We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Leanne

Accommodation Abomination!

Review of Wyndham Torquay
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2023
Fawlty Towers is alive and well in Torquay, Victoria!
This 'hotel' is the absolute WORST we have stayed at (anywhere in the world).
Unless you like torturing yourself, DON'T STAY HERE! :-(
ZERO stars!
Date of stay: February 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 2 Mar 2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I too have stayed and worked in many hotels around the world and I believe the resort is far from your description. The resort recently underwent a $1.5M upgrade and the team here are some of the sweetest and hard working team members I have had the pleasure of leading. While we can't meet the expectations of every guest, we certainly try. The overwhelming feedback is positive and I speak to a lot of guests on checkout day and hear lovely comments on their stay here and the adventures they got up to in Torquay and surrounding areas.

But understand that every guest has expectations, and sometimes we don't hit the mark. Again, I apologise that we didn't hit the mark this time.

Kind regards,
Cameron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$299
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$243
  • Agoda.com
    AU$217
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Booking.com
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • Expedia.com
    AU$285
1.1 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$540
  • Expedia.com
    AU$560
  • Hotels.com
    AU$510
  • Priceline
    AU$560
2.5 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$138
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
9.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
the room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Torquay
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
311
290
147
61
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
311
290
147
61
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road pool view outdoor spa bedroom apartment the great ocean road the sofa bed great pool great resort facilities gym court victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2023

We got off to a bad start at reception after checking in being sent to a salesperson for time share at the resort. No choice as we needed a map of the resort and directions to car park.
The room was a wind tunnel and very dusty. We complained and was give another room in a different block. Initially this seemed ok as we thought the musty smell would dissapate after opening the doors and windows. Not the case the smell turned out to by mold under the carpet due to a leaking shower. We complained again the next day but no other rooms available.
I could list many more problems with this place.
Definately the worst hotel we have ever stayed, 2 Star at best.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you Andrew for your feedback.

I have looked up your booking, and can see you were initially assigned a room that we have recently brought on as one of our rooms we manage. Your feedback will certainly be used to inspire the apartment owner to invest in a refurbishment.

In regards to the pressure you got at check in. We have some great options for guests to make sure they get the best deals for their holidays, and a lot of the times our guests are not aware of these. Our team are just making sure every guest is given an opportunity to know more...but there is certainly no pressure to know more. I apologize you felt any pressure. I will certainly discuss with the team.

Thank you again for your feedback, and apologise that we didn't hit the mark for this stay.

Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023 via mobile

My Wife and I, Booked to stay for 1 week, what we left early because we were very disappointed and would not recommend this place. The rooms look great online but what you will get is disgusting, it was that bad my wife and I went up to the reception and showed them the photos what we had taken the nice lady at reception moved as to another room what was a little bit better, but not much. This place does not change towels, make your bed, or provide toilet paper. It is up to you to go up to reception and ask for fresh towels and toilet paper as me and my wife had to do this. My wife and I decided to leave a couple of days earlier, because we just couldn’t stay here anymore. When we went to check out any more telling the lady at the reception, some of our concerns or she replied was I’m sorry to hear that, but we can’t offer you a refund. The funny thing is we never asked for a refund or just telling her our concerns what she didn’t even take any note of. With our stay we had breakfast included. I’ll recommend you never pay for this service as the variety is very little. The service is very bad honestly, the only best thing I could say about this whole experience was when me and my wife were out and doing things out of the resort.

This place has bad customer service, and the cleaning of the whole resort is disgusting and how they have a four-star rating I don't know

Room tip: Booked elsewhere and save your money, you will be very disappointed if you stay here.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dionysios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.

Our team certainly try and give our guests a great break away, but at times we may miss the mark. Our apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We certainly offer daily servicing of rooms, and during this service we change towels that are left on the bath, if left on the towel rail, we honour guests requests to reuse their towels. In regards to the bed, we make the bed, but only change the linen every 3rd day of your stay. Toilet paper is provided, and once the roll gets to less than 1/4 roll, it is changed. Spare rolls are in the bathroom vanity. If more towels or toilet paper is required, our team are here 24 hours to provide more at no cost.

We have recently taken on some rooms into the hotel, and some of these are in need of an upgrade. Looking at your reservation I can see you were originally in one of these rooms. I have already used your feedback to discuss with the owner to have that room refurbishment moved forward. Please to read though that the team offered you a different room.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2023 via mobile

I had stayed here a few times before and was expecting the quality of the hotel to be there for our visit this time - sadly it has really gone downhill.
The restaurant was closed so meals there had to be in the Winkipop cafe and bar.
We had breakfast there twice and the guys working the morning shift were attentive and kept the tables cleared and cleaned.
I certainly cannot say that about the girls running the cafe in the evening of 1st February. There were plenty of tables that needed cleaning and the girls were busy chatting amongst themselves rather than cleaning tables!
The quality of the room left a lot to be desired. Obviously the room was for twin beds. There was a king bed but only one side table. The carpet was very dirty and stained. Shampooing the carpet hopefully would make the room seem better.
On our next trip to Torquay, we WON’T be staying at Wyndham.

Room tip: Avoid this place.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your review,
Looks like you are referring to the old restaurant upstairs. That restaurant is privately owned and not part of the resort management. This restaurant closed down 7 years ago, and the owner has not been able to find a tenant to take it over. We do operate a poolside casual dining cafe for guests to enjoy breakfast, have a drink by the pool, or have a casual meal. I have discussed your feedback with the 2 staff mentioned. They are normally amazing, so you must have caught them at a brief moment of lapse of attention.
We are in discussions about upgrades to some of our rooms. We will certainly use your feedback for our upcoming meeting.
Thank you again, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2023

We were staying in a one bedroom pool view apartment. It was comfortable and have everything we needed for our stay. It has direct access to the pool and the swimming pool is child friendly and beautiful.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yunivalentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your review,
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The pool is very popular and a great way to kick back and enjoy the day.
Again, glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2023

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 1 night. It was not cheap. Room seemed pretty clean, but the tvs were awful and not smart, couldn’t even cast from our devices. Wifi was abysmal, no aircon in the bedroom! Parking was a joke. We had to park across the road at the beach and they didn’t care it was just excuses. Would not recommend nor stay ever again. Overpriced and oversold.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for you review,
Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are always meeting about future upgrades, and there has been discussion about upgrading our TV's to Smart TV's, and we will certainly use your feedback to assist in this proposal. We do have enough parking for every apartment, but every now and then we sometimes find guests bring 2 cars which causes an overflow issue. Apologies that you had to find parking at the adjacent parking area.
We hope you change your mind and we see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews