We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
119
22
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
119
22
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warren river trout bread maker golden retriever freshly baked bread perfect country stunning scenery get away spa bath rain water amazing weekend wonderful hospitality listening to the birds windy harbour peace and quiet well appointed kitchen salt and pepper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed here for two nights last year & loved it so much we booked in again this year - for three nights! It was cold & rainy when we arrived (May 6th), so not only did we have the smell of baking bread but also a lovely log fire blazing away.
Paul & Petrina have created a little slice of heaven only 30min from Manjimup. The cottages are so cosy and comfortable, and each has a lovely view. Sitting on the deck, sharing my lunch with the blue wrens was the highlight of this visit. Birdlife is amazing, and it's very relaxing watching the resident sheep, alpacas and donkey strolling around. No fish caught on this trip, but we actually extended our stay by an extra night, and can't wait to get back next year.

Room tip: Cottages 3 & 4 have very comfy daybeds on the deck :)
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tarka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthomsett, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay with us. Pity about the lack of pulls on the fishing line!! Hopefully next time will be more successful!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Our visit to this stunning part of the world was short but provided everything a short get away needs. We stayed for two nights in a delightful well equiped cottage, complete with fresh bread baking on arrival and amazing blue wrens on the balcony! One of the many highlights for me was the spa on the verandah of the main bedroom overlooking the trout lakes. It almost felt as if I was actually having a spa outdoors!
The friendly and efficient service extended to us by Petrina and Paul was relaxed and welcoming. They eagerly provided information about the local attractions and even the best place to shop (for my retail therapy enthusiast friend!).
We could have easily stayed a week as the cottages are a short drive from many of the regions many attractions. The resident donkey, alpacas, hens, birds and various other wildlife provide ample opportunities to get in touch with nature. Petrina has an extensive knowledge of local mountain bike tracks, walking and jogging trails and is even willing to take you out. Beware, the hills are can be a little daunting!
I will definitely be returning to this delightful retreat!
Sue

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthomsett, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to meet people who enjoy mountain bike riding and taking advantage of the amazing Munda Biddi cycle trail which begins in Albany and finishes in Perth. The cycle track takes you through sections of forest which one would normally not venture through and passes by our front gate Also around Clover Cottage are different levels of ability walking and running trails. The downside is being in a valley means climbing up!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We stayed at the mud brick barn which for Christmas, we had a wonderful time. We were greeted with freshly baked bread and local jams provided. The kitchen and lounge area was huge for our party of 3. We ate most meals in with a well appointed kitchen, even providing a bread maker, the fridge was large and modern. Upstairs had a rm with air con and queen bed and a separate bedding are a double and 3singles very cute. The place had great atmosphere very relaxing. We spent a lot of time on the verandah on the comfortable sofas, it had darts and a BBQ. Overlooking rotating farm animals 2 alpacas, a donkey and sheep. This had a backdrop of a forest with the river sitting behind. The grass tennis was lovely overlooking the 2 lakes/dam one was for trout fishing. Don't forget your tennis racquets it also has night lights for tennis. The canoeing was fun only a few minutes walk to the river. They have a well stocked dvds, games and books to borrow. The owners Petrina and Paul are very welcoming and friendly. I would defiantly come back again. We had a look at the cottages they looked lovely with amazing lake very and Forrest backdrop. The barn we stayed has small wedding receptions and weddings this place is a little heaven on earth.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Tompkins1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutfishing, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

So glad you enjoyed an inaugural Christmas stay at our Mudbrick Barn. We enjoy knowing our guests relaxing in the atmosphere of Clover Cottage. Hope our donkey Edith wasn't too friendly too early in the morning!!! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

After looking around the normal southwest wedding spots we found an hidden gem with Clover cottages. Paul and Petrina are fantastic and made our stay a memorable one.

The luxury yet homely chalets made a lasting impression. From the smell of the fresh bread to the picturesque view on the balcony.

Our wedding ceremony amongst the trees and in front of the warren river was a perfect setting. With plenty of great back drops for really good photo opportunities all over the property.

Our reception which was held in their "barn" was a perfect venue as it's not really a barn but a wonderful function room that we all had a fine dining experience and dance the night away on the deck.

We cannot thank Paul and Petrina enough for a truly special day we will remember forever.

Adrian and Rebecca Ridley

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutfishing, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

It was a wonderful weekend! You both looked so happy and your families were very relaxed. Thank you for choosing us to share your special day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Warm and friendly greetings on arrival. Opened cottage door and Wow talk about home; aroma of bread in baker; local produce to smear on the bread and all the amenities for whatever you fancy! I enjoyed relaxing in the spa bath shared with the many varieties of wrens. The views from each cottage are special over the lakes. The ripple of the trout and fish below the water and the reflections of the native forest above, are picture perfect! The beauty of the romance in the valley presents itself for memorable special events like weddings and anniversaries A perfect location to unwind or travel throughout the local region which lends itself to Clover cottage. Surely an annual event!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiftair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutfishing, Owner at Clover Cottage Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us at Clover Cottage! We enjoy knowing our guests love the birds and forest experience as much as we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews