We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
247
53
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
53
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakesevery morningthe kitchensoccer fieldfree pancake breakfasttable tennisdorm roomping pongbibbulmun trackcommon areasnice environmentoutdoor areatea and coffee making facilitiesstayed for one nightshared bathrooma wonderful staycentral location
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Without a doubt the best hostel ever! Awesome staff super helpful & friendly. Cleanest hostel ever - everything always clean, kitchen, dorm room & common rooms. Friendly people also stay here too. Beds very comfortable. Best location ever. Can’t fault a thing. Pancake breakfast really yummy. I extended my stay it was such a great place. Not a party hostel so your assured of getting a good nights sleep! Only wish the many other hostels in Australia could improve their services to be this good. Other places are a dump compared to 1898 Backpackers. Very deserving of their reputation as a 5 Star Backpackers. Well done guys. I will definitely stay with you again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank WanderbugAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

One of the best backpackers we've ever been to. Staff were very friendly. We had the superior queen room which was spacious, neat and clean. They have a great range of entertainment facilities and lots of couches to hand out and socialise. Dinner was delicious and well-priced and the amazing pancake breakfast was free. Walking distance to the main drag. Couldn't ask for more. Very recommended.

Room Tip: Can sometimes hear the train from the superior queen room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BoyFromOzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and we had an amazing time. The hostel is definitely one of the best hostels I’ve ever been to and I would highly recommend it. The rooms are clean and pretty, the lounge room and the outside area are perfect for relaxing and the huge kitchen provides everything you need. The staff is very friendly and the hostel is in a perfect location (close to Coles, Woolies, Bottle Shops, Bars and Clubs). The all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast is just delicious!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Eléna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay at 1849 backpackers. All of the staff and helpers were lovely and it’s clear to see how well they all connect together as a team to make it a great place. The cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at, relaxed atmosphere and nice places to chill out around the place. When waking up in the morning you might think to yourself, ‘what’s that smell?’ - it’s the delicious homemade pancakes of course!

Special mention to bluetiful Robi and also that French guy with the glasses (sorry can’t remember your name!) for being so much fun - we got along like a tea towel on fire.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank katyrebecca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Great location. Nice clean rooms. As many pancakes as you can eat in the morning big kitchen available to cook any meal you want. Table tennis and nice big communal area if you want that sort of thing. Would definitely recommend

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews