We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$196
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tamara P
Melbourne, Australia

April getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Highly recommend. Nice and quiet, walking distance to the beach. Close drive to restaurants. Driving range was excellent.

Breakfast was great, very convenient if you feel like eating in. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great experience overall.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior Beach View
Tripadvisor
AU$189
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.8 km from The Sands Torquay
Pool
Beachfront
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Tripadvisor
AU$107
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.7 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$115
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.6 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
    0.9 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    3.1 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$289
    • Hotels.com
    4.3 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    3.2 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$106
    • eDreams
    3.6 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    10.2 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free parking
    Bed
    Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
    • ZenHotels.com
    4.7 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Torquay
    Reviews (119)
    Filter reviews
    119 results
    Traveller rating
    87
    16
    6
    5
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    87
    16
    6
    5
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golf course sunday afternoon spacious room golf view play golf relaxing weekend great room would stay again indoor pool great stay great facilities sandals spike netflix kangaroos retreat tv
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 119 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    An excellent venue for a weekend away. About a 5 minute drive from Town centre, but that is fine as it keeps you slightly away from the crowds - but close enough to quickly access everything. It is well located. Terrific accomodation and services.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank normanp311
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 April 2024

    My wife and I found the sands last year and during Easter just had our 4th stay and already booked for July.
    Letitia and her staff are 2nd to none and there kindness just keeps us coming back.
    If your going to Torquay we recommend the sands and the sands only.

    Room tip: The beds are soft and you sink in the middle
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank camsta2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 April 2024

    Reception ladies were absolutely amazing. Super friendly and made my 5 year old feel at home. He would even go back to say hi to the reception ladies . I I give reception 5 Stars 🌟

    Hotel room was very average Smelled awful, dusty and not clean. The hot water kettle was rusty and black inside. We could not use it.

    Room service didn’t bother to stretch out or clean the bed instead the blanket was done nicely covering the dirt on the bed.

    Overall hotel room was a big disappointment from what I saw online.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Esther J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 March 2024

    Fresh refurbishment with very spacious rooms . Staff were all exceptional , in particular Jasmin at reception went above and beyond to rearrange rooms to suit our business/family trip to make our 2 week stay the most convenient for us . I have stayed here several times now and will recommend to anyone for both business and recreationan. Well done

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Aeron P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 March 2024

    We had a great mother daughter weekend here. The staff are so helpful even when we locked our key cards in the room. Beautiful breakfast. So close to a lovely beach with heaps of dogs playing on their morning run. Also close to town. We will be back.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank donnahN2284IA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews