We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Fish Restaurant - Wonderful Dishes and Service”
Review of Ottavi Mare

Ottavi Mare
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Bevagna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 34 - USD 46
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2015

You don't normally think about a seafood restaurant in the middle of a landlocked, red wine growing DOCG (Montefalco) but here it is. We visited this Fish restaurant for lunch on our recent stop in Bevagna. We were the only tourists on this weekday in May.

It was warm and sunny so not too much and something lighter was what we were looking for. Ottavi Mare looked inviting with its entry completely opened. We checked the menu on the board outside and it looked interesting. We were greeted and seated. Menus, water and liter of the house white wine followed.

For starters we ordered the Piatto del Giorno ( a pasta with squid and bottarga) and the Gnocchetti al Sagrantino Passito. For seconds, a Frittura Mista of calamari & shrimps as well as the Insalata Mista. The total was more than enough food.

Everything is prepared fresh and is beautifully presented. We enjoyed every bite. Delicious.

This was an unexpected find but very enjoyable.

Overall, it was also very good value for what we paid. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulLuehrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2015

We enjoyed two visits to this relatively new restaurant which is just beyond the main piazza in the centre of town. The food is well thought through using fresh ingredients. The young chef offers a modern take on his use of seafood and the wines are also good.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

This family-run restaurant is a very good choice for seafood. They are popular with both locals and also tourists. One of the more creative dishes that we saw here was a set of black sandwich buns, made with squid ink I believe. The owner's father runs the eatery Ottavius. I am done. The end.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

If fish could talk even they would recommend this restaurant. The chef respects his fish, only to make you enjoy them even more. The al dente risotto with tiny raw shrimp was a huge surprise to all of us. The "Rombo" fish as our main dish was simply perfect. The Arnaldo Caprai white wine (Grecchetto?) was a real treat. Finally the lime and red peppero sorbet made me cry.
If I only had some Michelin stars to award, this chef would get mine anytime.
Go there and eat. Possibly the entire menu if you can.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Fish in Umbria? Yes, the sea is only one hour drive away so You don´t have to fear that the fish is not fresh enough. This restaurant chose the best from their suppliers and prepares the meal in a lovely way. The chef is an artist, the presentation of each course is a feast for Your eyes (see the photos). I love the tastes. This restaurant is one of the best in town.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael-X-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ottavi Mare also viewed

Bevagna, Province of Perugia
Bevagna, Province of Perugia
 
Bevagna, Province of Perugia
Bevagna, Province of Perugia
 
Bevagna, Province of Perugia
Bevagna, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ottavi Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing