We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab meal!!!”
Review of The Cheeky Pup

The Cheeky Pup
Ranked #9 of 180 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Cheeky Pup is an Irish owned and operated pub in the heart of the Algarve. Our aim is to offer friendly customer service and great customer experience!
Restaurant details
Description: The Cheeky Pup is an Irish owned and operated pub in the heart of the Algarve. Our aim is to offer friendly customer service and great customer experience!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here twice whilst staying in Quinta do Lago. Best meals we’ve had in the area, and staff were so accommodating to our young children. Would definitely recommend!

Thank Kerry5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniella d, Gerente de relações públicas at The Cheeky Pup, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Kerry!

We are delighted to hear that you and the family joined us with wile your stay in Quinta do Lago!

We are very happy to hear that you and the family enjoyed both food and service!

Definitely look forward having you back in with us!


Many thanks for taking the time to review our venue!

Danielle Mota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for a spot of lunch a few days ago... Although it was quiet its easy to see how it would be easy to spend a few hours here in the summer evenings.. Very comfy seating and my fiancé highly recommends the fish and chips ... Give it a go if you're passing

Thank Juicylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniella d, Gerente de relações públicas at The Cheeky Pup, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello !

Thank you very much for your review!

We are delighted to hear that you and your fiance enjoyed our comfy seating and especially that you both enjoyed and recomende our Fish and Chips!

We definitely look forward welcoming you back in the summer evenings!

Many thanks once again,
Danielle Mota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Visited for dinner with friends and really enjoyed our evening. The décor is great, real gastro pub feel. The menu is varied so something for everyone. I enjoyed a chicken salad which was absolutely delicious. Wine wasn't bad either. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening and I'd definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniella d, Gerente de relações com clientes at The Cheeky Pup, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Ema,


Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue!

We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the evening with us. Specially that you enjoyed the Chicken salad!

We are very proud of our newly refurnished venue, and we are happy to hear that you also!

Many thanks,
Danielle Mota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to The Cheeky Pup - we first visited last year - and we had been looking forward to returning. Fortunately we weren’t disappointed. The food was excellent, as was our previous experience, and the service was friendly and attentive.

When we arrived, our table wasn’t ready but we could see the hostess monitoring this vigilantly so as soon as it was ready we were brought over. We were happy to enjoy an aperitif at the bar while we waited, knowing they were doing their best.

At the table, staff ensured we were well fed and watered! Our steak and burger were perfectly cooked and delicious, and we sent our compliments to the chef.

There is live music at weekends and we enjoyed an after dinner drink whilst listening to the start of the band’s set. Even without the music there is a lively atmosphere and a real buzz.

This place is hugely popular - make sure you book in advance for food - and deservedly so.

We will be back again on our next visit to the Algarve!

Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniella d, Gerente de relações com clientes at The Cheeky Pup, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Roxanne!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue!

We are delighted to have you join us for the second time a year later and still up to standers!

We are very happy to hear that the steak and the burger where cooked to perfection and where delicious!

Its definitely been a great start for us and we would like to thank you very much for the support. We have a great team and we are very proud of what they can deliver for the Cheeky Pups customers.


We look forward seeing in the Algarve!
Many thanks,
Danielle Mota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Ate here twice over the past week - and the food is outstanding :) The chicken piri piri is just so tasty and fresh. And my husband said that his burger was really fab. Service in the evening could be improved - but it is the start of the season - so i'm sure that will improve over thecoming weeks/months!
We were so impressed with the evening menu - we decided to return for a late lunch. We both opted for a fish option - and it was delicous!!! Was very tempted to indulge in their stunning tarte tatin for dessert (superb) only some very rude customers insisted on pumping the volume of Channel 4 racing up to the very loudest. Even when I asked the manager to reduce the sound (which he did) the customers took the remote and again pumped the sound up to unbearable levels where I could bearly hear my husband speak to me across the table. When Marcus asked if everything was ok - I did advise him that the food was really tasty - but I didn't want to be subjected to such loud TV in the middle of the afternoon!
Food is really good. Service has potential to be really good. Rude customers - not so much you can do about that!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marsy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniella d, Gerente de relações com clientes at The Cheeky Pup, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello !

We are delighted to hear that you and your husband joined us more then once, for lunch and dinner!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed very much both meals as well as the desert! We are very proud of out team and what they strive for our customers and we are glad that you also think so!

Sorry to hear about the customers next to you being a bit laud. The cheeky pup tries its best to please all customers and requestes.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue, we definitely look forward seeing you soon!

Many thanks,
Danielle Mota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheeky Pup also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
 

Been to The Cheeky Pup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing