We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$229
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
AU$186
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$168
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tom K
Albury, Australia

Golf trip 2022!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Oct 2022via mobile
Great part of the world!!
Perfect Golf Resort with lots of space and great accomodation.
Located well, Friendly staff, Great health club.
We didn’t get to play golf because the course was closed because of the weather but hopefully next time
Look forward to staying here again soon
Thanks.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear Mr K....Dear Tom,

Thank you for your kind words. The team at The Sands Torquay will be delighted that your visit was so enjoyable.

We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon when hopefully you may also enjoy playing on our amazing golf course.

Until then our thanks for your generous consideration in recommending our resort to the readers on Tripadvisor.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
General Manager - The Sands Torquay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior Beach View
Booking.com
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
  • StayForLong
    AU$154
  • Priceline
    AU$181
1.8 km from The Sands Torquay
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$84
  • Priceline
    AU$84
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Vio.com
    AU$84
3.1 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
Booking.com
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$108
  • Agoda.com
    AU$101
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
2.7 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$272
  • Priceline
    AU$299
  • Agoda.com
    AU$247
  • Expedia.com
    AU$258
4.3 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$58
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$58
  • Hotels.com
    AU$100
  • Expedia.com
    AU$110
3.6 km from The Sands Torquay
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$138
  • Priceline
    AU$138
  • Expedia.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
3.6 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$140
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$140
  • Vio.com
    AU$140
3.8 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from The Sands Torquay
Free parking
Bed
ZenHotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
4.7 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$229
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$186
  • Agoda.com
    AU$168
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
0.0 km from The Sands Torquay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Torquay
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
87
16
6
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
16
6
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course sunday afternoon spacious room golf view play golf relaxing weekend great room would stay again indoor pool great stay great facilities sandals spike netflix kangaroos retreat tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2022

The most amazing pet friendly holidays experience we could ever have hoped for. Our dog enjoyed his holiday just as much as we did. We were all so happy to be there and felt so relaxed that we didn’t want to leave.

A pet friendly holiday at The Sands is a holiday like no other.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MelSa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are thrilled to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and our sincere thanks for such kind words.

Looking forward to welcoming you all back to The Sands Torquay. (I would recommend booking early as our "Dog Friendly" Rooms are very popular).

With thanks and best wishes,

David
David Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022

Loved the room and had a great nights sleep on the bed. Bathroom was very nice too. Had a great view over the golf coarse as as being close to the beach and all that Torquay has to offer. I would definitely recommend The Sands to my friends.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Discover610179
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind recommendation to both your friends and to readers of Tripadvisor.

The pleasure of your company was ours and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With thanks and Best wishes,

David
David Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2022

I attended Sands for a 3 day conference and found the venue to be perfect for this experience. During the day we had a view over the golf course for our sessions, the catering was of a very high standard and the rooms were very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jacquelinegreen2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear Ms Green....Dear Jacqueline,

Wonderful news for the great team that I have the pleasure to work with here at The Sands Torquay.

We really appreciate your kind consideration in posting such a wonderful review.

Hoping that we may welcome you back soon.

With thanks and best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

Thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights at The Sands in a well equipped quiet room with a view overlooking the golf course. We had the pleasure of enjoying all the amazing facilities including the gym, indoor pool, bar and verandah as well as 9 holes of golf on the Saturday afternoon. The hotel is a $11 Uber to Torquay center so enjoyed dinners out in town. All in all a fantastic relaxing weekend at The Sands !

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear Mr V....Dear Wayne,

"A fantastic relaxing weekend at The Sands" is music to our ears.

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

With thanks and best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2022

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our recent holiday in Torquay. The room was spacious (34 square metres), clean and comfortable. It had a large balcony facing the Golf Course. The views were excellent.

A king size bed, a study table and a large 65 inch smart TV with netflix, Amazon TV, etc. were good features.

It was off peak season, so there were very few people around. Our room was a corner unit and there were no occupants in the room next to ours. It was very quiet and peaceful.

We had a full breakfast at Spike Cafe on both days and a drink at the bar one evening. I swam 50 laps in the swimming pool on two days.

Room tip: Corner room on 2nd floor facing golf course.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank World_Traveller_838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

Dear World_Traveller_88,

Thanks for for taking the time to share your experience here at The Sands Torquay with readers of Tripadvisor.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon.

With kindest regards and thanks again,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews