We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & Poor accommodation”
Review of Seashells Mandurah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seashells Mandurah
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandurah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Upon arrival, the foyer area of the hotel was beautiful and expectations were high.

Once I entered the self-contained villa (supposedly 4.5stars) my expectations were far from met! For around $250 a night, you expect a reasonable standard of accommodation, but this was far from the case. The sliding door was completely off its track between the bedroom and living area (something you would have noticed when you clean the place. There were cob webs in most corners. The rubber that runs along the sliding wardrobe doors was hanging off ALL of the doors. I might have looked past it if it had just been one door. After a visit from maintenance, the issue was still not resolved but the door was pulled across shut so we would at least have some privacy.
The radio supplied in the kitchen did not work and there were slats missing from a lot of the blinds on the window. A number of the lights also did not work. At best, I would call it a poor 3 star accommodation.

I was expected (as with any hotel that cares about their guests) to be asked upon check-out how my stay was and I was not even asked - further evidence of their lack of care for the guests. I returned a comments card stating all of the issues I have had and I am still waiting to see if I will hear anything back, but I will not hold my breath.

Next time, I will stay at the Sebel in Mandurah as we have stayed there many times in all sorts of rooms and enjoyed the experience a lot more!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeashellsHG, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Bill C
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. I am disappointed to learn that your experience earlier this month did not meet with expectations, and that you found accommodation in one of our Garden View Villas sub-standard.
We are aware of some of the maintenance issues which you rightly raised, and are currently seeking new solutions and replacements for items such as sliding doors, rubber seals and timber blinds. This project work is ongoing for us, and we hope to have these physical concerns addressed very soon.
As a result of your review, we have taken steps to ensure that this neglect as well as the discrepancies in our service standards, do not occur in the future. A detailed and thorough ‘spring clean’ of all our rooms will take place from 1st March and we look forward to enhancing our product. I sincerely apologise that your experience was not up to standard for our brand.

Yours sincerely


Bram Newbold
General Manager
Seashells Mandurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 491 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

I only booked an overnight stay while in the area on business. Loved the serenity, comfort & luxury so much I stayed a 2nd night. And it was the only hotel that I've done that at, that actually charged me the same discounted rate for my extra night. I've stayed additional time at other hotels around the world & was always charged the full rack rate for extra nights, not the rate I had paid by booking on-line. So that was a pleasant surprise. The apartments have everything you could want including kitchen & laundry (washing machine & dryer). Great location, a couple of minute walk to the boardwalk where shopping, eating, drinking is readily available. Views are great all around you. Shopping centre nearby where I bought food & drink to enjoy in my apartment. Big balcony, mine had a view over the estuary, but I assume on the other side they look out to sea. I could live here. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskatie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Room was not cleaned, cigarette butt inside front door on arrival! Floors not cleaned, mould in shower, airconditioners filthy, lounges stained and tables dusty. The inside smelt like stale cigarettes and very musty. The outside deck hadnt been cleaned and had areas that had large stains from drink spills etc on it. Complained to reception regarding the issues, didnt bother staying the second night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracka16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeashellsSL, General Manager at Seashells Mandurah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Tracka16

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Seashells Mandurah and thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction and inconsistencies regarding the presentation and cleanliness of your designated apartment. We did have 100% occupancy on the night which would have prevented us from being able to provide you with a new apartment, but there is still no cause for such clear discrepancies in our service standards. As a result of your review, we have taken steps to ensure that this neglect does not occur in the future. A detailed and thorough ‘spring clean’ of all our rooms will take place from 1st March 2012, and we look forward to enhancing our product. I sincerely apologise that your experience was not up to standard for our brand.

Yours sincerely

Bram Newbold
General Manager
Seashells Mandurah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Views, comfort lovelly pool area, Good kitchen in room and great artwork. A good base to have in Mandurah to enjoy the beach experience as well as close to the restaurants and canals.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuralRambler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Have now stayed at this hotel 4 times and our last stop in January and must say thing looking a little tired no sun loungers were available around the pool and looked like a few people had non paying guests with them hence no available loungers but overall not bad as the location is good for direct beach access and just a short stroll to Dolphin Quay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jardy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandurah hotels
0.8 km away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
1,026 reviews
1.8 km away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
297 reviews
0.4 km away
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
Atrium Hotel Mandurah
#7 of 7 in Mandurah
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mandurah Family Resort
Mandurah Family Resort
#6 of 7 in Mandurah
41 reviews
0.5 km away
Mandurah Motel and Apartments
0.4 km away
Dolphin Quay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Mandurah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Mandurah

Address: 16 Dolphin Dr | Comet Bay, Mandurah, Western Australia 6210, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Mandurah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mandurah
Price Range: $167 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seashells Mandurah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4.5 star Seashells Mandurah is set in a truly unique location. The property is situated on the beach at Comet Bay, adjacent to the award-winning Mandurah Ocean Marina. Most apartments feature spectacular views over the Indian Ocean or Peel Estuary.A combination of 1 and 2 bedroom luxury apartments and beach villas make Seashells Mandurah a perfect getaway for singles, couples and families.A stunning feature of the Resort, is the heated pool and spa which overlooks the Indian Ocean. Guests can spend their days relaxing on a poolside sun lounge enjoying the beautiful Western Australian sunshine.Business travellers are also catered for, with meeting and conference facilities available for up to 60 delegates and broadband internet connections in every apartment.Just 45 minutes from Perth, Seashells Mandurah is far enough for a retreat away from the city, without having to travel hours to achieve this sense of escape and relaxation.Seashells Mandurah is the winner of the 2006 Western Australian Tourism Awards, in the category of “New Tourism Development”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Seashells Mandurah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Mandurah Hotel Mandurah
Seashells Hotel Mandurah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing