We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fish and chips!”
Review of Fitzies

Fitzies
Ranked #4 of 5 Quick Bites in Brooklyn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 February 2018

I'm not one for doling out five star reviews, but there wasn't anything I could fault with our experience at Fitzies. They were a little busy but the service was prompt and friendly. I took the advice of previous reviewers here and ordered the calamari and OMG if it wasn't just the most delectable and delicious calamari that I've had in forever. We also ordered the fish cocktail bites with chips. The chips were the twice cooked variety - crunchy and golden outer with fluffy potato inside. The cocktail fish was done in a light crumb batter and it was so darn tasty, I couldn't stop myself going back again and again for another one. Combined with the awesome playground and bathing area at Brooklyn, it made for a really lovely relaxed afternoon - I'd highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tiffiney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We orderd the lunch box of calamari, fish and prawns and chips. The calamari and chips were the best I’ve had, so fresh and delicious that I would just get a plateful of the calamari next time. We ate in the dining area to the side of the cafe but there is plenty of areas near the dock if we wanted to sit and watch the boats coming and going. By reading other reviews we took our own drinks as the prices for beverages isn’t displayed and reviews indicated they were expensive. It’s a short distance from the freeway and easy to get back on to continue our south bound journey.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank caraw884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Brooklyn is a beautiful location on the Hawksbury River to come and have a seafood lunch like we found out recently, there are many places to choose from, for us our hosts suggested we go to Fitzies. The staff were friendly and helpful as we perused the main menu board inside the store and the standing boards on the footpath, after ordering and paying for our meals we headed out the back to the courtyard to find a table and chairs. The eating area is mostly undercover, the furniture is rustic and eclectic, clean, look out for visitations from a few friendly chooks and other birdlife that might fly in.
Our meals were full of fresh flavours, the calamari rings were large and tender, the fish was enjoyed, and we loved the chips even if we had to leave a few behind, too large of a serve for us. Fitizies is easily located near the river, there is street parking, scarce on a Sunday we found, just head up the hill near McKell Park to find a free space.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

First time here and have to say food was good sitting area could do with some work though. Overall ok place to go.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank 663jimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

great fish and chips
did have to wait a while as they were busy but another way to look at it os that they wete busy because it was good

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Eli254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fitzies also viewed

 

Been to Fitzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.