We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
AU$158
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Marcus G

Disappointed for the price.

Review of Wyndham Torquay
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 May 2023
Disappointed to say the least.

We arrived in our room which we paid extra for to find we had had M & Ms on the floor and chewing gum on the bench top.

On our first day we had an electrician come to our room trying to come in to change a light globe with no warning from the hotel.

Later that night we had a hotel staff member frantically banging on our door and what sounded like trying to open our door at 8PM as our baby slept to ask if the door joining the second room was locked.

No TV remote to be seen anywhere in the room for the TV which was more than annoying.

We paid extra for a balcony and on the balcony was another rooms air con unit which was constantly pumping cold air so we couldn't even use it.

A lady came around to the room to ask if we wanted towels, knocked once and without giving us a chance to even get to the door continued to knock impatiently whilst our baby was trying to sleep.

Good facilities like gym and pool etc however will never stay here again.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 21 May 2023
Good day,

Thank you for your review, but I don't believe you were staying at Wyndham. There is another operator at the property who manages about 16 rooms. Our Maintenance team replace light bulbs during the day, and I know the other operator sends in electricians to change the lightbulbs as they do not have Maintenance staff onsite. Also we don't have staff knocking offering towels as this is done during the cleaning process, or are available at Reception at anytime if a guest needs more at anytime.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$196
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$116
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$289
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$106
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Bed
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Torquay
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
310
290
147
61
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
290
147
61
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road pool view outdoor spa bedroom apartment the great ocean road the sofa bed great pool great resort facilities gym court victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2023

A bad experience from start to finish. We booked a king room and were provided a king with an additional single with no room to relax or move around with luggage for two people. We were eventually given what we booked and paid for and had to move our luggage and car to the other side of the complex. No apology offered for their mistake.

The new room had a few issues, only one light was working in the bathroom and we couldn't see properly to shower or shave. The shower screen leaked and we had to mop up rhe floor after each shower to prevent slipping on the floor. The fly wire on the patio door was loose. A rod on the curtains was broken with half stuffed in a bedside drawer. The toilet bowl was cracked.

We did not complain about any of these issues.

At 7.30 the next morning the power went off upsetting our plans for an early shower etc and breakfast before a late checkout. We left it till 8.00am which we thought was reasonable only to be told the power board was in an adjoining room and they didn't want to disturb the occupants whilst apparently satisfied to inconvenience us.

At 8.40 the maintenance person said it was still too early. This wasn't our fault.

By then we had had enough and packed and left early.

9.15am was deemed a suitable time to go next and flick the tripped fuse.

When suggesting the Manager learn some customer service skills he was rude and insulting suggesting a cup of hot water to make tea was sufficient for this inconvenience

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingagain2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2023

Good day, thank you for your feedback.

I don't believe we actually met, so it may have been one of my team who assisted you. I have spoken to him, and he said you were after a cup of tea, and he was offering to make you a tea, or provide you hot water at that moment, he said he wasn't trying to be rude but assist you.

I had a look at your booking and prior to arrival you were upgraded to a larger room type that has room for an additional bed, however once you brought to our attention that you didn't like the additional bed, the team arranged to move you to a smaller room with just the King bed.

In regards to the power tripping, we found that the guest in the adjacent One Bedroom apartment had brought their own appliance (electric throw rug) which had tripped the power overnight (which is what it was designed for safety reasons). As the rooms are dual key, the fuse board is in the main part of the room, which is the One Bedroom, and at 7:30am the team deemed it too early to wake them up, and was done shortly afterwards. It was an unfortunate set of circumstances, and the team did the best they could in the situation.

In regards to the maintenance issues, thank you for bringing to our attention. Our team will certainly look into them and rectify the best we can.

Our apologies for the less than seamless experience, it was certainly not our intention to upset you.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2023

Stayed here for 3 nights asked for room with pool view, got a view with a hedge no pool visible, there was also no balcony like the listing that we booked for said only 1 chair outside overlooking a hedge directly in front

Housekeeping didn’t give us any towels in the bathroom among leaving coffee cup rings on the table and missing some details while cleaning the room

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dylan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your review.

Apologies that the room location was not what you expected. The ground floor rooms are more sought after as you can walk off your balcony/patio and the pool is within 2 meters. If you wanted a room on the next level up, our team could have happily arranged a room move for you.

I will discuss the Housekeeping shortfalls with the department manager. We do have a towel reuse program as part of our green commitments. The team will replace towels that are on the floor/bathtub, but if still on the rail it is assumed you want to reuse the towels.

Our apologies again, and hope you come visit us again when next down in Torquay.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2023

Great room, clean comfortable bed, excellent service - breakfast was included in the rate and was a la carte, freshly made and to order.
This hotel is a little outside of the main town for restaurants and shops, we don’t mind a walk but you may like to take this into consideration if you are not so mobile.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 927suerev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your review and for visiting us down in Torquay. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned, it is either a short 3-5 min drive to the shops, or a pleasant 15-20 min walk along the beachside to the town centre. Torquay has good parking, so a quick drive to the shops, or to a restaurant will not mean an extended search for a carpark.

We hope to welcome you back down under again soon.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2023

Not sure what the bad reviews are all about on here. We had such a lovely stay - the room was really well appointed, so cosy and quiet, with a lovely partial sea view from the balcony (which we didn't ask for or realise we had - which was a real treat!) The hotel is walking distance from the town (about 25 minutes) and across the road from the beautiful beach where you can walk for miles up the coast. We ate dinner and breakfast in the town, rather than at the hotel. Staff also very friendly. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your review and staying with us.

We hear you about reviews, we certainly look after thousands of guests each year and we hear some fabulous feedback, but we understand that like anything we can't please everyone, or something doesn't go exactly to plan which can understandably frustrate some guests...although we certainly try our hardest to make everything perfect. Myself and the team listen to all feedback, and we adjust and learn and try and make changes for the better...so we appreciate all types of feedback.

But we do love the good feedback such as yours from time to time, as that certainly helps me to keep the team excited and energized to continue to deliver exceptional service.

Thank you again, and hope to see you back for another stay in Torquay soon.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

Booked in and reception said restaurant open 5-8…go to restaurant 7.20 we only serve takeaway pizza…after telling me how to download dinner menu…they don’t make meals…ok we will get Uber to the pub…no Ubers u can get the shuttle $40 return for 2.5 km…the facilities are very average and if you read any of my other reviews I’m rarely negative…the place inc the town is stuck in the 70s

Room tip: All of it
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rockm829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your review.

We apologise for your experience. Just to explain, we don't have a restaurant onsite, it is more of a lounge/pool bar. We open from 5pm-8pm for guests to have drinks around the pool or bar before heading out to the town for dinner as we like to support the local restaurant scene. On some nights of the week we have a chef onsite to cook a short bar menu, and when he was off duty, or on nights with low occupancy we make our 24 hour pizza menu available for guests if they want a bite to eat.

I will humbly disagree with you that Torquay is stuck in the 70's. I am not from here, but moved here 2 years ago with my family, and after living all over Australia, we have grown to love our town and would happily call Torquay our permanent home. For guests wanting a relaxed seaside holiday a short drive from Melbourne, they are spoilt for choice with the Surf Coast, Bellarine Peninsula, Mornington Peninsula, Philip Island etc.

Thank you again for staying with us, and hope you reconsider and give us another chance.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews