We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easygoing nostalgic charm - not perfect, but not bad either”
Review of Fitzies

Fitzies
Ranked #4 of 5 Quick Bites in Brooklyn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Brooklyn sits in the picturesque northern reaches of the Sydney basin, on the southern bank of the Hawkesbury River. While Brooklyn is the northernmost suburb of the Greater Sydney Metropolitan Area, the former fishing village still retains the feel of a country river town, albeit with a lot of fancy Sydney escapees. Down by the Brooklyn Ferry Wharf, where you can alight the train at Hawkesbury River railway station and catch a small privately-run ferry to Dangar Island and Little Wobby Beach, you’ll find Fitzies Fish & Chips.

With counters butting right up to the narrow pavement, it’s a tiny, no-frills operation. A chalkboard easel lets you in on the daily specials, with the rest of the menu contained on a quaint hand painted wooden menu board sitting over the deep fryers. In the rear there’s a makeshift, partially covered dining area, where you can sit with bush turkey companions and eat your simple fish and chips.

Not being all that big on fried, we opt for the fancier Prawn and Oyster Platter ($49). It delivers a dozen shucked oysters, twelve king prawns in the shell, and some well-dressed salad, with lime and lemon. The locally sourced Sydney rocks are small and a little creamy; lacking in liquor but they do with job under a squeeze of lemon. The king prawns are firm and have a good balance between salty and sweet.

We ‘round out our meal with two Aussie fish shop classics: Potato Scallops ($1.50/each) and Pineapple Fritters ($2.50/each). While the potato scallop tastes like memory, the pineapple fritter has a slightly different texture to the ones I remember – it’s kind of a hybrid batter-meets-crumb.

The whole experience, while certainly not ranking among the best seafood meals of my life, has an easygoing, nostalgic, Aussie charm.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

You may well walk past this place and mis it if your not paying attention, but that’s true of most of the eatery’s in this town . Great fresh seafood at reasonable prices. You can eat at the front counter or walk to the side courtyard where you can eat amid the mis matched tables and chairs . Be warned there are friendly chickens walking around the courtyard.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank claudia2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Serves better fish and chip than Tide Cafe down the road. I ordered the regular fish and chip for $13. Fish was fresh and juicy and the batter was perfectly light. Chips were regular run off the mill but overall it was a decent meal for the the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

I'm not one for doling out five star reviews, but there wasn't anything I could fault with our experience at Fitzies. They were a little busy but the service was prompt and friendly. I took the advice of previous reviewers here and ordered the calamari and OMG if it wasn't just the most delectable and delicious calamari that I've had in forever. We also ordered the fish cocktail bites with chips. The chips were the twice cooked variety - crunchy and golden outer with fluffy potato inside. The cocktail fish was done in a light crumb batter and it was so darn tasty, I couldn't stop myself going back again and again for another one. Combined with the awesome playground and bathing area at Brooklyn, it made for a really lovely relaxed afternoon - I'd highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiffiney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We orderd the lunch box of calamari, fish and prawns and chips. The calamari and chips were the best I’ve had, so fresh and delicious that I would just get a plateful of the calamari next time. We ate in the dining area to the side of the cafe but there is plenty of areas near the dock if we wanted to sit and watch the boats coming and going. By reading other reviews we took our own drinks as the prices for beverages isn’t displayed and reviews indicated they were expensive. It’s a short distance from the freeway and easy to get back on to continue our south bound journey.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank caraw884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fitzies also viewed

 

Been to Fitzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.