We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fresh seafood”
Review of Fitzies

Fitzies
Ranked #4 of 5 Quick Bites in Brooklyn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We drove up to Fitzies and ordered 18 x oysters, 1.5kg of king prawns and the salt & pepper squid with salad. Now the eating area is not five star but you quickly forget that once you start eating the really fresh seafood. The staff are very friendly and the food is served in no time at all. we are not the only ones that think this because there is always a number of people ready to take your table once you leave. Well worth the drive if you enjoy great quality seafood.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Fitzies is a must if you want a delicious fish and salad lunch in a quirky relaxed setting.
Close to the ferry cruise terminal.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank gypsy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I bought a fish and chips pack for $13, we couldn’t finish the cups between us. The fish is very, very lightly battered which makes for a change from your typical Australian “let’s drown it in batter until you can’t find the piece of fish” take away shop mentality. The fish itself was excellent, I coles with a wedge of lemon and a container of tartare sauce. The service was very pleasant, and there’s a quaint little seating area to the left of the building which looks nice.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank chocciemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Brooklyn sits in the picturesque northern reaches of the Sydney basin, on the southern bank of the Hawkesbury River. While Brooklyn is the northernmost suburb of the Greater Sydney Metropolitan Area, the former fishing village still retains the feel of a country river town, albeit with a lot of fancy Sydney escapees. Down by the Brooklyn Ferry Wharf, where you can alight the train at Hawkesbury River railway station and catch a small privately-run ferry to Dangar Island and Little Wobby Beach, you’ll find Fitzies Fish & Chips.

With counters butting right up to the narrow pavement, it’s a tiny, no-frills operation. A chalkboard easel lets you in on the daily specials, with the rest of the menu contained on a quaint hand painted wooden menu board sitting over the deep fryers. In the rear there’s a makeshift, partially covered dining area, where you can sit with bush turkey companions and eat your simple fish and chips.

Not being all that big on fried, we opt for the fancier Prawn and Oyster Platter ($49). It delivers a dozen shucked oysters, twelve king prawns in the shell, and some well-dressed salad, with lime and lemon. The locally sourced Sydney rocks are small and a little creamy; lacking in liquor but they do with job under a squeeze of lemon. The king prawns are firm and have a good balance between salty and sweet.

We ‘round out our meal with two Aussie fish shop classics: Potato Scallops ($1.50/each) and Pineapple Fritters ($2.50/each). While the potato scallop tastes like memory, the pineapple fritter has a slightly different texture to the ones I remember – it’s kind of a hybrid batter-meets-crumb.

The whole experience, while certainly not ranking among the best seafood meals of my life, has an easygoing, nostalgic, Aussie charm.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

You may well walk past this place and mis it if your not paying attention, but that’s true of most of the eatery’s in this town . Great fresh seafood at reasonable prices. You can eat at the front counter or walk to the side courtyard where you can eat amid the mis matched tables and chairs . Be warned there are friendly chickens walking around the courtyard.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank claudia2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fitzies also viewed

 

Been to Fitzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.