We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This lovely ROMANTIC hotel is located above a wonderful hill.

We stayed here for just one night. We arrived quite early in the afternoon and the room was just ready for us. We experienced professional / great service at the reception.
A person guide us to the room and we had a wonderful spacious room. Everything was clean and well organized. The bathroom is spacious and very clean. The cleaners did a real good job.

We have visited a lot of luxury hotels. But this one is one of a kind. The hotel interior and exterior is really well maintained.
We experienced the Italian restaurant and the bar. The staff are really kind and helpful with good advices about the wines.
Of course the prices are a bit high with drinks, but you get the quality. The food is really well priced. Quite regular pricing of a normal restaurant. But the food was delicious.

We also tried the SPA/Welness. Sadly we couldn't try the facial treatments. So if you want to have that, make an appointment in advance.
The sauna's and pool is really clean and quite. We love it.

The breakfast is great, but just a regular 5 stars breakfast.

You can also park the car below the hotel, save and protected. However you need to pay extra for it.

Overall we LOVE this hotel and it created a wonderful memory for us.

Room Tip: view to the dome of KOLN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RockLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear RockLux,

thank you for your great Feedback.

It is nice to see that you enjoyed all our facilities except the facial Treatment in our SPA.

We would be glad to welcoming you to our property again and remain with

Kind regards

Kurt Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay in the hotel, a good meal at the enotheca restaurant but a disappointment at the Dali bar where the service was not so friendly. Overall a great experience in an amazing surroundings.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mosad004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Geschäftsführer at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Mosad004,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Althoff Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg at TripAdvisor. It is great to see, that you had an overall great experience with us even more I am shocked that the service in the Restaurant Dali was not up to our standard.
We do apologize for an inconvenience.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the near future. This will give us the opportunity to better serve you!

Kind regards
Kurt Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

we stayed in this hotel for almost a week. we had a wonderful suite and enjoyed every minute. the hotel is unique in its impressive sight and the service is first class. it's not far from Colon and its museums. we will have to come back once more to enjoy the spa that was closed during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Geschäftsführer at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Dalia G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Althoff Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg.
Your kind words of appreciation were a pleasure to read.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near further, the Spa will be open than for sure!

Have a wonderful day!
Kind regards
Kurt Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night and the hospitality was wonderful. Staff were very nice and sincere. However, we parked our car near the entrance and I went up to the reception to ask whether that was okay with the hotel. It was a gentlemen and he said that it is not allowed and whether I wanted to park my car in their garage. I accepted his request and we parked our car there. The next morning, when we wanted to check out, the lady tells me to pay 22 euro for parking my car. I told her, that i was not informed that the garage had a fee otherwise i could park my car on the road somewhere else and pay less. She blamed it on me telling me I should have read the information on the website. But the point is, i didnt want to park around the hotel, and i rather park somewhere else and pay less. I was so frustrated why i was not informed regards to this. It isnt about the 22 euros, i feel like i was tricked into this. And she did not want to apologise, she didnt even feel empathy for the situation. At the end she gave me a cold apology and did not actually care about the matter. Very unprofessional. But overall the hotel is wonderful!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fahima27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Geschäftsführer at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Fahima27,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Whilst we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the overall Hotel and the staff's attention, we were very concerned to read about the aspects your stay you have expressed disappointment with.
Please accept our sincere apologies, for not informing you verbal that there is a parking fee in our garage.
I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with a seamless stay.

Kind regards,

Kurt Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I had some amazing days at this wonderful castle resort.
It is just a comfortable 25 minutes drive away from Cologne.
The staff is friendly and speaks good English.
They also have a great selection of restaurants I was really pleased with.

Room Tip: Taka a suite not too far from the lobby. The castle is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nilsharald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlthoffHotelGroup, Geschäftsführer at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great Feedback regarding your recent stay at Althoff Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg!

We are delighted to have exceeded your exactions and we would love to welcome you back in the near further again.

Have a wonderful day!

Kurt Wagner
Gastgeber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergisch Gladbach
Malerwinkel Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
116 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,396 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantik Waldhotel Mangold
#10 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
25 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,546 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#25 of 263 in Cologne
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg

Address: Kadettenstrasse, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range: $271 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a truly fantastic location, high above the Cologne lowlands and with a wonderful view of Cologne cathedral, one of the largest baroque palaces in Europe awaits you. It is the spirit of history that fills and enchants the 5 star Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg. The multitude of details from times long gone still tell tales of unique people and moments that characterise this building so much: Goethe and Beethoven, as well as Napoleon and the Medici family resided here. But today you can enjoy stylish luxury in the magnificent, historic chambers and in unmistakable Althoff ambience. Supplemented by personal service, Joachim Wissler's 3-star cuisine in the gourmet restaurant Vendome and a Beauty & Leading Spa that satisfies even the highest demands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Bergisch Gladbach
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Cologne
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing