We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast spot”
Review of Gourmandise & Co

Gourmandise & Co
Ranked #2 of 138 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 24
Cuisines: Deli, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Gourmandise & Co is a coffee house, wood-fire bakery, communal table and store. Located in the heritage precinct on Stirling Terrace in Albany and brought to you by Xavier and Janette Poupel (formerly Terroir and Table) Gourmandise & Co offers a selection of quality produce to take away or enjoy at our communal table in a rustic french-australian ambience. Lunch service Monday-Friday from 11:30am-2:00pm, and Saturday 11:30am-1:00pm.
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Had a tasty Quiche Lorraine. Presentation was nice with fresh herbs surrounding the quiche. No skimping on the ham, which was nice. Very cozy stop.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janlyn-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear Janlyn-60

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast with us and experienced our cozy ambience.

Kind Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch. Lovely little place to eat and look around. Something to look at everywhere. Food was nice, but had expected more considering it was rated number 1 on trip advisor. Not over friendly service.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dukith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear Dukith

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations; but we advertise accurately that we are wood-fire bakery and deli, and also offer plats du jours for lunch. So if you were hoping for a traditional restaurant that we are certainly not.

We appreciate you paying us a visit and including us in the businesses you visited during your stay in Albany.

Kind Regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

A place to be seen both as a visitor and as a local. the bench style siting may not apeal to every one, as generally people already seated will spread ou and make it difficult for a group to sit toghether. Food OK

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Old_Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear Old-Gypsies

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

As you visited only once, it is worth mentioning that it is not a general rule for people to spread out and take the whole table for themselves. As the shop front fills, people happily move along to accommodate others and there is a wonderful convivial atmosphere.
We must have been busy if you were unable to find a seat at one of the other tables that are on offer?

We know that our communal table will not appeal to everyone but we wanted to offer the community something different and do appreciate that you paid us a visit despite deciding we are not for you.

Regards
Janette



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

What a delightful place! Set in an historic part of the town near the beautiful old rotunda, this is one of the best cafes I've visited - not just in Albany but Australia. The French theme carries through from the quirky decor to the exquisite food. The genuine warmth of the hostess and the excellent service overall made this a memorable experience. So sad that we are just passing through and will not be able to visit again. It's pricey but so worth it - this is top drawer. Merci beaucoup.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank dallitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear dallitt

Merci for the fabulous review and recommendation.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.

Trust that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Warm regards
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

After a freezing couple of days down south, we come across this warm little gem on our last day.
Great coffee, hearty meals and a great atmosphere. Pastries were epic and their rice pudding really tickled my bum.
Perfect

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Monkey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette J, Owner at Gourmandise & Co, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear MonkeyT

Thank you for taking the time to post your review it is really appreciated.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us- coffee, meals and ambience.

Do come again should you return to Albany and we will do out utmost to deliver a repeat experience.

Merci beaucoup.

Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmandise & Co also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to Gourmandise & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing