We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome apartment, shame about the management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macquarie Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Macquarie Lodge
Ranked #91 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome apartment, shame about the management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed for 9 nights early Dec 2011, one reason I wished to stay there was for the spa pool, (just had hip operation, the hot soak would have been good) unfortunately the spa never went the entire stay, and the management came up with many excuses & no action, which was a shame because the unit we stayed in was excellent in every way. Won't be staying there again, but only because of the management attitude

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here in March 2011 for a weekend. We really enjoyed our 2 bdrm unit. It was large and very comfortable. It is a bit of a walk to Hastings St. but we enjoy walking so didn't bother us at all. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Macquarie Lodge is a good option for those who desire a quiet part of Noosa to enjoy the area's delights. The apartment was spacious and well-appointed with some basic food supplies. The view of the river and a leafy setting give a relaxed holiday feel to the place. The Foxtel was appreciated at a time when the Rugby World Cup was firing up!

Be aware that it needs a drive to the beach but is a walk to the mall area and the Coles supermarket ... the junction area.

Never quite understood the whole limit on dishwasher tablets or toilet paper. Is it that hard to give people four days supply of this instead of 2? Clearly was deliberate rather than an oversight.

The free night for the next time we go was a nice touch at the end ... and, you know, we probably will!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dangersteg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Positives:

- Roomy apartment
- Friendly staff
- Located in lovely Noosa

Negatives:

- Strange smell throughout the apartment
- The lamps had been scribbled all over by other kids i'm guessing, and looked awful.
- Cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling
- When sitting on the deck, all you can hear is the scream of kids only metres away in the pool all day.
- Far away from the beach - you can't really walk, you have to drive.
- Fairly long walk from the shops
- DVDs are $5 a night to rent (for movies that aren't even new..)
- Spa is cold - don't think you'll be able to relax in a hot spa!
- VERY limited hot water - runs out after about 10 mins...which is very difficult when you have 5 family members.
- No Austar or Foxtel, despite the fact that on the website it says they have it in every apartment.

They call themselves '4.5 star luxury apartments' but I didn't find anything about this place luxurious at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luce91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

First I would like to point out we actually stayed here in December 2009 but Tripadvisor does say you can post within a year and it is still within a year!
We had not stayed in Noosa before but had visited and liked the look and feel of the place so wanted to try a few nights. I had spent quite a while online trying to find somewhere that looked good, didn't cost a fortune and was well located. Macquarie Lodge looked like it would fit the bill.
Macquarie Lodge is an apartment block which I believe is made up of all privately owned apartments of various sizes, some which are owner occupied and some which are let by the night. We arrived after reception had closed which means you need to use the telephone provided to call the attendent who gives you the code to the safe where your keys and directions to your room can be found.
There is an underground car park for which a key was provided so we parked up and made our way to our room. We were on the 2nd floor but there is a lift if you feel lazy! The apartment was actually a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom but the second bedroom was locked off. It was a vey good size with a hallway, open plan lounge/kitchen/diner, utility room, large bedroom with ensuite and a large covered balcony accessed from both the lounge and the bedroom. It was furnished to a very good standard with a reclining leather suite, four seat dining table, fully equipped kitchen, nice bed, good furniture on the balcony and nice pictures on the walls (I would add though, that I assume the apartments are all privately owned and therefore the standard of furniture/furnishing may vary in other apartments). There was also washing machine, dryer and aircon.
The views from the balcony were fantastic with far reaching views down to the river, the town and even the sea. We liked the place that much that we could have stayed forever but only had flexibility to extend for an extra night before heading to Byron. We didn't have much to do with the staff as we only saw them when we extended the stay but they seemed very nice and helpful.
The block is set up above the town centre high on the banks of the river. There are lovely gardens, a pool (which we didn't use but it looked nice), bbq and a path down to a private river beach (again we didn't go there so have no idea what it was like).
It is less than a mile walk to Hastings Street and Main Beach although it is uphill most of the way back! Noosa provides everything you could want with beaches, shopping, restaurants, cafes, scenery, wildlife and a lovely river.
As the title says, we could have stayed forever.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noosa hotels
0.3 km away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#6 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#14 of 139 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 km away
Noosa Crest
Noosa Crest
#20 of 139 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Noosa Apartments
The Noosa Apartments
#46 of 139 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 km away
Bali Hai Apartments Noosa
0.2 km away
Myuna Holiday Apartments
Myuna Holiday Apartments
#82 of 139 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Lodge

Property: Macquarie Lodge
Address: Macquarie Lodge 53 Banksia Ave N, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Noosa
Price range (per night): $168 - $252
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Macquarie Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Macquarie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Hotel Noosa
Macquarie Lodge Noosa, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing