We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mudjimba
Brisbane, Australia

Give the place a wide berth.

Review of Wyndham Torquay
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2023via mobile
I had stayed here a few times before and was expecting the quality of the hotel to be there for our visit this time - sadly it has really gone downhill.
The restaurant was closed so meals there had to be in the Winkipop cafe and bar.
We had breakfast there twice and the guys working the morning shift were attentive and kept the tables cleared and cleaned.
I certainly cannot say that about the girls running the cafe in the evening of 1st February. There were plenty of tables that needed cleaning and the girls were busy chatting amongst themselves rather than cleaning tables!
The quality of the room left a lot to be desired. Obviously the room was for twin beds. There was a king bed but only one side table. The carpet was very dirty and stained. Shampooing the carpet hopefully would make the room seem better.
On our next trip to Torquay, we WON’T be staying at Wyndham.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: Avoid this place.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 2 Mar 2023
Thank you for your review,
Looks like you are referring to the old restaurant upstairs. That restaurant is privately owned and not part of the resort management. This restaurant closed down 7 years ago, and the owner has not been able to find a tenant to take it over. We do operate a poolside casual dining cafe for guests to enjoy breakfast, have a drink by the pool, or have a casual meal. I have discussed your feedback with the 2 staff mentioned. They are normally amazing, so you must have caught them at a brief moment of lapse of attention.
We are in discussions about upgrades to some of our rooms. We will certainly use your feedback for our upcoming meeting.
Thank you again, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$186
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$84
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
  • Hotels.com
    AU$118
1.1 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$286
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$263
  • Hotels.com
    AU$277
2.5 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$58
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
  • Expedia.com
    AU$110
1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
9.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Wyndham Torquay
View more hotels in Torquay
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
312
290
147
61
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
312
290
147
61
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road pool view outdoor spa bedroom apartment the great ocean road the sofa bed great pool great resort facilities gym court victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2023

We were staying in a one bedroom pool view apartment. It was comfortable and have everything we needed for our stay. It has direct access to the pool and the swimming pool is child friendly and beautiful.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yunivalentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your review,
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The pool is very popular and a great way to kick back and enjoy the day.
Again, glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2023

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 1 night. It was not cheap. Room seemed pretty clean, but the tvs were awful and not smart, couldn’t even cast from our devices. Wifi was abysmal, no aircon in the bedroom! Parking was a joke. We had to park across the road at the beach and they didn’t care it was just excuses. Would not recommend nor stay ever again. Overpriced and oversold.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for you review,
Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are always meeting about future upgrades, and there has been discussion about upgrading our TV's to Smart TV's, and we will certainly use your feedback to assist in this proposal. We do have enough parking for every apartment, but every now and then we sometimes find guests bring 2 cars which causes an overflow issue. Apologies that you had to find parking at the adjacent parking area.
We hope you change your mind and we see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2022

Our room was modern and comfortable, with a lovely view over the beautiful central pool.
We enjoyed our stay, but would have enjoyed it much more if there had been a toaster or a microwave or a DVD player

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you Laurie for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay. As there is no kitchen or dishwashing facilities in the studio rooms, they don't come with microwave or toasters. However we are always looking for ideas for future upgrades, and we will certainly use your feedback during our next refurbishment planning meeting.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2022

Tired and filthy rooms. Poor customer service and terrible food. Dirty cutlery in cafe for use every day. Service very poor in general and staff attitude at reception was totally disinterested at best.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Z1924VSgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2022

Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly look further into your concerns. I have spoken to the team, and there has been no recent comments given to them in regards to rooms or the cafe operation. There is another operator onsite who manages about 20 rooms, I will forward your feedback onto them also to see if you were staying in one of their rooms.
But by all means, we will investigate and rectify where we can.
Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2022

Our third visit to this resort and town; a great place for those who love the beach, long walks, coastal bike riding, wineries and good food. The resort is well appointed, staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms very well maintained.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank TynongNorthChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2022

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
I have printed your feedback out and placed on the staff noticeboard which will go a long way to inspire the team to give more memorable moments.
Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews