We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'not to be missed' experience”
Review of Estuary Restaurant

Estuary Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Description: Estuary - situated at Kangaroo Point, where the Hawkesbury River joins the ocean - is a restaurant and event centre where waterfront views meet modern Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Please take time to study our menu. The goal is to provide an experience for the palate that is no less memorable than the view. Opening Hours Breakfast: Estuary Kiosk is Open in our current time (April 2020) Wednesday to Sunday 8am-2.30pm, lunch from 11am.
Restaurant details
Description: Estuary - situated at Kangaroo Point, where the Hawkesbury River joins the ocean - is a restaurant and event centre where waterfront views meet modern Australian cuisine made from fresh local produce. Please take time to study our menu. The goal is to provide an experience for the palate that is no less memorable than the view. Opening Hours Breakfast: Estuary Kiosk is Open in our current time (April 2020) Wednesday to Sunday 8am-2.30pm, lunch from 11am.
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

So pleased to see The Estuary restaurant open for business, once again. This is a remarkable, scenic location just north of Hornsby on the Hawkesbury.
We sat outside and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch....first class local oysters; tiger prawns to die for; the twice baked gruyere souffle....followed by (mandatory!) Trio of ice cream.
Sue Ellen, Ross and attentive team under Kelly's guidance do a great job.
A 'not to be missed' experience for a visitor to Sydney, or for us 'locals' this is a regular for lunch, or morning coffee at the adjoining kiosk.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank parto01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2024

Came some years ago and had a fantastic experience. Sadly underwhelmed today. We were rushed from the get go and they were stacking chairs and suffocating us with spray and wipe 90 minutes later and hadn’t served dessert. Food poorly recommended, service was friendly but when you order a $45 main you expect the entree plate to be cleared before the main is served. Food was average for its price and we were all left completely underwhelmed. Lovely location.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Mary Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

Avoid this restaurant. We waited so long for our order, almost an hour, to be told the order was not received by the kitchen. Terrible service!

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter maurice y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023

Highly overpriced with terrible customer service. After spending nearly $100 for brunch between 3 of us, they will actually frown at you and tell you off for asking for extra spoons and forks. They think they own the scenery while not letting us go inside but stay outside in the cold. What's the point of going there to spend money and ruin the mood? The amount of the food is very small for the price and the taste is below average. Don't be arrogant and rude to customers! Learn to be kind and nice to everyone who come to your kiosk/restaurant!!!

Date of visit: July 2023
4  Thank Goerge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2022 via mobile

Gorgeous location but only operating as a kiosk from 8 still 3 pm, 5 days a week. What’s with that? No restaurant service. Just eating out of a cardboard box. A total waste of a fabulous venue. Owners should sell it to someone who can do the place justice. It reeks of laziness and seems like such a shame. Great for cyclists or walkers and good for anyone just wanting a takeaway coffee. Beware - be sure to order before you use the toilets otherwise you will be denied entry. 😂😂

Date of visit: December 2022
3  Thank KeriLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Estuary Restaurant also viewed

Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
 
Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
 

Been to Estuary Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.