We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$199
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Expedia.com
AU$199
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
AU$155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Paul N

Worst place ever

Review of Wyndham Torquay
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2023
What a bloody joke.
Got our room and went out for dinner.
On our return there where no parks in the car park.
When we asked at reception we were told to park at the beach across the road in a public car park.
Absolute rubbish for a "resort " charging what they do.
Never will return or use another facility from this company.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 16 May 2023
Thank you Paul for your feedback.

Sorry to see that not finding a car park ruined your stay. We offer a number of parking options, one of which is the underground carpark, which was built to have one carpark per apartment. Unfortunately some guests bring multiple cars down which means they can be exhausted on nights we are sold out. We have outdoor parking, along with bays near the tennis court. If they are all full, then as a last resort there is parking along Darion Road, or as mentioned the carpark across the Esplanade.

Again, our apologies, and hope you give us another opportunity to look after you and your family again in the future.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$222
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$186
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Booking.com
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$108
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$106
1.1 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$299
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$299
  • Hotels.com
    AU$258
  • Expedia.com
    AU$258
2.5 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$106
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
9.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Bed
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Torquay
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
310
290
147
61
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
290
147
61
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road pool view outdoor spa bedroom apartment the great ocean road the sofa bed great pool great resort facilities gym court victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

We booked our room for one night with breakfast included. The room was nice - big and clean. The breakfast was disappointing, might also be off season related: You could choose one dish and one drink. I chose tea, but none of the offered cups and cutlery was actually clean. Even lipstick on it... Not a very pleasant experience. I wouldn't have breakfast there again.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity31717029498
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the breakfast. I spoke with the cafe team once I read your review, and will monitor their cleaning/polishing of the cups and cutlery. I agree it is not good enough to not be 100% clean.

With breakfast, it is a la carte breakfast, meaning it is a full meal that gets made fresh by our chef, which is why it is one dish. I have tried most of the main dishes and I struggle to get through it, but by all means, if you are still hungry our team will look after you.

Regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2023 via mobile

It takes a professional with many years of experience, a people’s person with sensational customer service skills and COURAGE to call a customer taking on board negative feedback, responsibility for a ruined/ disastrous weekend.

Thank you Cameron we really appreciate your honesty,integrity and the time to give us a call - a chance to be heard.

We do believe you can turn this place around.

Thank you.

Room tip: In desperate need of an “ Upgrade Accross the facility . A helping hand or many is very required.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you Suzanna for your kind words.

I learnt many years ago that you need to listen to your guests/customers/clients to make sure we are on the right track. We hear some wonderful feedback most times, but we know that sometimes things do go exactly right, which is our opportunity to steer the ship back on course.

It was lovely to chat, and as mentioned on the call, we hope to welcome you back down in Torquay again sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2023

We spent a night here ahead of a trip down the Great Ocean Rd. We had a nice and spacious 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool, and the facilities that we saw looked very good and well maintained. The only jarring note was the sales pitch that needed to be endured to check in. Surely they can find a way to pitch to customers without harassing them before they've even checked in?

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your feedback,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the room overlooking the pool. There is nothing better than sitting on the balcony/patio at sunset, sipping a glass of wine and looking over the water...then a relaxing soak in the hot spa. Sorry, I got taken away then.

Sorry you got the impression our team were pushy, that is certainly not our ambition. We have wonderful hotels around Australia, the South Pacific and the rest of the world. We do a short presentation daily about our properties and some offers to make sure you get the best vacations. But we like to have a few attend each morning, as doing a presentation to one or two people is not as much fun as to 10-12 people. But it is certainly not compulsory, we just want everyone to know the presentation is available as we have had guests upset that they were not aware.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2023

We stayed in a motel room here as we were unable to get a unit at time of booking. Possibly too small for 7 days ! We were disappointed that we didn't have a toaster or microwave so difficult to do our own breakfasts or heat up a meal ! Car parking was difficult at times as there are a lot of parks for permanent residents

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you Judy for your review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay. As there is no kitchen or dishwashing facilities in the studio rooms, they don't come with microwave or toasters. However we are always looking for ideas for future upgrades, and we will certainly use your feedback during our next refurbishment planning meeting.

The parking is a little tricky at times. We do have enough parks for every guest room, however we find some guests bring 2 cars, which can throw off the parking if we are at capacity. If the carpark is full, we have an open air carpark, and the adjacent public parking next door available.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

Fawlty Towers is alive and well in Torquay, Victoria!
This 'hotel' is the absolute WORST we have stayed at (anywhere in the world).
Unless you like torturing yourself, DON'T STAY HERE! :-(
ZERO stars!

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Service
2  Thank leannewP3833SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I too have stayed and worked in many hotels around the world and I believe the resort is far from your description. The resort recently underwent a $1.5M upgrade and the team here are some of the sweetest and hard working team members I have had the pleasure of leading. While we can't meet the expectations of every guest, we certainly try. The overwhelming feedback is positive and I speak to a lot of guests on checkout day and hear lovely comments on their stay here and the adventures they got up to in Torquay and surrounding areas.

But understand that every guest has expectations, and sometimes we don't hit the mark. Again, I apologise that we didn't hit the mark this time.

Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews