We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and atmosphere ”
Review of Red Heifer

Red Heifer
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Lawson Park Hotel, Mudgee. Home of the Award Winning famous Red Heifer Bistro. A Classic Aussie Pub, with Charming Country Hospitality and Service… Since the 1860’s
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We ate there on a Thursday evening and it was just as well we booked a table because it was packed. Great family friendly atmosphere. The food was good but disappointed at the size of the Salmon and Risotto meal - the Salmon was lovely but portion size very small given the price and the Risotto could have been better. The Steak was cooked to my liking and was very tasty.

The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Equally the bar staff were wonderful.

Would go back there but would take more care of what we ordered -maybe steaks all round.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Food and staff were great, the Neptune chicken schnitzel and chicken parmigiana were both winners as were the wines by the glass. A much better experience than the Kelly.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 856leoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I eat lunch here occasionally, but tonight was the first time in years that I've had dinner at the Red Heifer.

As one of those annoying gluten-free people, sometimes it's hard to order a meal that won't have all the sauces and seasonings removed to be g-f, rendering it bland and tasteless. Tonight I ordered the slow cooked lamb shoulder with roast vegies, but with no gravy.

It didn't need gravy. The lamb was ridiculously juicy and tender (and a very generous sized serving). The vegies were delicious - I could have happily eaten a plateful of the baby carrots on their own.

And the service was outstanding. Warm, friendly, cheerful staff, even though the place was packed with Easter Sunday crowds.

It was an absolute pleasure to eat at the Red Heifer tonight, and all our party agreed that we will go back there for dinner soon. A big gold star to all the staff (from the chef to the ladies behind the bar to the guy who cleared our table) for making our night out so enjoyable.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zdacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were directed here as being a place for good standard meal by our hosts in Mudgee. It wasn't particularly noisy as some pubs can be, but the food was both of good quality and quantity. Prices were excellent and if you're prepared to eat the daily specials, hard to beat.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 101oztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Had 2 lunches today and yesterday. Saw big portions so decided to share one mean between us. First lunch was steak sandwich with salad and fries. Very good. Plenty or 2 . Well presented. Lots of sauces to try. Proper black pepper. Today we had Horse head pizza. It had cooked spare ribs on it which were delicious. Also a green salad to share. Huge amount of lettuce,cucumber,tomato and some other vegetable. Most enjoyable . Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Each lunch no more that $20.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 18Angieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Heifer also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing