We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
AU$165
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
SuzSuz
Melbourne, Australia

Courageous General Manager - Thank you - Cameron😊

Review of Wyndham Torquay
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2023via mobile
It takes a professional with many years of experience, a people’s person with sensational customer service skills and COURAGE to call a customer taking on board negative feedback, responsibility for a ruined/ disastrous weekend.

Thank you Cameron we really appreciate your honesty,integrity and the time to give us a call - a chance to be heard.

We do believe you can turn this place around.

Thank you.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: In desperate need of an “ Upgrade Accross the facility . A helping hand or many is very required.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 16 May 2023
Thank you Suzanna for your kind words.

I learnt many years ago that you need to listen to your guests/customers/clients to make sure we are on the right track. We hear some wonderful feedback most times, but we know that sometimes things do go exactly right, which is our opportunity to steer the ship back on course.

It was lovely to chat, and as mentioned on the call, we hope to welcome you back down in Torquay again sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$201
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$116
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$289
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$106
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Bed
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Torquay
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
310
290
147
61
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
290
147
61
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road pool view outdoor spa bedroom apartment the great ocean road the sofa bed great pool great resort facilities gym court victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2023

We spent a night here ahead of a trip down the Great Ocean Rd. We had a nice and spacious 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool, and the facilities that we saw looked very good and well maintained. The only jarring note was the sales pitch that needed to be endured to check in. Surely they can find a way to pitch to customers without harassing them before they've even checked in?

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you for your feedback,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the room overlooking the pool. There is nothing better than sitting on the balcony/patio at sunset, sipping a glass of wine and looking over the water...then a relaxing soak in the hot spa. Sorry, I got taken away then.

Sorry you got the impression our team were pushy, that is certainly not our ambition. We have wonderful hotels around Australia, the South Pacific and the rest of the world. We do a short presentation daily about our properties and some offers to make sure you get the best vacations. But we like to have a few attend each morning, as doing a presentation to one or two people is not as much fun as to 10-12 people. But it is certainly not compulsory, we just want everyone to know the presentation is available as we have had guests upset that they were not aware.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2023

We stayed in a motel room here as we were unable to get a unit at time of booking. Possibly too small for 7 days ! We were disappointed that we didn't have a toaster or microwave so difficult to do our own breakfasts or heat up a meal ! Car parking was difficult at times as there are a lot of parks for permanent residents

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you Judy for your review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay. As there is no kitchen or dishwashing facilities in the studio rooms, they don't come with microwave or toasters. However we are always looking for ideas for future upgrades, and we will certainly use your feedback during our next refurbishment planning meeting.

The parking is a little tricky at times. We do have enough parks for every guest room, however we find some guests bring 2 cars, which can throw off the parking if we are at capacity. If the carpark is full, we have an open air carpark, and the adjacent public parking next door available.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

Fawlty Towers is alive and well in Torquay, Victoria!
This 'hotel' is the absolute WORST we have stayed at (anywhere in the world).
Unless you like torturing yourself, DON'T STAY HERE! :-(
ZERO stars!

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Service
2  Thank leannewP3833SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I too have stayed and worked in many hotels around the world and I believe the resort is far from your description. The resort recently underwent a $1.5M upgrade and the team here are some of the sweetest and hard working team members I have had the pleasure of leading. While we can't meet the expectations of every guest, we certainly try. The overwhelming feedback is positive and I speak to a lot of guests on checkout day and hear lovely comments on their stay here and the adventures they got up to in Torquay and surrounding areas.

But understand that every guest has expectations, and sometimes we don't hit the mark. Again, I apologise that we didn't hit the mark this time.

Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2023

We got off to a bad start at reception after checking in being sent to a salesperson for time share at the resort. No choice as we needed a map of the resort and directions to car park.
The room was a wind tunnel and very dusty. We complained and was give another room in a different block. Initially this seemed ok as we thought the musty smell would dissapate after opening the doors and windows. Not the case the smell turned out to by mold under the carpet due to a leaking shower. We complained again the next day but no other rooms available.
I could list many more problems with this place.
Definately the worst hotel we have ever stayed, 2 Star at best.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you Andrew for your feedback.

I have looked up your booking, and can see you were initially assigned a room that we have recently brought on as one of our rooms we manage. Your feedback will certainly be used to inspire the apartment owner to invest in a refurbishment.

In regards to the pressure you got at check in. We have some great options for guests to make sure they get the best deals for their holidays, and a lot of the times our guests are not aware of these. Our team are just making sure every guest is given an opportunity to know more...but there is certainly no pressure to know more. I apologize you felt any pressure. I will certainly discuss with the team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and apologise that we didn't hit the mark for this stay.

Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023 via mobile

My Wife and I, Booked to stay for 1 week, what we left early because we were very disappointed and would not recommend this place. The rooms look great online but what you will get is disgusting, it was that bad my wife and I went up to the reception and showed them the photos what we had taken the nice lady at reception moved as to another room what was a little bit better, but not much. This place does not change towels, make your bed, or provide toilet paper. It is up to you to go up to reception and ask for fresh towels and toilet paper as me and my wife had to do this. My wife and I decided to leave a couple of days earlier, because we just couldn’t stay here anymore. When we went to check out any more telling the lady at the reception, some of our concerns or she replied was I’m sorry to hear that, but we can’t offer you a refund. The funny thing is we never asked for a refund or just telling her our concerns what she didn’t even take any note of. With our stay we had breakfast included. I’ll recommend you never pay for this service as the variety is very little. The service is very bad honestly, the only best thing I could say about this whole experience was when me and my wife were out and doing things out of the resort.

This place has bad customer service, and the cleaning of the whole resort is disgusting and how they have a four-star rating I don't know

Room tip: Booked elsewhere and save your money, you will be very disappointed if you stay here.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dionysios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.

Our team certainly try and give our guests a great break away, but at times we may miss the mark. Our apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We certainly offer daily servicing of rooms, and during this service we change towels that are left on the bath, if left on the towel rail, we honour guests requests to reuse their towels. In regards to the bed, we make the bed, but only change the linen every 3rd day of your stay. Toilet paper is provided, and once the roll gets to less than 1/4 roll, it is changed. Spare rolls are in the bathroom vanity. If more towels or toilet paper is required, our team are here 24 hours to provide more at no cost.

We have recently taken on some rooms into the hotel, and some of these are in need of an upgrade. Looking at your reservation I can see you were originally in one of these rooms. I have already used your feedback to discuss with the owner to have that room refurbishment moved forward. Please to read though that the team offered you a different room.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews