor house. The Enchanted Forest has something for all ages from Crusoe's World with its tree houses and rope bridge. The boardwalk also in the forest is a popular play area with its zip wire and rope swings. The giant tree swings are popular with young and old alike. Two birds of prey displays daily Tue to Sun and Bank Holiday Monday. Don't miss our famous Zedonk (half Zebra and half Donkey).
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited on Sunday for the Alice in wonderland themed event.
I have to say having paid over £50 for 3 adults and 1 child this event was a complete disappointment.
There are as no indication then we arrived where we should go to for the Alice in wonderland event, we walked and found the canal boat (another £5.50!) and went to the enchanted garden
Once there , still no Alice themed event and we were left to wander and find things ourselves.

All in all not much to see and so we went back to the boat (another £5.50!!)
That was the only time we saw anything related to Alice, as the staff were heading back to the main house for lunch.
We saw more “Alice themed” characters whilst they were having their lunch than we had seen in the previous 1.5hrs.
I appreciate it was raining but there surely should have been a wet weather program.

I felt that the whole event was a rip off and we have a very disappointed child who had hoped to see Alice.

Thank longerhappydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groombridge P, Manager at Groombridge Place Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I am unsure if you visited any of the attraction highlights (other than the Alice event) such as the Tree Top Walkway, Crusoe's World and the Pirate Ship, The Giant Tree Swings, Board Walk, Birds of Prey Displays, The Maze and the walled garden. If you had experienced all Groombridge Place has to offer we hope you would have felt differently about the entry price as everything is included with admission and we feel offers very good value when compared to other similar attractions. We hope you come back in the future to experience everything Groombridge Place has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"peter pan"
in 35 reviews
"children and adults"
in 14 reviews
"an adventure"
in 10 reviews
"bad reviews"
in 10 reviews
"great family day"
in 15 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 11 reviews
"lovely place"
in 18 reviews
"assault course"
in 17 reviews
"board walk"
in 14 reviews
"canal ride"
in 10 reviews
"the secret garden"
in 10 reviews
"tunbridge wells"
in 16 reviews
"giant"
in 106 reviews
"picnic"
in 123 reviews
"boardwalk"
in 61 reviews
"deer"
in 30 reviews
"arena"
in 14 reviews
Filter

143 - 147 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Groombridge Place today a party of 3 adults and 1 6year old child,what a disappointment.
With it being the easter holidays the Alice in wonderland event was on and if you are thinking of taking your little ones really don’t bother-there was a cast of mediocre actors to say the least who seemed to make up most of there roles as they went along, trying to be funny but not really succeeding apart from the guy that was the mad hatter he had the most talent out of all.
I was fairly disappointed with the lack of food choice as well, the cafe offered burgers,pizza slices, hot dogs, chips and cake. The offer of sandwiches or healthier options would have been much appreciated.
The woodland walk and tree top walkway was fun and enjoyable but to be honest this is all we took away from our day out-seeming to be an expensive walk in the woods.
The birds of prey show was interesting the gentlemen running the demonstration did more talking and over dramatic banter than showing flying of the birds and even abandoned the demonstration when his owl wouldn’t come back from a large tree it had flown into.

All in all a pretty poor day to be honest- a half hearted effort has been put into the space available and a fortune charged for the privilege.

3  Thank Mcewankirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groombridge P, Manager at Groombridge Place Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy all the aspects of your visit. I can assure you we do have many very happy customers visiting us who return again and again. We do however welcome all feedback from our visitors but the best time to do this is while you are visiting the attraction when staff and management will be more than happy to listen and address any issues visitors may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Having visited today the place is hit and miss from the start. Beautiful setting and grounds however the running of the place needs a massive improvement to prevent it gaining a truly bad reputation and struggling to survive.

The map given upon entering and the maps displayed around the site don’t match up. We headed for main new attraction the Treetop walk arriving to find the gates locked. No staff to be seen and at the furthest part of the park. Rang reception to be told someone would be over in 10 minutes, 35 minutes and another phone call later some one finally arrives. No apology or explanation as to why we have had to wait so long or why the attraction wasn’t open when the park opened.

The staff member then says “I have to do the safety checks” and proceeds to run up the attraction (not going too see much checking it that way, doesn’t check the whole thing before allowing visitors on to walkway simply checks the section up to the first tree and waves customers on despite not knowing if the next 300m were safe)

Due to the wait we missed the show we had planned to go and see having planned our trip around the displayed show times (despite them being different on several signs/ leaflets)

The attraction it’s self is brilliant and they are clearly making improvements along the way but they don’t seem to have any systems in place to run the place effectively, loads of staff dressed up as characters but none making sure the place runs smoothly, The staff and management lack a degree of customer service skills including the basics, such apologising when things go wrong or accepting that customers are going to be upset / put off when mistakes are being made which was quite regularly.

The one theme throughout the day was that you heard lots of unhappy people about how the place was being ran whilst wandering around the park.

1  Thank Discover764763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groombridge P, Manager at Groombridge Place Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. As you say we have made huge improvements at the attraction with the installation of the popular tree top walkway, pirate ship and new giant tree swings in the forest. The vast majority of our visitors tell us what a magical day they have had at our attraction so I am sorry that you have experienced something different on your visit. We do encourage visitors with complaints to make these known to staff and management at the time of their visit as they will be more than happy to listen and address any issues at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Such a lovley place. Been here many times. My daughter is now 11 and still loves it. She’s brought her 11 year old friend this time and she also loved it and wants to revisit.
They loved the new treetop walk and really tested them but they got each other through it.
We will defiantly be back soon.

Thank Oldmatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groombridge P, Manager at Groombridge Place Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review and we are very glad the girls enjoyed our new tree top walkway! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great day today with the family.
Face painting was brilliant. Well worth the money.
Peacocks a little on edge today .

Family did the tree walk, but think the path beneath should have been a path or blocked off as not safe to walk especially with the wet ground, was a bit dangerous.

Large swings were brilliant, we didn’t stay for long as it was so cold.

Thank 715DebbiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groombridge P, Manager at Groombridge Place Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a good time. We have noted your comments about the tree top walkway. The path you took under the walkway isn't actually the official path through the forest there is another one which runs parallel to it which is safer in winter. We hope to see you again at Groombridge Place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Groombridge Place Gardens also viewed

Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
Hever, Sevenoaks District
 
Chiddingstone, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Groombridge Place Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing