We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place on Sterling Terrace”
Review of Gourmandise & Co

Gourmandise & Co
Ranked #1 of 17 Quick Bites in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 24
Cuisines: Deli, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Gourmandise & Co is a coffee house, wood-fire bakery, communal table and store. Located in the heritage precinct on Stirling Terrace in Albany and brought to you by Xavier and Janette Poupel (formerly Terroir and Table) Gourmandise & Co offers a selection of quality produce to take away or enjoy at our communal table in a rustic french-australian ambience. Lunch service Monday-Friday from 11:30am-2:00pm, and Saturday 11:30am-1:00pm.
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Had been advised to come here for breakfast, but came for lunch instead. Had the French onion soup, delicious and very filling. Coffe was good also.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear redesme

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and making a much appreciated recommendation.

Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2018

Most definitely some of the best pastries and best coffee we've ever had. Its interior decor felt like we were in our friendly grandma's cool, homey kitchen. If you don't know which delicious pastry to try, then get the sampler platter. You won't regret it! Every single mini pastry on it was superb. The staff there are also really friendly!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KyraTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Kyra Taylor

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
The G&Co team is delighted to hear that we have a customer's experience a really great one.

Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We were working in Albany for over 3 weeks, and this gem of a restaurant very quickly became our favourite haunt. Whether it was for a quick delicious cup of coffee, one (it never was just one) of the mouth watering patisseries, or lunch, we were never disappointed. The tarts/quiches were an artwork in themselves, so pretty and delicate it felt like sacrilege eating them. All the staff were so kind and patient, making a decision was never easy, We can’t wait to return!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank serena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear serena m

'Merci mille fois' for your great review and recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you on a return visit to Albany.

Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Food is always fresh and very French, especially the pastries! Staff are always helpful to me as I take my aged father in his mid 90's.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlpearce2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear jlpearce2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your great recommendation.

Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

How anyone in their wildest dreams can write a review like the one below mine on this place is just....bonkers!!! Wonderful find amongst our 7 week trip around Australia, really nice to pop into France for breakfast. Every item looks like it has been made with complete love and attention to detail, almost a shame to eat it, could spend ages just looking at it!!!! We are here in Albany for a few days, unfortunately hit the cafe at rush hour and made a snap decision on what to eat but enjoyed every mouthful. Even though busy the young girl explained in great detail the different items they sold. We have had a really good study of the food counter as we left so we know what we are having for our breakfast the next few days. FYI we had a quiche which was wonderful, beautiful pastry and a pain au raisin which certainly is equal or not better than any I have had in France. Just shows how caring the people who run this place are that they replied to the bad review below, this always show a passion for what someone does.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Rita S

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
As we all well aware social media can have both a negative and positive impact on small and large business and those with an agenda generally not at all fair or honest, so your enthusiasm is really appreciated.
The G&Co team is really proud of the product we offer and that is reflected in our customer service and product quality and knowledge.
We are delighted that we were able to add to your trip around Australia!
Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmandise & Co also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Gourmandise & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing