We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'home' away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Farm Cottages
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Mudgee
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Whether it's just for a weekend or a relaxing week away your bound to enjoy Protea Farm Cottages.

Well appointed accommodation set in beautiful manicured cottage gardens and natural bush setting.

Off the beaten track but not far from the center of town and vineyards of Mudgee.
Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Mr_Jason_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

If you would love to get away from.the hussle and bussle of the city Protea Farm Cottages is your place. We arrived later than expected but we let Vanessa and Fiona know.
When we arrived greated by Vanessa she lead us into the Peppertree Cottage with a wonderful Fire burning.
I must say the Cottage is well equipped with everything. And with fresh farm eggs homemade jam freshly ground coffee it is certainly a surprise.
We had a wonderful 3 nights and our youngest and I loved the 5 week old lambs. And made friends with Molly the resident Jack Russell and gorgeous black cat.
The Cottage and farm are beautifully maintained and is a created to both Vanessa and Fiona who are wonderful hosts.
Thank you so much for a Wonderful stay at your Beautiful Protea Farm Cottages. Hopefully we will be back.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Deidre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Many thanks for staying with us, it was great to meet you all, and your review and kind comments mean a lot to us.
Hope to see you all again soon
Protea Farm- Vanessa & Fiona ( and assorted creatures)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

One of the owners was extremely rude to us, very unreasonable and headstrong. She made us pay a ridiculous amount of cash for having one extra person around even though there is plenty of room for more, otherwise she'd kick us all out on the spot. Would not recommend staying here because you never know what she'd come up with next. She was also very rude when we showed up late in accordance to when we said we'd arrive. We got lost so ended up arriving 2.5 hours later. The other owner was very nice, but she wasn't around for anything. When we left, we saw the one lady peeking through the bushes to make sure we were out by 10am on the dot. It's $100 per hour if you leave later, and she refused adamantly that there would be no option for late check out whatsoever. Not a pleasant person at all.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blairrehnquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the fresh baked bread, cake and eggs and the fire burning awaiting your arrival.
The cottage you booked for the weekend has a maximum occupancy of 6 people (3 Queen beds). You agreed to this when you paid and accepted the very clear terms and conditions of the stay. It was also covered in an additional email prior to your stay that the cottage was booked with its maximum number of guests and that we could not accommodate 2 extra people.
When it was discovered you had in fact brought in 2 additional adults, doing your utmost to hide them, you were given the option to pay for these 2 extra guests or terminate your stay. You may have felt that there was plenty of room, but two double air mattress crammed into the living room blocking the fire exits is not acceptable and invalidates our fire and public liability insurance. We would love to take additional guests over busy periods but cannot due to insurance restrictions. If we do overfill our houses we risk losing our livelihood.
I understand your grievance as you were obviously not expecting the owners of the property to be present nor that they would insist you comply with the terms and conditions of your stay.
Late checkouts carry no extra charge if agreed in advance and are dependent on whether another party is booked to arrive on departure day (which was indeed the case).
Had there been honesty from the start there would have been no need to revisit the terms and conditions during the stay.
Fiona & Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Protea Farm cottages. Lovely district views, well equipped and comfortably appointed 3br cottage with friendly hosts. Our boys enjoyed strolling through the bush, the animals and especially the nicely located tennis court.

Downsides for some may be the 10 minute drive into Mudgee (but it is a country getaway location), bedding rather than electric blankets (but a good slow combustion stove and airconditioning) and no dishwasher (but that's just being soft).

Recommended - we'd be happy to head back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for your feed back. We really appreciate it. Hopefully I will have the third longer bush walk finished before your next visit for the boys to explore.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

The setting was beautiful - very peaceful and quiet. The homemade marmalade, butter and warm bread delivered to our door for breakfast was sensational at a charge of $7 a loaf. The cottages were very clean and homely. Fiona and Vanessa were very nice and friendly.
The animals were delightful and we loved sitting on the front veranda watching the little blue wrens hop around the grass and the chickens roam freely around the yard.
We thought our bed was a bit hard, but I guess you can't please everyone. We wished that there were block out curtains/blinds because the light woke us very early in the morning. We were a bit annoyed that the minimum 3 night stay included a Thursday night and none of us could make it on the Thursday, so we paid for a night we couldn't use.
It was close enough town for convenience.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa J, Owner at Protea Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and your feed back, we will address the issues you raised.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
10.6 km away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
10.3 km away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
9.3 km away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Cudgegong Valley Motel
Cudgegong Valley Motel
#7 of 10 in Mudgee
71 reviews
10.4 km away
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
8.6 km away
Colonial Court Villas Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Farm Cottages

Address: 60 Carara Rd | Erudgere, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Mudgee
Price Range: $232 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Farm Cottages Mudgee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing