We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, delicious seafood”
Review of Lifeboat Seafood

Lifeboat Seafood
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cooking Fresh Local Seafood, Eat in or Takeaway. Garden Courtyard. Also raw fresh seafood available.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Excellent selection of fish and seafood. Very fresh, cooked exceptionally. Friendly staff going above and beyond to accommodate everyone. This is a must stop over or destination.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank KristinaE116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2020

Outstanding service and food.
From the moment we walked in we were greeted (by name!) and sat at a lovely large table under the shade of the pergola and offered jugs of cold water. The cafe was clean and had great ambience on a lovely sunny day. We were dining for an early Father's Day and they made the experience so wonderful and perfect with their service and food.
All the staff were wonderful, polite, knowledgeable.
The seafood is fresh cooked and the portions are large (even the kids meals were big).
The cafe offers in house wines and softdrinks or lets you know of a bottle shop 20m down the road that you can grab beers from.
We chose a range of meals.
The prawn cutlets (made into a meal with chips, $3 per prawn). These were delicious huge green prawns, freshly battered and cooked. They were probably the best I've ever had (and I have these a lot at seafood restaurants).
The calamari was similarly generous, fresh pieces of calamari battered and cooked. Again, this was delicious.
Grilled barramundi, cooked perfectly and tasting so fresh and sweet.
Thank you Lifeboat Seafoods for making our day so perfect. I highly recommend anything from a casual lunch to a special occasion. I look forward to coming back again and again.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amigo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

After calling ahead very last minute for lunch on a busy day, Marcus saved the day - ensuring there was some fish left and reserving us a table. Will definitely be back!!

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank oliviapoulos0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2020

We were excited after reading great reviews and after Covid lockdowns slowly lifting being able to get out of Sydney for a nice lunch. And that was where it ended. The fish was tasteless, the calamari batter was soggy and the chips bland. Had to ask for extra salt for flavour (I’m not usually one to add salt to anything) and the tartare sauce definitely saved it . Nice location with a musician playing, but that was it. Maybe being a tricky time with social distancing etc they weren’t up to their usual standards, but I won’t be going back to try again.

Date of visit: May 2020
3  Thank EMTS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Mushiest bit of fish i've had for a long time. We had the grilled barramundi and it came out looking grey on the plate. Had zero texture .. just weird and unpleasant.
i thought well at least theres a big pile of mixed salad on the plate but that had an unappetising very sweet dressing on it.

The disappointment hit me - i had just paid $30+ for something that (apart from the chips - these were fine) i wasn't going to touch. and i realised that Brooklyns scenic river location had enabled a well below average fish and chip takeaway to fool me and no i suspect many others

Will stay well clear in the future. Suggest that others try to avoid a big plate of disappointment.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PeteOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Lifeboat Seafood also viewed

 
Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lifeboat Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.