We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Little Beach”
Review of Wembury Beach

Wembury Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Wembury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 August 2018

National Trust Car Park (£5/day) and nice cafe. Toilets very clean.

Beach was lovely. Small and not overcrowded (for Summer). Beach was a mix of sand, seaweed and rocks. I would recommend water shoes.

My son loved building sandcastles, looking in the rock pools and jumping the waves. The sea goes quite a long way out, so can get difficult to keep an eye on little ones.

We had a great family adventure on this beach and I would recommend a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Munchkin1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock pooling"
in 28 reviews
"national trust"
in 40 reviews
"car park"
in 55 reviews
"coastal walks"
in 12 reviews
"lovely rock pools"
in 6 reviews
"old mill"
in 9 reviews
"great little cafe"
in 6 reviews
"lovely beach"
in 18 reviews
"low tide"
in 13 reviews
"small stream"
in 3 reviews
"parking close"
in 3 reviews
"toilet facilities"
in 8 reviews
"churchwood valley"
in 5 reviews
"single track"
in 4 reviews
"beach shoes"
in 4 reviews
"steep steps"
in 3 reviews
"sea life"
in 5 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

My wife wanted to come here as she had used it a lot as a child. It’s a lovely little beach with lots of rock pools, a fresh water stream running across the beach with lots of pebbles for making dams. The old mill cafe is lovely and very reasonable. The site is owned by the National Trust so members don’t have to pay to park. The toilets are clean and there is a cold water shower outside.
The tide goes out a long way as the beach is a shallow so great for kids. Loved it

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank 335grahamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely area with amazing coastal walks! It was nice and sunny so we went for a dip in the sea (take silicone beach shoes). Not overcrowded, even in the height of summer. Would recommend the walk to Wembury Point. Watch out for the tall, blonde local who takes her golden retriever and other small dog (apparently called Rosie) for a walk every morning. We told her we didn’t want her dogs jumping up and barking at us and was shocked to get a load of abuse in response. Didn’t let it spoil our morning strolls though. Highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sophietC5102AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

A lovely beach, with the Great Mewstone the feature of the view. Beach is mainly stoney rather than sand, but not too hard on the feet. Approach road is single track and a bit of a problem.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Bobfrombristol186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Great beach with lots to do for everyone. Sand, rockpools, nice loos, good ice cream shop, nice little cafe.

But above all, quiet and away from the crowds. Car park can get full pretty quickly as it’s not very big, so get there early.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Kayfersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wembury Beach also viewed

 

Been to Wembury Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing