We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Basman

Pros and cons to consider

Review of Wyndham Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2021
Mixed feelings about my recent stay. Firstly, the pros. It is close to the beach, a short walk to the town centre and the Wyndham staff were lovely. Now for the cons. The rooms smelt and no matter how much airing they had, the signature stench would not dissipate. The rooms are tired and I never felt truly clean in the place.
Date of stay: January 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 25 May 2021
Thank you for staying with us recently and your feedback.

We have done extensive deep cleaning of all our rooms, so the smell you encountered, which may have been from a previous guest cooking, will have well and truly gone away by now. Apologies though that we could not attend to it during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to to Torquay soon.

Kind regards,
Cameron
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$198
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$107
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Wyndham Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
    1.4 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$391
    • Booking.com
    2.5 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$100
    • Booking.com
    1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$128
    • Hotels.com
    1.9 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    9.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free parking
    Bed
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    2.3 km from Wyndham Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Torquay
    Reviews (887)
    Filter reviews
    887 results
    Traveller rating
    311
    290
    147
    61
    78
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    311
    290
    147
    61
    78
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews across the road pool view outdoor spa bedroom apartment the great ocean road the sofa bed great pool great resort facilities gym court victoria
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    56 - 61 of 887 reviews
    Reviewed 17 January 2021 via mobile

    Arrived on Friday afternoon
    Front desk understaffed for Friday
    Free parking a nightmare as permanent residents seem to take all parking
    General hotel appearance was dirty, in fact there was take away rubbish in lift for a couple of hours.carpets in the hallways stained
    Noisy residents in middle of the night , no staff to call
    Remote for tv stopped working and couldn’t call front desk as was closed.
    Left a sour taste in my mouth for the whole Wyndham experience.
    Will not return in a hurry to this resort even though it’s only 45 minutes from home and perfect weekend get away

    Big letdown after staying at other Wyndham accomodation in Australia and Fiji

    Date of stay: January 2021
    1  Thank Clumsie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Sorry to read that your stay with us recently was not the pleasant stay we have become famous for. Our front desk is manned 24 hours a day, and are always on hand if you need any assistance overnight.

    We hope you reconsider and make that short drive back to Torquay for a more pleasant stay next time.

    Kind regards,
    Cameron
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 December 2020

    I made a last-minute booking at Wyndham Torquay, a four-star resort on the Esplanade, across the road from Fisherman's Beach and near White's Beach. Check-in is STRICTLY at 3 pm, and check-out at 11 am. Staff are polite and professional. The list of suggested places to dine in and map, given upon check-in, was useful for newbies in town, like me!

    The foyer has a waiting area, drink facilities and an ice-cream fridge. From the front, this venue looks small but is sectioned into five areas over two levels spanning over a large space, and the third level is owner-occupied. In the middle, is the open spa and swimming pool, but other facilities such as the restaurant/cafe and games room, were closed due to COVID-19 restrictions [but may open soon - check upon arrival].

    Housekeeping happens daily, and masks need to be worn when on the premises. There are three parking options - across the road, outside the resort, and the secure underground carpark accessible with your room card. There is a noise curfew, which is excellent when enforced, but some guests choose to ignore this - thank goodness for front desk staff who accommodate any complaints.

    Second Floor Ocean View Room

    Overall this room was sufficient for a short stay for one person or a couple.

    King bed - average comfort level [could use an upgrade]
    TV/desk/chair/lounge chair
    Storage - cupboard and floor space
    Iron and ironing board
    Spare pillow and blanket
    Safe
    Balcony with two chairs
    Bathroom - shower, toilet, basin and the usual amenities
    Air conditioner/heater**

    **The air conditioner system is my only area of concern - it's connected to the room next door. As the primary link was there, it deactivated mine if I chose a different mode or temperature. But, you can ask for a portable heater if you are cold.

    I would stay here again, but off-season when it is cheaper.

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Swelltraveller67
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 December 2020

    December can be hot or it can be cold on the coast but luckily we had a mixture so a mix of beach walks, sunning on the sand and wading was had. With a balcony view to the beach and sea a pleasant cocktail with a book was enjoyed. This resort is situated just a pleasant walk away from the restaurants and cafes of Torquay. You can choose a stroll along the coastal road or the jogging path or even along the beach to get to your eatery of choice. We availed ourselves of the yummy meat pies from the bakery. IGA is nicely stocked with everything you want to cook or heat up in the suite with the combined oven, grill and microwave or cook top. Parking is convenient underneath. A huge outdoor pool will see you lazing away many a day. The only thing to be aware is finding your way around the resort if you are a first timer as the map they give you on check-in is very confusing, but it doesn't take long to familiarise yourself with the layout. Unfortunately due to Covid the Cafe was closed so we missed out on it. Overall we enjoyed the resort as it felt like we were staying in a 5 star hotel. Will definitely be back!

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with RCI
    Thank Journey22608
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 December 2020 via mobile

    Our room smelt really bad. Like someone had left a prawn to rot. We had to air it out each time we got back into the room.
    We were also told we’d have a partial view, which I assumed would be of the ocean, but we had a garden view.
    The room was spacious and comfortable.
    Great location across the road from the beach and walkable to cafes. The facilities were great. Loved the heated pool, table tennis, kids playground & tennis courts.

    Date of stay: December 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank ameliam32
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 November 2020

    We booked a room in Torquay as soon as Melbourne came out of lockdown & we could get away to the regional centres. The Resort rooms are a good size with good beds and well furnished. Situated on the Esplanade, great for a walk along the beach. And there's plenty of good food shops on the Esplanade.
    We had a very pleasant and relaxing couple of days at Torquay.
    Note: There is building work going on at the moment at the resort, but it's restricted to something like 9am to 5pm and it wasn't a problem at all.

    Date of stay: November 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kym L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews